Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Forum Jump  
Mac Pro - Review coming shortly
Last post Wed, Jul 30 2014 by hetoreyn, 20 replies.
Options
Go to last post
Posted on Tue, May 06 2014 07:12
by hetoreyn
Joined on Sat, Nov 27 2004, Vancouver, British Columbia, Posts 1159

Hey guys .. We were talking about this subject a while back and I think there's still some people out there on the fence about the new Mac Pro .. is it worth it etc.?

Well mine arrived today .. Yeeeeeeee!!! Took about 5 weeks but it's finally here and I'm just in the process of loading it up with my Pro Apps and will begin using it for scoring of a movie .. as well as continuing to edit and do sound for this movie in Final Cut. So this will be a good test of this machines abilities. The movie has 4K video elements but isn't all completely 4K so the final print will be just a normal 1080p rendering. I'm curious as to how Logic and Pro-Tools will perform and I'll be finding out shortly. I'll post my thoughts on how this all feels as it happens.

This Mac Pro' spec is: 3.5 ghz 6-core system, 32 Gig Ram, 512 gig's HD.

So far, first impressions are that it totally rules. I know I haven't done much more than just turn it on and do the usually settings adjustments. But it's nice and sharp (As they usually are of course). Nice thing is that I can use both of my iMac computers as thunderbolt monitors for the Mac Pro, so I've saved myself some money there and I'm happy to say the performance of this screen sharing is flawless. It's just like having two actual cinema displays. Boot up time is fuggin' fast!

Set up for my apps will take some time as you can imagine and a bit of studio re-arranging is in order. So, as I say, I'll post some impressions of performance with Logic, Pro-tools, Final Cut etc. as I use this over the next few weeks. Biggest thing you'll notice about the Mac Pro .. it makes no noise at all! Hard to believe it's even turned on .. yet there it is!

Hetoreyn
http://www.hetoreyn.com

Mac Pro 2013 - 3.5 ghz, 32 Gig RAM (Master)
27 inch iMac i5 2.7 Ghz 16 Gig RAM (Slave)


Pro-Tools 12 (Native), Mbox Pro 3
Logic ProX
Notion SLE

VI Pro, VE Pro, MIR, Vienna Suite, Omnisphere, Slate Digital Plugs.
Posted on Tue, May 06 2014 15:55
by William
Joined on Sun, Nov 24 2002, USA, Posts 5684

I would be very interested to hear this as I am still considering almost exactly the same 6 core system you mentioned.  Post any of your findings as soon as you can.

Posted on Wed, May 07 2014 10:20
by hetoreyn
Joined on Sat, Nov 27 2004, Vancouver, British Columbia, Posts 1159

Hey William, Aye it's a good choice for any workstation job.

At the moment I haven't had time to get Logic and Pro-tools doing anything because I'm kinda in the middle of doing sound .. so rather than ripping apart everything and losing a few days of productivity I've decided to use the Mac Pro to continue making edit changes to the movie and my iMac's to do the sound and music since they're already set up to do this. I will change this in the next weeks or so, it's just not a good time right now. However I can report some findings from Final Cut. You may be thinking .. well how does this compare to Logic etc. Well Final Cut is a program that needs some serious juice to make it work smoothly, and more importantly the video footage I have is RED 4K, so how this system handles this footage is a pretty good judge of it's capabilities.

First thing I did when moving the film across to the Mac Pro is to re-render the working master print using the Apple Pro Rez 422 (HQ) codec at 1080P rez. The master format has already been decided as a 1080p film. On my workhorse iMac (3.4ghz i7, 16 gig RAM Mid 2011 model) rendering a single reel of the film (roughly 10 minutes worth of film) would have taken about 1-1.5 hours and that's only using the standard Pro Rez 422 (None HQ version). The Mac Pro was able to render the same reel with a higher quality codec within 20-25 minutes, .. and all the while one could still skim through the movie without any obvious bumps in picture quality. On the iMac I found I just had to leave it to it otherwise it would really start to strain.

