Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Forum Jump  
Angelbird SSD's - a review
Last post Thu, Apr 25 2013 by DAW PLUS, 10 replies.
Options
Go to last post
Posted on Thu, Mar 28 2013 18:37
by mpower88
Joined on Thu, Aug 12 2004, Posts 727

I recently (a few months back) bought a new PC from XI Machines loaded up with Angelbird SSD's and just want to put a short review up here for anyone wondering about either of these companies - even though they're both already recommended by VSL. Basically don't think about it. I have waited and worked with this machine for several months now intensely before saying anything, but I'm happy to confirm that everything is absolutely FLAWLESS. I'll do a review of XI Machines in a seperate post later when I have time as that's more detailed, but as for the Angelbird SSD's the good news is the review is very simple! These are beautifully made devices, extremely cool (mine are all internal of course) - extremely fast, not a hitch. I got the master class of drives, but after using these for a while now - and successfully employing VSL's suggestion of lowering the load buffer in VI Pro to save RAM - I am happy to confirm that in my experience thus far they are 100% living up to their hype and reputation, and frankly if I didn't have the budget I would go with confidence with any of their cheaper models also. I got them for all my system drives - Windows drive, an audio drive for projects, and three larger library drives (3X 480Gb) and this thing is awesome. If you're wondering about going for it - seriously: wonder no more!! I wish there was more I could say about them but honestly they just work, and they're so simple - what more is there to say. Very fast, very cool. Just wanted to pass that on and thanks to VSL for recommending them.

XI Machines 2687W, 64Gb Ram, Win 7 SP1.
Angelbird SSD's. VIPro, VEPro/MIR,
Full Vienna Collection.
Steinberg UR22mkII USB
Posted on Mon, Apr 01 2013 04:58
by Cyril Blanc
Joined on Thu, Dec 19 2002, Paris France, Posts 2664

A killer is a Macpro with 4 ssd and 2 x sonnet tempo pro

Sorry the article is in French

http://www.macbidouille.com/news/2013/03/29/un-raid-de-4-ssd-dans-un-mac-pro

Just look at the Disk  Speed Test !

MacPro 2010 12 core 2.93 ghz 64 GB Mac OS X 10.11 2722 Rocket Raid Sata III card with 8 x ssd
VSL lib on a Raid 0 of 4 x 256 GB ssd Sata III - Raid 0 of 4 x 64 GB for other libs
System on a 1 TB ssd
Audio Motu PCI system 84 ins / 64 outs
Kbd : P80 Yamaha, S88 and S25 Komplete Kontrol, DX7
I-Controls Pro, 2xMidi expression pedals
Synth : many....
---
Macbook pro Retina 2.7 ghz 16 GB
---
Mac Mini server 10.10 (server, Itunes, WEB, and Backup )
--
Logic X , Dorico, Band In A Box, ORB Composer
VSL : MIR PRO, Appassionata Strings I, Solo strings , Wind and Brass Complete, Dimension Brass, Big Band Orchestra series
Kontakt, Omnisphere, QLSO, QLSC, CS 80, Arturia V5, Maximo, Realivox Blue. CS 80 V3, The Orchestra 2, Art Conductor 5, Genesis Children Choir, Lunaris, Lacrimosa

Final Cut pro
Camera full HD
Posted on Wed, Apr 03 2013 14:11
by woy
Joined on Sun, Oct 31 2004, Monaco, Posts 41

 I also bought a top-end pc from XI_Machines which was configured with AngelBird SSDs.  I have to say that the pc is an absolute monster and together with the SSDs provides incredible performance. On the plus side I found both companies to be hugely supportive in getting the equipment working exactly right. The SSDs originally supplied by Angelird were prone to heat damage (and beware there is no rebate for failure after they had been working), however they did substantially discount the replacements which are now better protected. The whole set up does come to a considerable amount of money but Henry Royce (of Rolls Royce) once coined the saying "the quality remains long after the price is forgotten". If you want speed and quality - they just are!

