AUDIO
  • Midnight Showdown (Bass trumpet)
  • La Folia
  • Bass trumpet and orchestra
  • Solo for Bass Trumpet

Open External Player

Products including
Bass Trumpet:


History

113_Basstromp_220x146.jpg

“Monster” trumpet (bass trumpet in Bb), H.N. White, Cleveland, Ohio, ca. 1927. An exceptional model that is different from regular bass trumpets; silver-plated (Musikinstrumentenmuseum Schloss Kremsegg, Austria, Streitwieser collection)

In 1828 the German instrument maker Heinrich Stölzel became the first to feature a trumpet in (low) Bb in his catalog. The instrument was described as a tenor trumpet in Bb, which was in fact its true register. Richard Wagner (1813–1883) used this low-pitched trumpet in his Ring of the Nibelung to symbolize the fortitude and dominance of his heroes (“sword motif”). He called for trumpets in (low) Bb, (low) C, D and Eb under the name bass trumpet.

In the 1820s Heinrich Stölzel (1777–1844) also made a trumpet in the true bass range, in the F1 and Eb1 tunings. This instrument was adopted by military bands. Today the “genuine” bass trumpet (in F1) is manufactured by the firm of Thein in Bremen, Germany.

The bass trumpet (in Bb1 or C2) is still used by some German bands.

In the symphony orchestra the bass trumpet in Bb1 or C2 introduced by Wagner has always been preferred, although it is used only rarely. The instrument is found chiefly in late Romantic orchestral works by Wagner, Strauss, Stravinsky and Janacek. In the 20th century the bass trumpet was rediscovered by the Viennese composer Friedrich Cerha.

AUDIO
  • Midnight Showdown (Bass trumpet)
  • La Folia
  • Bass trumpet and orchestra
  • Solo for Bass Trumpet

Open External Player

Basstrompete
ist enthalten in den Produkten:


Basstrompete - Geschichte

Basstrompete

„Monster“-Trompete (Basstrompete in B), H.N. White, Cleveland, Ohio, ca. 1927. Ausnahmemodell, das sich von regulären Basstrompten unterscheidet; versilbert (Musikinstrumentenmuseum Schloss Kremsegg, Austria, Sammlung Streitwieser)

Eine Trompete in (tief) B tauchte erstmals 1828 in der Preisliste des deutschen Instrumentenbauers Heinrich Stölzel auf. Das Instrument wurde als Tenortrompete in B bezeichnet, was auch seiner tatsächlichen Lage entsprach. Richard Wagner (1813–1883) griff für seinen „Ring der Nibelungen“ auf diese tiefe Trompete zurück – sie sollte den Heldenmut und die Dominanz seiner Helden charakterisieren („Schwertmotiv“). Er bezeichnete die tiefen Trompeten, die er in (tief) B, (tief) C, D und Es vorschrieb, als Basstrompete.

Eine Trompete in echter Basslage wurde in den 1820er Jahren ebenfalls von Heinrich Stölzel (1777–1844) in den Stimmungen F1 und Es1 gebaut und fand Verbreitung in der Militärmusik. Heute wird die "echte" Basstrompete (in F1) von der Firma Thein in Bremen hergestellt.

Die Basstrompete (in B1 oder C) ist in einigen dt. Musikkapellen noch in Verwendung.

Im Symphonieorchester wurde und wird die von Wagner initiierte Basstrompete (in B1 oder C) verwendet, wenn auch eher selten. Hauptsächlich wurde sie im spätromantischen Orchester eingesetzt, und zwar von Wagner, Strauss, Strawinsky und Janacek. Im 20. Jahrhundert wurde die Basstrompete vom Wiener Komponisten Friedrich Cerha wiederentdeckt.