AUDIO
  • New Orleans (Bass trombone)
  • Destiny's Battle (Bass trombone)

Open External Player

History

The history of the trombone’s development shows that high-pitched instruments became less important in the 19th century while technical improvements were made on lower-pitched ones.

The Renaissance trombone – first experiments in the bass register

The bass trombone was already playing an important role in the instrument family (soprano, alto, tenor and bass trombone) in the 16th century. The instruments were called the “fourth” (F) and “fifth” (Eb) trombone because of their tunings in relation to the tenor trombone. During the following years the technique of placing a fourth-crook or fifth-crook in the tenor trombone was occasionally practiced to achieve the necessary tube length which would enable the tenor trombone to be used as a bass instrument, as was customary until the end of the 18th century. The maximum slide length of 92 cm (on the Eb bass trombone) and the wide positions imposed severe limitations on the speed of response of these bass trombones in the lower register. The chromaticization of horns and trumpets at the beginning of the 19th century placed greater demands on the bass trombone, and efforts were made to gain greater agility in the region of the great octave and to improve the embouchure.

The Romantic period – the tenor-bass trombone as an all-round instrument

The valves that were invented between 1813 and 1830 inspired the instrument maker F. C. Sattler of Leipzig to develop the tenor-bass trombone in 1839. He made it possible to integrate the additional piece of tubing (crook) into the U-shaped slide in front of the bell without having to make any other alterations to the tenor trombone. The addition of this piece of tubing meant that bass parts could now be played using the slides of the tenor trombone, in other words greater agility in the bass register was achieved thanks to the closer positions of the tenor trombone’s slide. Players could now switch from tenor to bass pitch by means of a valve (fourth-valve or fifth-valve).

From the middle of the 19th century the new tenor-bass trombone replaced the bass trombone in orchestras and has been used as the third trombone ever since, the three-part trombone section having established itself as standard practice.

513_Tenorbassposaune_220x146.jpg

Tenor-bass trombone (Musikinstrumentenmuseum Schloss Kremsegg, Austria, Streitwieser collection)

By the end of the 18th century trombones came in three sizes: alto, tenor and bass. These formed the basis of the three-part trombone section in orchestras. Soon the higher parts were being played by tenor trombones in Bb and the lower parts by a tenor-bass trombone. Bass trombones in F were also used, albeit relatively rarely. Up until the beginning of the 20th century these instruments were made primarily for military bands.

520_Bassposaune_220x146.jpg

Bass trombone in Bb, Hermann Heinel, Markneukirchen, Germany (Musikinstrumentenmuseum Schloss Kremsegg, Austria, Streitwieser collection)

In his Ring Wagner already calls for tenor-bass trombones. Often all three trombone parts were played by a tenor-bass trombone.

Composers such as Schoenberg, Berg, Stravinsky and Shostakovitch wrote trombone parts in such a way that they could only be played by a tenor-bass trombone. Today the tenor-bass trombone (with fourth-valve and fifth-valve) is standard in symphony and opera orchestras. In spite of the tenor-bass trombone’s wide range, a distinction has been made in recent times between the tenor-bass and bass trombone – both work according to Sattler’s functional principle and both have the same length of tubing, but the bass trombone has a wider bore (from 13.8 mm), a wider bell (from 24.8 cm), an additional valve (either Eb or D) and a larger mouthpiece.

In around 1830, the valve system developed by Blühmel and Stölzel led to the creation of the valve trombone, on which the slide was replaced by valves. Although this instrument evinces great agility it fails to produce the typical trombone sound. It was used for a time in Italian opera in the 19th century (e.g. Verdi’s Aida, Troubadour). Nowadays the valve trombone is only found in military and wind bands.

AUDIO
  • New Orleans (Bassposaune)
  • Destiny's Battle (Bass trombone)

Open External Player

Bassposaune - Geschichte

Die Entwicklungsgeschichte der Posaunen zeigt, dass die hohen Instrumente im 19. Jahrhundert an Bedeutung verloren, während die tiefen technisch immer ausgereifter wurden.