Best,

Roy

Posted on Wed, Apr 03 2013 17:27
by Cyril Blanc
Joined on Thu, Dec 19 2002, Paris France, Posts 2664

Hi Roy

Can you run Disk speed test ? If my memory is good there is a PC and Unix version

Thanks

Best

Cyril

MacPro 2010 12 core 2.93 ghz 64 GB Mac OS X 10.11 2722 Rocket Raid Sata III card with 8 x ssd
VSL lib on a Raid 0 of 4 x 256 GB ssd Sata III - Raid 0 of 4 x 64 GB for other libs
System on a 1 TB ssd
Audio Motu PCI system 84 ins / 64 outs
Kbd : P80 Yamaha, S88 and S25 Komplete Kontrol, DX7
I-Controls Pro, 2xMidi expression pedals
Synth : many....
---
Macbook pro Retina 2.7 ghz 16 GB
---
Mac Mini server 10.10 (server, Itunes, WEB, and Backup )
--
Logic X , Dorico, Band In A Box, ORB Composer
VSL : MIR PRO, Appassionata Strings I, Solo strings , Wind and Brass Complete, Dimension Brass, Big Band Orchestra series
Kontakt, Omnisphere, QLSO, QLSC, CS 80, Arturia V5, Maximo, Realivox Blue. CS 80 V3, The Orchestra 2, Art Conductor 5, Genesis Children Choir, Lunaris, Lacrimosa

Final Cut pro
Camera full HD
Posted on Mon, Apr 22 2013 02:35
by mpower88
Joined on Thu, Aug 12 2004, Posts 727

hehe I just logged in to reply to the other message and you have a similar one here - I am pretty flat out, and I'm also not interested in running any other software on this system than what is there for music. If I get a chance though I'll give it a go.

XI Machines 2687W, 64Gb Ram, Win 7 SP1.
Angelbird SSD's. VIPro, VEPro/MIR,
Full Vienna Collection.
Steinberg UR22mkII USB
Posted on Mon, Apr 22 2013 02:36
by mpower88
Joined on Thu, Aug 12 2004, Posts 727

Roy: Congratulations - you belong to a special club my friend. We need a secret handshake or something...

XI Machines 2687W, 64Gb Ram, Win 7 SP1.
Angelbird SSD's. VIPro, VEPro/MIR,
Full Vienna Collection.
Steinberg UR22mkII USB
Posted on Mon, Apr 22 2013 05:08
by Cyril Blanc
Joined on Thu, Dec 19 2002, Paris France, Posts 2664
mpower88 wrote:

hehe I just logged in to reply to the other message and you have a similar one here - I am pretty flat out, and I'm also not interested in running any other software on this system than what is there for music. If I get a chance though I'll give it a go.

Are you scared of the results !

MacPro 2010 12 core 2.93 ghz 64 GB Mac OS X 10.11 2722 Rocket Raid Sata III card with 8 x ssd
VSL lib on a Raid 0 of 4 x 256 GB ssd Sata III - Raid 0 of 4 x 64 GB for other libs
System on a 1 TB ssd
Audio Motu PCI system 84 ins / 64 outs
Kbd : P80 Yamaha, S88 and S25 Komplete Kontrol, DX7
I-Controls Pro, 2xMidi expression pedals
Synth : many....
---
Macbook pro Retina 2.7 ghz 16 GB
---
Mac Mini server 10.10 (server, Itunes, WEB, and Backup )
--
Logic X , Dorico, Band In A Box, ORB Composer
VSL : MIR PRO, Appassionata Strings I, Solo strings , Wind and Brass Complete, Dimension Brass, Big Band Orchestra series
Kontakt, Omnisphere, QLSO, QLSC, CS 80, Arturia V5, Maximo, Realivox Blue. CS 80 V3, The Orchestra 2, Art Conductor 5, Genesis Children Choir, Lunaris, Lacrimosa

Final Cut pro
Camera full HD
Posted on Wed, Apr 24 2013 07:03
by DAW PLUS
Joined on Wed, Nov 16 2011, Posts 9
Installing the software also installs the drivers, some of them being pretty bad (Intensity series). Also, the tool is more of a gadget IMO, other tools show more consequent results.