Applying changes to 4K RED Footage is a snap, still take a lot longer than regular HD footage but the render time is significantly faster for RED. I also did some simple things like, browse the web .. use iTunes, open and close a few things all of which worked flawlessly with no discernable pause or stutter .. so I'd say that the Mac Pro has very good multi-tasking right there. In order to have the movie files work with my new Mac Pro I aliased the Final Cut project file from a USB 3.0 rated external HD .. thus saving me from taking up valuable hard drive space. It's a shame there isn't an option for more internal storage but in the case of the Mac Pro I understand that apple rather expect you to use a big external array because it's actually more convenient. I find myself often swopping out Hard Drives and such between machines so moving external drives around is easier. And the connections via USB 3.0 are pretty blazing. I can't imagine how this would be under a thunderbolt connection.

I connected my iMac's both to the Mac Pro in order to use them as screens and this works amazingly well. Apparently this will work with any MacBook Pro, or iMac that is not older than a 2010 model .. you'd need to look at the apple chart to see if you have a model that would suit this function. And also as the computers are joined via Thunderbolt one can access the other computers as a network .. which I had to use when I realized I had moved some sound and music files over to the new Mac Pro and I needed them on the iMac. But accessing the files through thunderbolt network feels as fast as browsing a fast hard drive. Logic had absolutely no hangups or stutters relinking to the files on another machine this way.

I did also try .. just to see .. rendering some 3D art. I'm a bit of an amateur buff for using DAZ Studio. Rendering an image on my iMac at 1080p rez could possibly take upto a minute ... pretty fast! But the Mac Pro rendered the same image within about 6 seconds :P So I know which machine will be rendering future artwork for me

So .. to sum up.

Overall performance for high end video rendering is slick. No stutters, no arsing around waiting for things to play catchup. Importantly, the Mac Pro can access an external HD very quickly and one the drive is active feels almost as fast as accessing the internal SSD drive. Networking to other Mac's is also extremely fast. Obviously you'll need thunderbolt connections on the other Mac's if you want to do this. Video editing .. is officially a breeze.

Next I'll be looking at Pro-Tools 11 performance on the Mac Pro and we'll see how things like VSL, VI's plug's, Reverbs etc run. I expect nothing less than awesomeness but we'll see. The main thing I want to see and feel is the computer not slowing me down when I want to get things done .. so far I have had this experience.

Hetoreyn
http://www.hetoreyn.com

Mac Pro 2013 - 3.5 ghz, 32 Gig RAM (Master)
27 inch iMac i5 2.7 Ghz 16 Gig RAM (Slave)


Pro-Tools 12 (Native), Mbox Pro 3
Logic ProX
Notion SLE

VI Pro, VE Pro, MIR, Vienna Suite, Omnisphere, Slate Digital Plugs.
Posted on Wed, May 07 2014 15:08
by William
Joined on Sun, Nov 24 2002, USA, Posts 5684

Thanks for that info.  Since I am also doing various HD/2.5/4K rendering as well as audio it is obviously very nice for that - especially with speeding up rendering.  However I am going to integrate this as a slave in my 4 PC system, which is pretty insulting to a Mac but it will fit in better that way.  Also, one of the few computers that will fit in the room now! 

I need to get a 4K monitor as I'm producing 4k footage, and noticed there is one from Dell - the 24 inch model - that is way cheaper than the Sharp 4K Apple advertises. I tried the 28 inch one from Dell, and had to return it because it cannot do faster than 30 hz refresh rate, which makes everything that moves look very weird and stuttering.  That is why it costs only around $800...

Good luck with the projects!

Posted on Wed, May 07 2014 21:42
by Errikos
Joined on Tue, Jun 12 2007, Posts 1090

Bill, if you are using any of those monitors in portrait mode for notation-scoring I'd be very interested to hear your experiences.

And I will be monitoring this thread for Hetoreyn's experiences with Logic (X I imagine) and the new Mac Pro.

If you can't notate/MIDI it yourself, it's NOT your music!

In these modern days to be vulgar, illiterate, common and vicious, seems to give a man a marvelous infinity of rights that his honest fathers never dreamed of. - Oscar Wilde
Posted on Thu, May 08 2014 22:20
by cm
Joined on Fri, Dec 20 2002, vienna, Posts 9135

William wrote:
it cannot do faster than 30 hz refresh rate

it has been reported, that the SAMSUNG U28D590D can do 60Hz only via DisplayPort, the Dell P2815Q can do only 30Hz, the Lenovo Pro2840M can do 60Hz only with certain grafic cards ...

