Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Forum Jump  
VEP7 higher cpu+slow
Last post Mon, May 20 2019 by MS, 39 replies.
Options
Go to last post
2 Pages12>
Posted on Sat, May 04 2019 14:08
by Carl
Joined on Fri, Jan 07 2005, USA, Posts 111

Anyone experiencing higher cpu useage over VEP6?

Also normal functions are painfully slow now. Basic functions such as inserting effects, color change, moving channels etc..are taking way too long.

Anyone else experiencing this?

i7 5820k· 3.30 GHz· RAM 32GB DDR4· 1TB HD x3· 500 GB SSD x3· Video HD-5450 1GB· Win 10 x64· RME FF400

Posted on Sat, May 04 2019 16:54
by civilization 3
Joined on Sat, May 16 2009, SF Bay Area, Posts 1622

Not my experience. Actually VEP 7 was working with ASIO Guard at medium.
I rolled back to the update of VEP 6 momentarily and had to go to high.
The other things I noticed no difference in responsiveness.

MacBook Pro 15,1: 2.9 GHz 6-core i9
32GB 2400MHz DDR4
OSX 10.14.5
VE Pro 7
Posted on Sat, May 04 2019 17:37
by bbelius
Joined on Sat, Mar 14 2015, Posts 544

For VEP 6 and VEP 7 you should disable ASIO Gurad in the Cubase plugin manager (see VEP7 User manual page 35). This solves a lot of issues with VEP.

Ben
Technical Support - Vienna Symphonic Library
Posted on Sat, May 04 2019 18:52
by Carl
Joined on Fri, Jan 07 2005, USA, Posts 111

I have ASIO disabled but the sluggish loading of plugins, inserting channels or fx's is happening w/o any daw open. CPU is increased using Cubase from v6. There's increased latency in 7 over 6 as well, even when using compensation in CB. (@1024)

I'll investigate more, maybe it's a certain sample library that's not behaving well with new VEP7.

thanks

Posted on Sat, May 04 2019 20:31
by civilization 3
Joined on Sat, May 16 2009, SF Bay Area, Posts 1622

I have to use ASIO Guard. It does the opposite of harm here.
I'm on Mac OS BTW.

MacBook Pro 15,1: 2.9 GHz 6-core i9
32GB 2400MHz DDR4
OSX 10.14.5
VE Pro 7
Posted on Tue, May 07 2019 15:45
by Carl
Joined on Fri, Jan 07 2005, USA, Posts 111

Same sluggish performance with the last update. Works well & normally if I use only VSL products & remove Kontakt, UVI, Play instances.

I also notice that when connecting using Cubase CPU really increases. My liquid cooler kicks in & it's slower to connect, something else that never occured using VEP6.

Posted on Tue, May 07 2019 16:58
by ribeye
Joined on Tue, Sep 11 2012, Posts 8

Yes. Same happening here. The sampler computer running Ensemble Pro 7 is pretty much the same but Cubase is loading much slower the templates with the connection plugin to the VE Pro 7 samplers. Feels like it is taking longer to establish tracks/connection to the sampler for every instance. 

It's bad enough that we're rolling back to VE Pro 6. Can't work like this. This is with Cubase 10 latest on Windows (as is the VE Pro.) ASIO guard completely disabled for VE Pro. Installed with latest VE Pro 7 just yesterday.

Posted on Tue, May 07 2019 17:11
by Dewdman42
Joined on Tue, Feb 27 2018, Posts 363

Originally Posted by: ribeye Go to Quoted Post

Yes. Same happening here. The sampler computer running Ensemble Pro 7 is pretty much the same but Cubase is loading much slower the templates with the connection plugin to the VE Pro 7 samplers. Feels like it is taking longer to establish tracks/connection to the sampler for every instance. 

It's bad enough that we're rolling back to VE Pro 6. Can't work like this. This is with Cubase 10 latest on Windows (as is the VE Pro)

 

I just rolled back to VEP6 (latest version), but now its totally unstable too.  I can't even load an old viframe tutorial file (from VSL website), that has been working fine before today.  Crashes VEP6 while loading it, tried repeatedly and rebooted, etc..  it won't load.  I don't know if my system is broken now or if VSL broke the latest version of VEP6, but anyway, support ticket is in and I'm waiting to hear back

5,1 MacPro 12core X 3.46ghz, 128gb ram, RX580 video, OSX Mojave, VSL (almost everything), LogicPro, Cubase10, StudioOne, DP9, Reaper, Dorico, Finale, MuseScore, Notion6, EW Hollywood Orch, Kirk Hunter, GPO, much more..
Posted on Tue, May 07 2019 18:48
by Dewdman42
Joined on Tue, Feb 27 2018, Posts 363

Update to the above.  I have VEP6 (latest version) running fine again.  For anyone that decides to rollback to VEP6 on a mac, watch out for the following thing:

On VEP7 they renamed the name of the VEP server app bundle to remove the words "(64-bit)" from the app bundle name.  Previously under VEP6, this was the name used for the 32bit server.

