Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Forum Jump  
[SOLVED] VE5 and/or VI Pro not saving changes
Last post Tue, Apr 23 2013 by John In CC, 3 replies.
Options
Go to last post
Posted on Mon, Apr 22 2013 01:48
by John In CC
Joined on Mon, Nov 23 2009, Cathedral City, CA, Posts 76

Hello:  I'm using current versions of both Vienna Ensemble 5 and
Vienna Instruments Pro, with Sibliues 7 as my sequencer and Windows 8.  I've
made many changes to an existing set of matrixes, but when I reload them by restarting both VE and Sibelius the changes are not found.

To clarify:  I start VE by right-clicking the VE icon in the Windows taskbar and choosing my current project by selecting it from the Windows jump list.  VE loads and at this point my changes are visible.  However, when I open my Sibelius project by right-clicking the Sibelius taskbar icon and choosing its project from the jump list, it seems that each instance of VE is reoloaded and it is at this point that my changes are lost.  I can get the changes back again by going into each instance of VE reloading it from the saved disk copy, as long as I remember to do this before saving over it.

I've tried a variation on the load sequence to see if it made a difference:  I tried loading VE without specifying a project and then launching the Sibelius project.  Each instance of VE is loaded but without recent changes, so no difference.

Another possibly related nuisance:  when Sibelius starts the VE windows lose both their saved position and size.

It's possible that some changes are retained, such as adding an instrument, while others are consistently lost, such as adding a new matrix to an existing instrument or adding humanize data.  I'd have to do more testing to come up with a list of what's retained and what isn't.

Has anyone else had this or a similar problem?  It's a significant nuisance.  Thanks for your assistance.

Posted on Mon, Apr 22 2013 13:06
by Karel
Joined on Mon, Jan 19 2009, Belgium, Posts 2172

It sounds like you have the "Incoming project data behavior" preference in the VE Pro Server set to "Always load", which would cause the automatic loading behavior you're seeing. The default setting, which is usually desired, is "Ask", where project data will be sent to the instance, but a blinking button will appear that allows you to either load or discard the incoming project data.

Karel Bassez
Software Engineer
Vienna Symphonic Library
Posted on Tue, Apr 23 2013 21:41
by John In CC
Joined on Mon, Nov 23 2009, Cathedral City, CA, Posts 76
Karel wrote:

It sounds like you have the "Incoming project data behavior" preference in the VE Pro Server set to "Always load", which would cause the automatic loading behavior you're seeing. The default setting, which is usually desired, is "Ask", where project data will be sent to the instance, but a blinking button will appear that allows you to either load or discard the incoming project data.

On the nose, Karel.  Thank you so much!

John

You cannot post new threads in this forum.
You cannot reply to threads in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.