AUDIO
  • Six Studies II - Andante (Tuba)
  • Six Studies VI - Allegro (Tuba)
  • The Tuba Express
  • Tuba Rhapsody

Open External Player

History 2 – the modern bass tuba

1835 – the birth of the modern bass tuba

211_Basstuba_200x300.jpg

Tuba, Ant. Holy, Pilsen, Bohemia, ca. 1850/60 (Musikinstrumentenmuseum Schloss Kremsegg, Austria, Streitwieser collection)

In 1835 Johann Moritz and the trombonist Wilhelm Wieprecht (1802–1872) were granted a Prussian patent in Berlin for the bass tuba. Although valved instruments in the bass register already existed (e.g. the bombardon) this was the first instrument to bear the name bass tuba.

The bass tuba was made of brass, keyed in F and had five piston valves (“Berlin valves”). The first three valves were operated by the right hand, the other two by the left. The 1st and 2nd valves lowered the fundamental note by a whole tone and a semitone respectively in relation to the key of F; the 3rd valve lowered the instrument’s tuning by a fourth, from F to C. The 4th and 5th valves lowered the pitch from C by a whole tone and a semitone (wide half step, wide whole step) respectively. The relatively narrow bore meant that the bass notes were not particularly loud or powerful.

In the course of the reorganization of Prussian military music Wieprecht introduced two bass tubas into every band, which aided the instrument’s distribution and further development. Because the gap between the 1st and 2nd naturals could not be bridged on an instrument with three valves, subsequent tubas were made with four to six valves.

The fact that the bombardon and the bass tuba existed at the same time often led to confusion. Hector Berlioz described Wieprecht’s tuba as a bombardon with an improved mechanism and stated that its timbre was very much like that of the ophicleide. In France, the tuba was known for a long time as the ophicléide-à-pistons. Two features distinguished the tuba from the bombardon: the wide bore profile and the valves, the new “Berlin pistons”. The following explanation helps to clear up the confusion surrounding the two instruments: the bass instrument used in military bands was called the bombardon, while its counterpart in the symphony orchestra was known as the tuba.

The introduction of the tuba solved the problem of a satisfactory bass voice in military and wind bands. Despite this symphony orchestras were slow to adopt it.

Hector Berlioz first encountered the bass tuba on tour in Germany and describes it as follows: “In Prussia the bass tuba has replaced the ophicleide; it is a large wind instrument with five rotary valves which give it a large compass in the low register. The low notes are blurred, but when two tubas double an octave apart this produces an enormous resonance. In the middle and upper registers the sound is very refined and not as flat as the ophicleide's, rich, vibrant and well-matched to the timbre of the trombones and trumpets, which the tuba serves as the bass voice.” Berlioz was one of the first composers to embrace the tuba with enthusiasm, using it in virtually all his scores in place of the ophicleide.

Gradually the bass tuba began appearing in various orchestras and by the second half of the 19th century it had been widely adopted in German orchestras.

220_Bombardon_200x300.jpg

Bombardon

Present day

Present day tubas have a fast rate of flare of about 1:10 to 1:20 from mouthpiece to bell. Pedals play well on account of the wide conical bore. Nowadays instruments with five or six valves are the most widespread – this number is necessary to be able to play the full chromatic scale (eleven half steps downward) and to ensure pure intonation.

The bell of the orchestral tuba faces upward. The helicon is used in wind bands and dance bands, while the sousaphone is found in American wind and military bands.

AUDIO
  • Six Studies II - Andante (Tuba)
  • Six Studies VI - Allegro (Tuba)
  • The Tuba Express
  • Tuba Rhapsody

Open External Player

Basstuba - Geschichte 2 – die moderne Basstuba

1835 – Geburtsstunde der modernen Basstuba

Basstuba

Tuba, Ant. Holy, Pilsen, Böhmen, ca. 1850/60 (Musikinstrumentenmuseum Schloss Kremsegg, Austria, Sammlung Streitwieser)

Im Jahre 1835 erwarben der Posaunist Wilhelm Wieprecht (1802–1872) und Johann Moritz in Berlin das Preußische Patent für die Basstuba. Obwohl es schon vorher Ventilinstrumente in Basslage gab (z.B. den Bombardon), war dies das erste Instrument, das als Basstuba bezeichnet wurde.