So after I rolled back to VEP6, I tried to launch it by using the icon in my dockbar, which had been configured for VEP7 to point to the app bundle WITHOUT the words "(64-bit)".  After rolling back, the dock icon was now pointing to the 32bit server and I didn't realize it.  

When I tried to load a viframe into the 32bit server, it was crashing, who knows why.  But after correcting the dock icon to point to the VEP6 bundle with "(64-bit)" in the app bundle name, it now seems to be humming along fine....

5,1 MacPro 12core X 3.46ghz, 128gb ram, RX580 video, OSX Mojave, VSL (almost everything), LogicPro, Cubase10, StudioOne, DP9, Reaper, Dorico, Finale, MuseScore, Notion6, EW Hollywood Orch, Kirk Hunter, GPO, much more..
Posted on Tue, May 07 2019 21:57
by TimBlast
Joined on Wed, Jun 17 2015, Los Angeles, Posts 41

Same issue here. 

I rolled back to VE Pro 6 for the time beign

Ve Pro 7 with Cubase combo was just impossible to work with. Cubase would take an hour and a half to load up and would take an hour every time I was exporting a mixdown...... well its back to normal with Ve Pro 6 now. Hope they can figure it out soon

Tim Blast
Film | TV | GAME | TRAILER MUSIC Composer / Producer
www.TimBlast.com
Cubase 10 PRO, MASTER PC : i9-9980XE, 64gb. Slave with VE PRO: double xeon with 256 GB RAM
Posted on Tue, May 07 2019 22:37
by civilization 3
Joined on Sat, May 16 2009, SF Bay Area, Posts 1622

VEP 7 has been extremely unpredictable and inconsistent, temperamental, or the system is temperamental with it. Yesterday learning automation from BFD3 would beach ball o' doom each time. Today not at all.
I experienced slowness in other ways and then didn't. All very stable and responsive today.

MacBook Pro 15,1: 2.9 GHz 6-core i9
32GB 2400MHz DDR4
OSX 10.14.5
VE Pro 7
Posted on Tue, May 07 2019 22:39
by civilization 3
Joined on Sat, May 16 2009, SF Bay Area, Posts 1622

Originally Posted by: TimBlast Go to Quoted Post

Same issue here. 

I rolled back to VE Pro 6 for the time beign

Ve Pro 7 with Cubase combo was just impossible to work with. Cubase would take an hour and a half to load up and would take an hour every time I was exporting a mixdown...... well its back to normal with Ve Pro 6 now. Hope they can figure it out soon

Sounds like coupled behavior on crack. I run decoupled with Nuendo, I don't see that at all. The load of VEP 7 has definitely been snappier here. Systems differ widely.

MacBook Pro 15,1: 2.9 GHz 6-core i9
32GB 2400MHz DDR4
OSX 10.14.5
VE Pro 7
Posted on Wed, May 08 2019 03:41
by William
Joined on Sun, Nov 24 2002, USA, Posts 5382

There are already two updates - less than a week after the initial release. 

Anyway I notice a slight increase in idle cpu compared to last version of VE6 but absolutely no other issues - this is on a project inovlving 77 channels/VIs,  and 900 articulation sets within all custom matrices, MIR pro  on every channel.  Works exactly like VE6 except with all the new features. So this is one system not experiencing any of the issues reported here. 

Though - this is the standalone version - a single VE running 4 MIDI ports on a 12 core Xeon Windows 10 slave wth 64GB ram.  

Posted on Wed, May 08 2019 09:29
by MS
Joined on Wed, Feb 19 2003, Liechtenstein, Posts 1724

Based on these reports, I did another comparison of CPU usage between VEP6 and VEP7 on Mac. Here is an excerpt of my findings:

  • 100 instances of Vienna Instruments Pro, Staccato String patch
  • Logic project playing back 2 bars of random notes
  • VEPro instance uses narrow channels in mixer, regular channels in channel pane.
  • VEPro window maximized on 3840x2160 monitor (full resolution, no Retina tested)

Observed average process CPU values during playback and (idle):

VEP6 Maximized: 136% (37%)
VEP7 Maximized: 100% (31%)
VEP6 Minimized:  37% (29%)
VEP7 Minimized:  30% (22%)

An Instruments run of both version also confirms the above findings. VEP7 also feels more responsive during playback compared to VEP6.