 

because of a contrast ratio of 750:1 professionals won't be too happy with the U28D590D though ...

and remember: a CRAY is the only computer that runs an endless loop in just four hours ...
Posted on Fri, May 09 2014 01:55
by William
Joined on Sun, Nov 24 2002, USA, Posts 5684

That's right.  On the Dell 4k monitors,  only the "ultrasharp" 24 inch will allow 60 hz refresh if you use Display port 1.2.  I think they have a new one that is coming out, 32 inch,  that also does that.  However, this Dell 28 inch I had was horrible - I used Display port, but the refresh was so slow that you could hardly drag a mouse across the screen without it being weird and it was totally unuseable for video.  It is a rip-off.  People see 4k and think wow!  it is awesome resolution.  That means nothing if the video is like an early orthicon tube in its speed.  Also, I have noticed that if you look on the specs listed by Dell, they never list the refresh rate.  Just "response time" which is very misleading.  The refresh rate determines how many times per second the image is there, and if it is 30 hz it is unuseable.  Just think of a TV - 240 hz refresh is considered good nowadays, and 120 hz is ordinary.  So with video monitors, for trying to determine what the hell you are producing, 60 hz and even 30 hz are good?  

Posted on Fri, May 30 2014 17:01
by Sakamoto
Joined on Sun, Jan 19 2003, Germany, Posts 115

What about the review?

Posted on Sun, Jun 08 2014 01:29
by hetoreyn
Joined on Sat, Nov 27 2004, Vancouver, British Columbia, Posts 1159

Currently I'm running a mixing project using MIR Pro 24 on the new Mac Pro, so I haven't had the chance to really test this using Logic with VI's etc. But I'll let you in on what I've found about using Pro-Tools 11 and MIR Pro. (Notice how everything has the word "Pro" built in these days :P).

So far running Pro-Tools with MIR running in plugin mode using about 20 instrument spots has made a CPU impact of around 35-40% .. which is just awesome :P, means I cnould potenially throw in a LOT more plugin's and even way more spots on MIR. I have the 24 track version of MIR so there's a limit in plugin mode but when I test this on Logic I'll be using VE Pro and I'll be able to have a lot more instruments running via seperate instances of MIR. That review will come shortly.

It's hard to really pin down anything to say about the new Mac .. it runs amazingly, and performance for audio mixing so far has been flawless. I haven't really had that much experience of running MIR on other computers so it'd be hard for me to say whether or not it's faster, punchier than on other systems, but it runs very well. Any changes to the mic positions, settings etc are rendered within a few seconds if not instantly and one is left with the distinct impression of being able to get on with the work, rather than having to wait for the computer to do it's thing while you go make some coffee to pass the time:P

I'm also running a bunch of Steve Slate Plugin's .. Virtual Tape Machine, Master Bus Compressor, (I would be running Console collection and FG-X but both of those are not yet available for AAX 64), as well as Vienna Suites EQ, Multiband compressor, Exciter and Limiter. And of course running some of the AVID plug's like Channel Strip. On the iMac I could not really run too many instances of Virtual Tape Machine without red lining the CPU's (Without running MIR), whereas on the Mc Pro, even with a full session I'm barely touching at 45-50% power .. and that's with MIR running. Making changes in MIR, even loading new room packs while music is still playing works nicely, there's hardly any performance drop, no clicks and pops an the instruments under MIRx make their positional changes with no effort at all.

Summing up this short review, running MIR under Pro-Tools just works exceptionally well. Nice workflow .. no sense of having to wait or to have to read a book while you wait for stuff to load, you can just get in there and get on with your work within a minute of opening up the pro-tools session. Personally I need that, If I get an idea I wanna try out I don't wanna wait 5 minutes for the computer to boot up, Pro-Tools to load and all the data to find it's place. The Mac Pro boots up within 15-20 seconds, Pro-tools and a full session can load within a minute (loading MIR and positions) and I'm off to the races. Under my old system loading the same session, from deciding to turn the computer on, could take upto 5 minutes.