Renaissanceposaune – erste Versuche in der Basslage

Bereits im 16. Jahrhundert spielte die Bassposaune innerhalb der Instrumentenfamilie (Sopran-, Alt-, Tenor-, Bassposaune) eine wichtige Rolle. Aufgrund ihrer Stimmungen in Bezug auf die Tenorposaune wurden diese Instrumente Quart- oder Quintposaune genannt. Vereinzelt wurde es in der Folge zur Praxis, mit Hilfe eines Quart- oder Quintbogens, der in die Tenorposaune gesteckt wurde, die notwendige Rohrlänge zu erreichen. So konnte die Tenorposaune fallweise auch als Bassinstrument eingesetzt werden, wie es bis Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts üblich war. Die maximale Zuglänge von 92 cm (bei der Es-Bassposaune) und die weit auseinanderliegenden Positionen schränkten die Beweglichkeit dieser Bassposaunen im tiefen Bereich erheblich ein. Die Chromatisierung der Hörner und Trompeten zu Beginn des 19. Jahrhunderts erhöhte auch die Anforderungen an die Bassposaune, daher wurden eine größere Beweglichkeit im Bereich der Großen Oktave und eine Verbesserung des Ansatzes angestrebt.

Romantik – die Tenorbassposaune als Universalinstrument

Die zwischen 1813 und 1830 erfundenen Ventile regten den Leipziger Instrumentenbauer F. C. Sattler im Jahre 1839 zur Entwicklung der Tenorbassposaune an. Sein Verdienst war es, das zusätzliche Rohrstück (Quart- oder Quintbogen) in den U-förmigen Bogen vor dem Schallstück zu integrieren, ohne sonstige Veränderungen an der Tenorposaune vorzunehmen. Durch die Platzierung des zusätzlichen Rohrstücks vor der Stürze wurde es möglich, mit dem Zugsystem der Tenorposaune in Basslage zu spielen, d. h.: Mit den kleineren Zugweiten der Tenorposaune ließ sich die Beweglichkeit im Bassbereich erhöhen. Durch ein Ventil (Quart- oder Quintventil) konnte der Posaunist nun während des Spiels zwischen Tenor- und Basslage umschalten.

Ab Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts verdrängte die neue Tenorbassposaune die Bassposaune aus den Orchestern und nimmt seither die Stelle der 3. Posaune ein. Inzwischen hatte sich die dreistimmige Posaunengruppe im Orchester etabliert.

Tenorbassposaune

Tenorbassposaune (Musikinstrumentenmuseum Schloss Kremsegg, Austria, Sammlung Streitwieser)

Bis Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts gab es drei Posaunengrößen: Alt, Tenor und Bass. Aus diesen entwickelte sich die dreistimmige Posaunengruppe in Orchestern. Bald wurden die oberen Stimmen von Tenorposaunen in B, die untere von einer Tenorbassposaune ausgeführt. Auch reine Bassposaunen in F wurden eingesetzt, allerdings relativ selten. Sie wurden bis zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts v.a. für Militärkapellen gebaut.

Bassposaune

Bassposaune in B, Hermann Heinel, Markneukirchen, Deutschland (Musikinstrumentenmuseum Schloss Kremsegg, Austria, Sammlung Streitwieser)

In Wagners Ring-Partitur wurden bereits Tenorbassposaunen vorgeschrieben. Häufig wurden auch alle drei Posaunen mit einer Tenorbassposaune besetzt.

Komponisten wie Schönberg, Berg, Strawinsky und Schostakowitsch führten die Posaunenstimme so, dass sie nur von einer Tenorbassposaune gespielt werden konnte. Heute gehört die Tenorbassposaune (mit Quart- und Quintventil) zur Standardbesetzung eines Symphonie- oder Opernorchesters. Trotz des großen Tonumfangs der Tenorbassposaune hat in neuerer Zeit eine Trennung zwischen Tenorbass- und Bassposaune stattgefunden – beide beruhen auf Sattlers Funktionsprinzip. Beide Instrumente haben dieselbe Rohrlänge, die Bassposaune hat jedoch eine größere Mensur (ab 13,8 mm), ein weiteres Schallstück (ab 24,8 cm), ein zusätzliches Ventil (entweder Es oder D) und ein größeres Mundstück.

Um 1830 führte das von Blühmel und Stölzel entwickelte Ventilsystem zum Bau der Ventilposaune, wobei der Zug durch Ventile ersetzt wurde. Zwar ist die Beweglichkeit dieses Instruments groß, aber der typische Posaunenklang fehlt. Im 19. Jahrhundert war sie eine Zeit lang in der italienischen Oper in Verwendung (z.B. in Verdis „Aida“, „Troubadour“). Heute findet man die Ventilposaune noch in Militärorchestern und in der Harmoniemusik.