Dieses Instrument aus Messing war in F gestimmt und mit 5 Pumpventilen („Berliner Pumpen“) ausgestattet, wobei die ersten drei Ventile mit der rechten und die beiden restlichen mit der linken Hand gespielt wurden: Die Ventile 1 und 2 erniedrigten den Grundton um einen Ganz- bzw. Halbton bezogen auf die Grundstimmung F, Ventil 3 erniedrigte die Grundstimmung um eine Quart, nämlich von F nach C, Ventil 4 und 5 um einen Ganz- bzw. Halbton von C aus (großer Halb- bzw. Ganzton). Die relativ enge Bohrung ließ die tiefen Töne nicht stark klingen.

Wieprecht hat im Zuge der Reorganisation des preußischen Militärmusikwesens zwei Basstubas in jeder Kapelle eingeführt, was zur Verbreitung und Weiterentwicklung des Instrumentes beitrug. Das anfangs gängige dreiventilige Instrument konnte sich nicht durchsetzen, da es mit ihm nicht möglich war, die Lücke zwischen dem 1. und dem 2. Naturton zu schließen. In der Folge wurden Tubas mit 4 bis 6 Ventilen gebaut.

Die Koexistenz des Bombardon mit der Basstuba führte seinerzeit oft zu Verwechslungen. Hector Berlioz bezeichnete die Wieprecht’sche Tuba als Bombardon mit verbessertem Mechanismus und konstatierte, dass seine Klangfarbe der Ophikleide sehr ähnlich sei. In Frankreich war für die Tuba lange Zeit der Begriff ophicléide-à-pistons in Gebrauch. Zwei Merkmale zeichneten die Tuba aus: Die weite Bohrung und die Ventile, die neuen „Berliner Pumpen“. Zur Aufklärung der Verwirrung um die Bezeichnungen lässt sich Folgendes sagen: als Bombardon wurde das Bassinstrument in Militärkapellen bezeichnet, als Tuba das entsprechende Instrument im Symphonieorchester.

Mit der Einführung der Tuba war das Problem eines zufriedenstellenden Basses in der Militär-, und Blasmusik gelöst. Trotzdem fand sie eher schleppend Eingang in das Symphonieorchester.

Hector Berlioz beschreibt die Basstuba, die er auf einer Deutschlandtournee kennenlernte, folgendermaßen: Die Basstuba habe in Preußen die Ophikleide verdrängt; sie sei ein großes Blasinstrument mit 5 Drehventilen, was einen großen Umfang im tiefen Register ergebe. Die tiefen Töne seien verwischt, aber bei Oktavierung mit einer anderen Basstuba ergäbe dies einen enormen Reichtum an Resonanz. Im mittleren und oberen Register sei der Klang sehr edel, weniger flach als die Ophikleide, voll, vibrierend und passend zur Klangfarbe der Posaunen und Trompeten, denen die Tuba als Bass dient. Berlioz ist unter den Komponisten zu einem der ersten Tubafans geworden und hat in seinen Partituren fast ausnahmslos die Ophikleide durch die Basstuba ersetzt.

Nach und nach tauchte die Basstuba in verschiedenen Orchestern auf, ab Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts war sie in deutschen Orchestern weit verbreitet.

Bombardon

Bombardon

Gegenwart

Die heutigen Tubas haben eine starke konische Erweiterung von ca. 1:10 bis 1:20 vom Mundstück zum Schalltrichter. Aufgrund der weiten konischen Bohrung sprechen die Pedaltöne gut an. In der heutigen Praxis werden vor allem Instrumente mit 5 und 6 Ventilen verwendet – diese Zahl ist notwendig, um die volle chromatische Skala zu bekommen (11 Halbtonschritte nach unten) und eine saubere Intonation zu gewährleisten.

Bei der Orchestertuba ist der Schalltrichter nach oben gerichtet. Die Helikonform wird im Blasorchester oder in der Tanzmusik verwendet, das Sousaphon in amerikanischen Blasorchestern und in der Militärmusik.