Note: I found that my Pro-Tools was having hanging issues when i first started using it .. I later found that this was because I had one of my Hard Drives (USB3.0) hooked up to a USB2.0 interface .. this will cause severe speed problems, so make sure any external media is connected via USB3.0 or thunderbolt devices only! Kinda obvious I guess .. but sometimes these things happen and we don't know why .. it's awesome when you find out though cos everything works then :P

I realize you all want to know, how this system performs running VI's, VE Pro, MIR and everything all at once .. and I'll be doing that next, in fact later today I'm loading up my film score template (for the project I'm working on) in order to make changes now that it's all on my new Mac .. so stay tuned .. I'll have a performance review of that shortly. But it's safe to say that if you're interested to mixing audio only, with CPU intensive plugs, the new Mac will ace this! No question .. workflow is flawless!

Hetoreyn
http://www.hetoreyn.com

Mac Pro 2013 - 3.5 ghz, 32 Gig RAM (Master)
27 inch iMac i5 2.7 Ghz 16 Gig RAM (Slave)


Pro-Tools 12 (Native), Mbox Pro 3
Logic ProX
Notion SLE

VI Pro, VE Pro, MIR, Vienna Suite, Omnisphere, Slate Digital Plugs.
Posted on Tue, Jun 10 2014 21:13
by Errikos
Joined on Tue, Jun 12 2007, Posts 1090

Hey Hetoreyn, 

All this is very useful to know. I would appreciate it if you could drop a note here regarding your Logic usage with your new Mac Pro. I assume it's no. X. I haven't purchased it yet, I am about to, but I'm reading many frustrated users' bug complaints in the relevant fora, so it would be great to know a few things from you first hand. What OS are you using? I had to revert back to Mountain Lion when Mavericks made my 32GB 3.4GHz iMac run like a maverick instead of a jungle cat....

Anyway, I look forward to hearing about your Logic experiences when you have a moment.

If you can't notate/MIDI it yourself, it's NOT your music!

In these modern days to be vulgar, illiterate, common and vicious, seems to give a man a marvelous infinity of rights that his honest fathers never dreamed of. - Oscar Wilde
Posted on Sat, Jun 14 2014 05:59
by wgturner
Joined on Sat, Dec 03 2005, Posts 86

hetoreyn,

Have you experiened any weird ADC issues while using MirPro24 as a plugin?  I'm running ProTools 10.3.8 on a Hackintosh (10.8.2), and have had a fairly bad experience with timing issues.  VSL tech support has said that PT v10 has ADC issues, so I haven't really been able to ascertain exactly where the issue lies - seems to be a combination of VSL and PT.  Running MIrPro definitely works - but when I have other reverbs added on Aux's, such as Exponential Audios PhoenixVerb - which has latency of like 43 samples typically - when run with MirPro it has latency of over a thousand samples...  But, aside from that, I've just had weird timing issues in general.

Have you experienced any of that?

Thanks!

- Greg

Posted on Sat, Jul 12 2014 06:24
by Sakamoto
Joined on Sun, Jan 19 2003, Germany, Posts 115

Hello friends,

I am seriously considering to get a new Mac Pro now - 6 core or 8 core? - I still wonder. For editing video the 8 core seems perfect - for the use with MIR Pro maybe the one with the faster Processors? I use Logic x and some other processor hungry libararies - which I am quite sick off because of the better performance of VSL lol ("Diamond" is a nice word but often only illusion). The strongest point for the the Mac Pro is the ability to connect the libaries hrought thunderbolt but I am still not sure if I will have a real gain in performance compared to my 12 core 2,6 Mac Pro from 2010 with 48 RAM and 2 SSDs.

No new quesion - sorry - but I am still hungry for information. 