--
Martin Saleteg
Software Developer
Vienna Symphonic Library GmbH
Posted on Wed, May 08 2019 15:12
by Dewdman42
Joined on Tue, Feb 27 2018, Posts 363
That does not match my results, which were opposite. Vep6 performs for me
5,1 MacPro 12core X 3.46ghz, 128gb ram, RX580 video, OSX Mojave, VSL (almost everything), LogicPro, Cubase10, StudioOne, DP9, Reaper, Dorico, Finale, MuseScore, Notion6, EW Hollywood Orch, Kirk Hunter, GPO, much more..
Posted on Wed, May 08 2019 15:21
by William
Joined on Sun, Nov 24 2002, USA, Posts 5382

I had the same good results using VE7 that MS mentioned from my latest project - a MIR mix of my Romantic Symphony.  It uses 923 separate articulations on 80 custom matrices performing very smoothly and loading quickly the following instrumentation:

8 Flutes 

5 Oboes

4 Clarinets

4 Bassoons

Contra Bassoon

2 C trumpets

B flat Trumpet

Cornet

2 Flugelhorns

8 horn ensemble dividied accurately into 2 or 4 divisi parts using a combination of 2 - 4 horn ensembles or 4 solo horn/Dimension horn combinations

4 Trombones

Bass Trombone

Tuba

Vienna Konzerthaus Organ

Timpani

Percussion ensemble

5 gongs

cymbals and anvil

glockenspiel

2 sets chimes

Harp

Appassionata Violins

Orchestral Violins

Chamber Violins

Solo Violin 1 & 2

8 Dimension Violins divided into 1 & 2

Appassionata Violas

5 Dimension Violoas,

Solo Viola

Appassionata Cellos

Solo 

Cello 2

6 Dimension Cellos

Orchestral Basses

Chamber Basses

4 Dimension Basses

Posted on Wed, May 08 2019 15:30
by Dewdman42
Joined on Tue, Feb 27 2018, Posts 363

Well that is very frustrating.  Because VEP7 uses 10-20% more cpu when the window is active for me here.  I have reverted to VEP6 and run exact same project and VEP6 is using less CPU.  Both VEP6 and VEP7 use a significant amount of additional CPU when the VEP window is open vs when its minimized.  Personally I think that is concerni as well.  Its even worse with a retina display.  VEP7 is just a little worse then VEP6, those are MY results.  I spent an entire afternoon running a precise test that would gather the results in a repeatable and exact way to be sure and I shared the test case with VSL.  I can observe the additonial CPU usage as a percentage in the activity monitor and I have observe it in the loadavg value.  they are correlated values.

If their answer is that their results are opposite of mine, I don't knwo what to say other then we have opposite results and that is frsutrating because my results are what they are.

I will not be able to run any more tests because the past few days I wasted of time with VEP7 and I am now reverted to VEP6 and will not try VEP7 again until at least a month goes by and poblems are more resolved.

regards

5,1 MacPro 12core X 3.46ghz, 128gb ram, RX580 video, OSX Mojave, VSL (almost everything), LogicPro, Cubase10, StudioOne, DP9, Reaper, Dorico, Finale, MuseScore, Notion6, EW Hollywood Orch, Kirk Hunter, GPO, much more..
Posted on Wed, May 08 2019 15:35
by William
Joined on Sun, Nov 24 2002, USA, Posts 5382

I was wondering if it has to do with using it within a DAW - as I think I mentioned this is strictly done with the standalone version on a slave.  

Posted on Wed, May 08 2019 15:37
by Dewdman42
Joined on Tue, Feb 27 2018, Posts 363

if you have it on a slave and you are accessing the slave via remote desktop, and the remote desktop window is closed, then that is the same as VEP7 window being minimized.  Run your test with the VEP7 window showing on a screen somewhere and updating its UI elements...

5,1 MacPro 12core X 3.46ghz, 128gb ram, RX580 video, OSX Mojave, VSL (almost everything), LogicPro, Cubase10, StudioOne, DP9, Reaper, Dorico, Finale, MuseScore, Notion6, EW Hollywood Orch, Kirk Hunter, GPO, much more..
Posted on Wed, May 08 2019 15:45
by William
Joined on Sun, Nov 24 2002, USA, Posts 5382

Actually I'm not accessing it that way - I am using MIDI interfaces.  Very old-fashioned.   

2 Pages12>
You cannot post new threads in this forum.
You cannot reply to threads in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.