I have attached a screenshot of 4 Samsung 840 Pro SSDs in RAID 0 on a single Hexacore system. They are only 256 GB instead of the faster (more NANDs) 512 GB models in your article. Note the weird negative results of the software, which seems to be the maximum the software will calculate. We don't have Angelbirds in stock at the moment to do such a test. From my memory, they have similar test results, with the big difference that Angelbird does cherry picking of all components and the Master series having an onboard UPS for added reliability. The Samsungs have a great price/performance ratio though.


In my opinion, RAID0 is a bit risky in a professional environment. If one drive fails, everything is lost. For liraries not a big drama, but you will have longer downtime to get the library up and running again. VSL claims separate drives is faster, I have no reasons to doubt that since they have tested it.

4 x Samsung 840 RAID 0
Leon
Project Manager Audio
www.xi-machines.com
Posted on Wed, Apr 24 2013 15:33
by Cyril Blanc
Joined on Thu, Dec 19 2002, Paris France, Posts 2664

Very impressive !

a Raid 0 of ssd or HD for the VSL lib is not a big problem, you just need to backup your lib on a removable HD

You will not "damage" your raid 0 as it is only used in reading mode

Using a Raid 0 for audio is not a good idea, you should use a Raid 5 or a raid ??

MacPro 2010 12 core 2.93 ghz 64 GB Mac OS X 10.11 2722 Rocket Raid Sata III card with 8 x ssd
VSL lib on a Raid 0 of 4 x 256 GB ssd Sata III - Raid 0 of 4 x 64 GB for other libs
System on a 1 TB ssd
Audio Motu PCI system 84 ins / 64 outs
Kbd : P80 Yamaha, S88 and S25 Komplete Kontrol, DX7
I-Controls Pro, 2xMidi expression pedals
Synth : many....
---
Macbook pro Retina 2.7 ghz 16 GB
---
Mac Mini server 10.10 (server, Itunes, WEB, and Backup )
--
Logic X , Dorico, Band In A Box, ORB Composer
VSL : MIR PRO, Appassionata Strings I, Solo strings , Wind and Brass Complete, Dimension Brass, Big Band Orchestra series
Kontakt, Omnisphere, QLSO, QLSC, CS 80, Arturia V5, Maximo, Realivox Blue. CS 80 V3, The Orchestra 2, Art Conductor 5, Genesis Children Choir, Lunaris, Lacrimosa

Final Cut pro
Camera full HD
Posted on Thu, Apr 25 2013 07:52
by DAW PLUS
Joined on Wed, Nov 16 2011, Posts 9
Well, don't let those figures fool you. This tool mainly measures the SSD cache which is flushed every 0.5-1 second. Also, it is more a theoretical value, real world use is different.



RAID0 for libraries is ok if you have a backup, but I would not use it for anything else, especially not for writing recordings or projects where data loss easily becomes a small desaster.


RAID 1 is the most elegant way, but many SSD/controller combinations are pretty tricky with RAID 1. RAID 5 is a fast and safe solution, but also requires some homework to make sure your configuration is reliable.

BTW here is a test result of 4 x Angelbird 240GB in RAID 0. Note that this tool is tricked by the cache of the Samsung. The lower write speed is due to the Sandforce controller, which handles uncompressable data not as fast as compressable data. For libraries a non-topic. So please take the screenshots with the Blackmagic tool with a huge bucket of salt...



BMD-DST_Angel_R0_LSI_4x
Leon
Project Manager Audio
www.xi-machines.com
You cannot post new threads in this forum.
You cannot reply to threads in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.