Thanks in advance

Alfred

Posted on Sat, Jul 12 2014 07:58
by Cyril Blanc
Joined on Thu, Dec 19 2002, Paris France, Posts 2722

I dont know if it is true, but what it is said is the new 6 core Macpro is equivalent to your 12 core 2010 Macpro and you gain 10/15 % if you go to the 8 core (not shure if my memory of the 10/15 % is good, but it is a small amount)

MacBook Pro 2019 16" + 2 x Odisseey G9 49" Big Sur

MacPro 2010 12 core 2.93 ghz 64 GB Mac OS X 10.11 2722 Rocket Raid Sata III card with 8 x ssd

Kbd : P80 Yamaha, S88 and S25 Komplete Kontrol, DX7
I-Controls Pro, 2xMidi expression pedals
Synth : many....
--
Logic X , Dorico, Band In A Box, ORB Composer
VSL : MIR PRO, Appassionata Strings I, Solo strings , Wind and Brass Complete, Dimension Brass, Big Band Orchestra series, Many Synchronised libs
Kontakt, Omnisphere, QLSO, QLSC, CS 80, Arturia V5, Maximo, Realivox Blue. CS 80 V3, The Orchestra 2, Art Conductor, Genesis Children Choir, Lunaris, Lacrimosa

Final Cut pro
Camera full HD
Posted on Sat, Jul 12 2014 15:08
by Sakamoto
Joined on Sun, Jan 19 2003, Germany, Posts 115

Thanks for your reply Cyril, so it doesn´t make sense from the audio-production point of view to get this expensive computer? 

Posted on Fri, Jul 25 2014 10:53
by hetoreyn
Joined on Sat, Nov 27 2004, Vancouver, British Columbia, Posts 1159

Hey folks .. sorry this review took so long .. been up to my ears in work so it's been hard to find time to actually test the Mac Pro for the music stuff we want to see it do.

The most taxing session I've tried to put my Mac Pro (Spec can be found in above posts), through is having Logic open with 4 instances of VE Pro, each of those running part of the VSL library .. all on the Mac Proo .. no other slave devices. I wanted to see just how much it would handle. And on each of those VE Pro's, MIR is running for all instruments. So as you can imagine that's some serious processing going on there with around 50 VI's all told and all going through MIR. Didn't really work flawlessly at first .. it went through that process of having to play and replay in order to cache the library sounds but after a while I found it worked pretty well. It's probably a bit much to expect this kind of setup to work flawlessly from any high end computer as it's really a lot of calculation going on but it proved that it could do it if needed. Perhaps if one were running two intances of VE Pro you'd have absolute smooth performance.

I have the 6 core mac so I can't speak for the really REALLY high end macs which no doubt could run this kind of big orchestra set up with no real hiccups. I had intended to use my iMac's as slave devices so for me that just showed that if I had to get rid of my iMacs .. I could make do with just the one machine .. but I'd rather run VE Pro over the thunderbolt network (nice to have one of those now) and save all the main power for plugin's in logic, or Pro-tools. I didn't encounter any problems with ADC, or with timing issues .. which I had expected but didn't see. I have had my Mac Pro running sessions of Logic with VE Pro without using MIR and this is so smooth it's safe to say that it's jsut perfect to work with a big orchestral template. If you simply plan to use MIR at the recording stage (Pro-Tools or other) then for sure you'd save yourself some hassle. Of course if you can afford to buy MIR for all your slave devices and room packs then you won't have this problem :P

So, the main thing is that VSL sessions with a regular complement of plugins' (Reverb, processing etc.) will work extremely well. Big sessions with MIR are going to tax the system but it still ran at a level which I found comfortable to work with after the initial memory caching thing had been done.

Performance in Pro-Tools is as yet unknown with VE Pro etc .. gonna have to look into that at some point. I've been meaning to get rid of logic for a long time now and Pro-Tools 11 is beckoning me along. (I'm just pissed with the stupid glitches that Logic keeps having .. on any of my machines that Apple haven't yet addressed.)

It works, and works well. Definitely the right machine for me in any of my music projects. Coupled with my two iMacs I've got a killer combination here :D (Slave music stuff on one side ... and Doom 3 running on the other :P).

P.S.

Just as a side note .. the Mac Pro will not run windows 7 on boot camp. It can only run Windows 8 and above. Which sucks or me becuse I have 7. Okay I was only using it to play games but I was really looking forward to loading up Skyrim on this baby and maxing out all the settings. So just be warned if you plan to run Windows in Boot camp for any reason, you will need Windows 8.

