AUDIO
  • Six Studies II - Andante (Tuba)
  • Six Studies VI - Allegro (Tuba)
  • The Tuba Express
  • Tuba Rhapsody

Open External Player
> INSTRUMENTOLOGY > BRASS > Bass tuba > Sound Combinations

Sound combinations

The bass tuba is a bass and contrabass instrument. One of its principal tasks is the doubling of other bass instruments, either in unison or an octave lower. Especially in tutti passages its role is to provide a firm fundamental bass. Forte pedal tones are generally played solo and are only combined with other instruments for pianissimo playing.

In especially large brass sections, for example with six or eight horns, two tubas are used, one of them playing the higher compass, the other the lower. In works which place particularly great demands on the tuba, two tuba players often share the task, relieving each other by turns.

Tuba + Brass instruments

Tuba + tuba
In brass bands the bass tuba often doubles with the contrabass tuba, playing an octave above it. This produces a massive sound.

Tuba + trumpet
Poor blending with the trumpet. The bass tuba serves as the bass to the brass.

Tuba + horn
Good tonal blend, since the tuba’s timbre is closely related to that of the horn. Often doubles the 4th horn.

Tuba + trombone
Are similar in force and complement each other, despite their disparate timbres. As bass voice to the trombones often plays the 4th trombone part. Doubles the 4th trombone. In keeping with its character the tuba also provides the bass voice for the entire brass ensemble.

Tuba + woodwinds

Tuba + flute, oboe
No tonal blend. In Benjamin Britten’s violin concerto the tuba and the piccolo play a solo.

Tuba + bassoon, contrabassoon
Doubling, also in octaves, of the bass voice with the contrabassoon.

Tuba + strings

Very good blend with the double-bass. The staccato is comparable to the pizzicato of the double-bass. In early phonograph recordings a bass tuba with a front-facing bell was used to double the double-bass, which improved the quality of the recording.

AUDIO
  • Six Studies II - Andante (Tuba)
  • Six Studies VI - Allegro (Tuba)
  • The Tuba Express
  • Tuba Rhapsody

Open External Player

Basstuba - Klangverbindungen

Die Basstuba ist sowohl ein Bass- als auch ein Kontrabassinstrument. Sie ist ein großer Verdoppler von anderen Bassinstrumenten: entweder im Unisono oder in der Unteroktave. Vor allem im Tutti liegt ihre Aufgabe darin, eine tragfähige Bassgrundierung zu bieten. Pedaltöne werden im Forte eher solistisch eingesetzt und nur im Pianissimo mit anderen Instrumenten kombiniert.

Bei besonders starker Bläserbesetzung, z.B. sechs oder acht Hörnern, werden zwei Tubas besetzt, wobei eine den hohen Bereich, die andere den tiefen übernimmt. Bei Werken, in denen die Tuba besonders viel gefordert wird, wechseln oft zwei Tubisten einander ab.

Tuba + Blechblasinstrumente

Tuba + Tuba
In der Blechblasmusik spielt die Basstuba mit der Kontrabasstuba oft in Oktaven, was eine massive Wirkung hat.

Tuba + Trompete
Wenig Verschmelzung mit der Trompete. Die Basstuba fungiert als Bass der Blechbläser.

Tuba + Horn
Gute Klangverschmelzung, da der Tubaklang mit dem Hornklang sehr verwandt ist. Verdoppelt oft das 4. Horn.

Tuba + Posaune
Haben eine ähnliches Klanggewicht und ergänzen sich, auch wenn sie sich in der Klangfarbe unterscheiden. Spielt als Bass der drei Posaunen oft den Part der 4. Posaune. Verdopplung der 4. Posaune. Ihrer Natur entsprechend spielt die Tuba auch den Bass des gesamten Blechblasensembles.

Tuba + Flöte, Oboe
Ergibt keine Klangverschmelzung. Im Violinkonzert von Benjamin Britten spielen die Tuba und die Piccoloflöte ein Solo.

Tuba + Fagott, Kontrafagott
Verdoppelung oder Oktavierung der Bassstimme gemeinsam mit dem Kontrafagott.

Tuba + Streichinstrumente

Sehr gute Verbindung mit dem Kontrabass. Das staccato ist mit dem pizzicato des Kontrabasses vergleichbar. Bei alten Schallplattenaufnahmen wurde eine Basstuba mit nach vorne gerichtetem Schallstück verwendet, welche die Kontrabassstimme verdoppelt hat. So konnte eine bessere Aufnahmequalität erzielt werden.