AUDIO
  • New Orleans (Bass trombone)
  • Destiny's Battle (Bass trombone)

Open External Player

Sound production

The tenor-bass and bass trombones have the widest range of all wind instruments.

The natural harmonic series from the 1st to the 12th natural is generally used. Pedals are also part of the instrument’s range. From the 20th century it has been usual for pedal notes to be played on the trombone. These are especially easy to play on the bass trombone because of its wider bore.

Valveless playing

As with the tenor trombone 7 positions (slide lengths) are playable in the Bb tuning (valves closed). Each position lowers the natural harmonic series by a half tone.

BTB_sound-production_01-1_en_607x94
BTB_sound-production_01-2_en_603x85

With the fourth-valve

Six positions are playable in the F tuning (fourth-valve open).

BTB_sound-production_02-1_en_607x99
BTB_sound-production_02-2_en_603x90

With the third-valve

Five positions are possible in the D tuning (third-valve open).

BTB_sound-production_03-1_en_607x105
BTB_sound-production_03-2_en_603x90

In the shortest (1st) position the tube length of the Bb tuning (closed valves) is 290 cm.

In the D tuning (third-valve open) the tube length is 563 cm in the longest possible (5th) position. So when playing the lowest note on the bass trombone the musician has to vibrate an air column which is 5,6 m long!

Generally tenor-bass trombones are used as tenor trombones above C2 (valves closed) and as bass trombones (fourth-valve or fourth-valve and third-valve open) below it. Playing with open valves alters the instrument’s timbre.

The gap between Bb1 and E2 that exists on the tenor trombone between the 1st position’s pedal (Bb1) and the 2nd natural at the 7th position (E2) is bridged on the bass trombone with the aid of the fourth-valve and third-valve. The instrument is thus rendered fully chromatic. The problematical notes B1 and C2, which would not be playable with a fourth-valve alone, can be sounded easily and well by operating the third-valve. These notes were called for in older scores and could be played with ease on the old bass trombone.

AUDIO
  • New Orleans (Bassposaune)
  • Destiny's Battle (Bass trombone)

Open External Player

Bassposaune - Tonerzeugung

Tenorbass- und Bassposaune verfügen über den größten Tonumfang aller Blasinstrumente.

Die ausführbare Naturtonreihe reicht bei der Bassposaune vom 1. bis zum 12. Naturton. Da der 1. Naturton anspricht, können auch Pedaltöne erzeugt werden. Diese gehören im 20. Jahrhundert zum üblichen Tonvorrat der Posaunen. Bei der Bassposaune sprechen diese aufgrund der weiteren Mensur leicht an.

Ohne Ventil

In der B-Stimmung (bei geschlossenen Ventilen) sind wie bei der Tenorposaune 7 Positionen (Zuglängen) spielbar. Jede Position erniedrigt die Naturtonreihe um einen Halbton:

BTB_sound-production_01-1_de_607x94
BTB_sound-production_01-2_de_603x85

Mit Quartventil

In der F-Stimmung (bei offenem Quartventil) sind 6 Positionen spielbar:

BTB_sound-production_02-1_de_607x99
BTB_sound-production_02-2_de_603x90

Mit Terzventil

In der D-Stimmung (bei offenem Terzventil) sind 5 Positionen möglich:

BTB_sound-production_03-1_de_607x105
BTB_sound-production_03-2_de_603x90

Die Rohrlänge der B-Stimmung (mit geschlossenen Ventilen) beträgt in der kürzesten (1.) Position 290 cm.

In der D-Stimmung (bei offenem Terzventil) in der längsten möglichen (5.) Position beträgt die Rohrlänge 563 cm. Der Posaunist muss also beim tiefsten Ton der Bassposaune eine 5,6 Meter lange Luftsäule in Bewegung setzen bzw. eine 1,7 m längere Luftsäule als beim höchsten Ton!

In der Regel werden Tenorbassposaunen oberhalb des c als Tenorposaunen (Ventile geschlossen) und unterhalb davon als Bassposaunen verwendet (Quartventil oder Quart- und Terzventil offen). Das Spielen mit offenen Ventilen hat eine Änderung der Klangfarbe zur Folge.

Die Lücke zwischen B1–E, die auf der Tenorposaune zwischen dem Pedalton der ersten Position (B1) und dem 2. Naturton der 7. Position (E) besteht, wird auf der Bassposaune mit Hilfe des Quart- und Terzventils geschlossen. Somit steht die volle chromatische Skala zur Verfügung. Die problematischen Töne H1 und C, die mit Hilfe des Quartventils alleine gar nicht spielbar wären, können durch Zuschaltung des Terzventils gut hervorgebracht werden. Diese Töne wurden schon in älteren Partituren vorgeschrieben, wo sie von der alten Bassposaune leicht gespielt werden konnten.