Hetoreyn
http://www.hetoreyn.com

Mac Pro 2013 - 3.5 ghz, 32 Gig RAM (Master)
27 inch iMac i5 2.7 Ghz 16 Gig RAM (Slave)


Pro-Tools 12 (Native), Mbox Pro 3
Logic ProX
Notion SLE

VI Pro, VE Pro, MIR, Vienna Suite, Omnisphere, Slate Digital Plugs.
Posted on Fri, Jul 25 2014 15:08
by hetoreyn
Joined on Sat, Nov 27 2004, Vancouver, British Columbia, Posts 1159
Sakamoto wrote:

Thanks for your reply Cyril, so it doesn´t make sense from the audio-production point of view to get this expensive computer? 

Strictly speaking no .. You can do audio production (Mixing, tracking, mastering etc) with just about any decent computer these days. The Mac Pro is very expensive and should really only be considered for jobs that require very intensive CPU, RAM and Hard drive usage. If you intend to run tonnes of VI's and processor plugin's it makes sense to consider it as 1 Mac Pro will probably suffice for all your needs (as oppose to using several computers linked together).

As I've said above I'm also using mine for Video editing and now also 3D art rendering so my Mac Pro is getting a good workout. Just using it for things that any good iMac could handle would be a waste of it's time and of your money.

Hetoreyn
http://www.hetoreyn.com

Mac Pro 2013 - 3.5 ghz, 32 Gig RAM (Master)
27 inch iMac i5 2.7 Ghz 16 Gig RAM (Slave)


Pro-Tools 12 (Native), Mbox Pro 3
Logic ProX
Notion SLE

VI Pro, VE Pro, MIR, Vienna Suite, Omnisphere, Slate Digital Plugs.
Posted on Sun, Jul 27 2014 08:59
by Cyril Blanc
Joined on Thu, Dec 19 2002, Paris France, Posts 2722

MIR was in stereo ?

Try with 5.1 or 7.1 to see ;)

MacBook Pro 2019 16" + 2 x Odisseey G9 49" Big Sur

MacPro 2010 12 core 2.93 ghz 64 GB Mac OS X 10.11 2722 Rocket Raid Sata III card with 8 x ssd

Kbd : P80 Yamaha, S88 and S25 Komplete Kontrol, DX7
I-Controls Pro, 2xMidi expression pedals
Synth : many....
--
Logic X , Dorico, Band In A Box, ORB Composer
VSL : MIR PRO, Appassionata Strings I, Solo strings , Wind and Brass Complete, Dimension Brass, Big Band Orchestra series, Many Synchronised libs
Kontakt, Omnisphere, QLSO, QLSC, CS 80, Arturia V5, Maximo, Realivox Blue. CS 80 V3, The Orchestra 2, Art Conductor, Genesis Children Choir, Lunaris, Lacrimosa

Final Cut pro
Camera full HD
Posted on Sun, Jul 27 2014 09:08
by hetoreyn
Joined on Sat, Nov 27 2004, Vancouver, British Columbia, Posts 1159

Not much point doing 5.1 .. as I don't have a surround setup .. and have absolutely no idea how mixing in 5.1 then bouncing down to stereo is any better or worse than simply mixing in stereo. And like I said .. I can't monitor surround so it's a pointless thing for me.

Hetoreyn
http://www.hetoreyn.com

Mac Pro 2013 - 3.5 ghz, 32 Gig RAM (Master)
27 inch iMac i5 2.7 Ghz 16 Gig RAM (Slave)


Pro-Tools 12 (Native), Mbox Pro 3
Logic ProX
Notion SLE

VI Pro, VE Pro, MIR, Vienna Suite, Omnisphere, Slate Digital Plugs.
Posted on Sun, Jul 27 2014 12:35
by Cyril Blanc
Joined on Thu, Dec 19 2002, Paris France, Posts 2722

The test in 5.1 and 7.1 It is just to see how your new Macpro is reacting when playing.  All the test I have done are in 5.1 and 7.1 because they are more CPU demanding 

In French we say ; qui peux le plus peut le moins !! :)

MacBook Pro 2019 16" + 2 x Odisseey G9 49" Big Sur

MacPro 2010 12 core 2.93 ghz 64 GB Mac OS X 10.11 2722 Rocket Raid Sata III card with 8 x ssd

Kbd : P80 Yamaha, S88 and S25 Komplete Kontrol, DX7
I-Controls Pro, 2xMidi expression pedals
Synth : many....
--
Logic X , Dorico, Band In A Box, ORB Composer
VSL : MIR PRO, Appassionata Strings I, Solo strings , Wind and Brass Complete, Dimension Brass, Big Band Orchestra series, Many Synchronised libs
Kontakt, Omnisphere, QLSO, QLSC, CS 80, Arturia V5, Maximo, Realivox Blue. CS 80 V3, The Orchestra 2, Art Conductor, Genesis Children Choir, Lunaris, Lacrimosa

Final Cut pro
Camera full HD
Posted on Wed, Jul 30 2014 06:37
by hetoreyn
Joined on Sat, Nov 27 2004, Vancouver, British Columbia, Posts 1159

I understand the desire to see a test in 5.1 .. but as I say I don't have any way to monitor and know pretty much nothing about how one sets that up. Surround is just one of those things that no one has ever satisfactorily described how to use properly, and how it all helps in the world of stereo headphones (which is where most of our music ultimately will end up!). I assume yes, it uses much more CPU power .. but I can imagine my 6-core mac pro being able to handle a good sized orchestra in MIR.

Mind you, because of my desire to have a nice swift workflow and not so much arsing around inside of VE Pro, I prefer to run MIR as a plugin within Pro-Tools, and utilize MIR's capabilites in a straight forward audio mode. This is largely due to the constraints of my studio .. only having the one license means MIR is bound to only one computer. When (and I do say when!) I have acquired a much bigger, and way more expensive studio setup .. and a hollywood film that'll pay for it all :P .. then you can be sure I'll be working in Surround .. with about 6 high end Mac Pro's doing all the work!

As I've previously stated I use my Mac Pro for not only music, but video editing, and 3D rendering as I've just gotten into 3D art and animation. The demands of editing 4K footage (or higher), or for rendering an animated scene in hi-def are considerable. If you've ever tried to render an animated scene, even short, you'll know that even a 5 second scene can take a whole day to render .. even on a good computer. The question most people are asking is .. 'Will a Mac Pro speed up my workflow and allow me to do more?' .. to which the answer is definitely yes.

Is it worth the money? .. hard to say since the more advanced computer users will no doubt prefer to build their own hot-rod system and it's quite possible you can make a similar spec system for less than the cost of the Mac. Mind you, Apple REALLY threw in every high end thing they could. The data throughput in the Mac Pro system has very few, if any, bottlenecks and gets things done pretty damned fast. The only real bottleneck you'll come across is when you attach storage to the unit .. I'd suggest investing an a Thunderbolt 2 SSD drive since that will offer the greatest amount of workflow satisfaction. But even with a decent USB 3 drive things work nicely.

At the time I'm writing this, it's become apparent to me that the Mac Pro must run everything .. the idea of using slave devices is nice .. but not very practical in my studio. For the reason that a lot of my projects utilized different setups and so every time I want to open up an old session it requires me to transfer key licenses, and to reconfigure the setup in Logic to keep up with it all .. which takes ages. I'd rather have it all accessed through one machine. And frankly the Mac Pro handles any and all of the music sessions I have any of my previous computers through.

So what of the iMac slaves?? Well .. they make excellent monitors for my Mac :D (2 x 27 inch LED screens aint' no bad thing). And my i7 iMac is also now my main 3D rendering machine .. since it's going to sit there and do bugger all for most of the time.

And of course there's the main reason to buy a Mac Pro .. cos it looks f***ing awesome :P. Why buy a Honda Accord .. when you can buy an Aston Martin :D

Hetoreyn
http://www.hetoreyn.com

Mac Pro 2013 - 3.5 ghz, 32 Gig RAM (Master)
27 inch iMac i5 2.7 Ghz 16 Gig RAM (Slave)


Pro-Tools 12 (Native), Mbox Pro 3
Logic ProX
Notion SLE

VI Pro, VE Pro, MIR, Vienna Suite, Omnisphere, Slate Digital Plugs.
You cannot post new threads in this forum.
You cannot reply to threads in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.