AUDIO
  • Bassoon sonata - 1st mvt.
  • Bassoon sonata - 3rd mvt.
  • "Rite of Spring" 1a Introduction
  • September Melody
  • Magic Box
  • Winter Soliloquy

Open External Player
> INSTRUMENTOLOGY > WOODWINDS > Bassoon > Sound Combinations

Sound Combinations

The fascination of the bassoon’s sound lies in two qualities:

On the one hand, it achieves a good blend with most of the other instruments in the orchestra, as does the horn; This capability to blend with the sound of other instruments allows the bassoon to merge with the overall sound of the orchestra as an unobtrusive bass voice.

On the other hand, the bassoon’s sound is also clearly defined and therefore suitable for thematic and solo tasks.

Bassoon and woodwinds

Bassoon + bassoon, contrabassoon
Produce a homogeneous, full-sounding and sonorous overall sound. In the orchestra of the Classical era it had become customary to use two bassoons which functioned purely as bass instruments. The bassoon retained this function in later styles, too, although it was increasingly entrusted with melodic tasks as well. Since the Romantic era a contrabassoon has been added to reinforce the sound an octave deeper and thus compensate for the increased volume of the larger orchestra.

Bassoon + flute
Produce an interesting combination. The flute often plays one or two octaves above the bassoon, but the two instruments can also play in unison in the flute’s low register.

Bassoon + oboe
In the woodwind group the oboe often plays an octave above the bassoon. Although the resulting sound is powerful and the instruments are related due to the double reed, no tonal blend is achieved. The bassoon is dominated by the more incisive and reedy sound of the oboe. The combination with the deep oboes, on the other hand – the English horn and the Heckelphone – is very homogeneous.

Bassoon + clarinet
When the bassoon plays in unison with the high woodwinds in their low registers, the sound is always dominated by the latter. With the clarinet playing an octave higher a mellow, substantial sound results. The mellow sound of the bass clarinet supports the bassoon in bass tasks in unison, in chords or an octave lower.

Bassoon and brass instruments

Bassoon + horn
The bassoon and the horn, which both possess an extremely mellow and full sound as solo instruments, produce an impressive volume when played in unison, which is particularly effective in tutti passages.
The two instruments also produce a homogeneous blend in chords.

Bassoon + trombone, tuba
The bassoon takes the edge off the trombone’s metallic timbre, making it more mellow, but is dominated by the trombones. The combination with trombones an octave above and tubas in unison or an octave below produces a mighty bass voice which is used especially to provide a solid bass foundation in passages scored for many instruments.

Bassoon and strings

In combination with the strings exceptionally velvety and voluminous blends are produced in which either the bassoon (or other woodwinds) or the strings can dominate, depending on the dynamic levels. The bassoon's staccato combines very well the strings' pizzicato.

Bassoon + cello
Combine to produce a powerful, mellow and sonorous overall sound in unison. Supported by the double-bass an octave below this is the standard combination for bass tasks.

Bassoon + double-bass
Full-sounding bass blend either in unison or with the bassoon an octave above. Staccato notes reinforce the double-bass’s pizzicato, legato notes “prolong” the pizzicato’s sustain.

AUDIO
  • Bassoon sonata - 1st mvt.
  • Fagottsonate - 3. Satz
  • "Rite of Spring" 1a Introduction
  • September Melody
  • Magic Box
  • Winter Soliloquy

Open External Player

Fagott - Klangverbindungen

Der Klang des Fagottes besticht durch zwei Fähigkeiten:

Einerseits wird – wie beim Horn – mit den meisten Orchesterinstrumenten ein hoher Grad an Klangverschmelzung erreicht. Diese Verschmelzungsfähigkeit erlaubt es dem Fagott, sich als unaufdringlicher Bass in den Orchesterklang einzufügen.

Andererseits zeichnet sich sein Klang durch klare Konturen aus, womit das Fagott auch für thematische und solistische Aufgaben geeignet ist.

Fagott und Holzblasinstrumente

Fagott + Fagott, Kontrafagott
Ergeben einen homogenen, vollen und sonoren Gesamtklang. Im Orchester der Klassischen Epoche hatte sich die Besetzung von 2 Fagotten etabliert, die reine Bassaufgaben erfüllten. Auch in späteren Stilen behielt das Fagott – neben zunehmend melodischen Aufgaben – diese Funktion. Seit der Romantik wird zusätzlich ein Kontrafagott als Verstärkung in der Unteroktave eingesetzt, um der Klangstärke des gewachsenen Orchesterapparates gerecht zu werden.

Fagott + Flöte
Ergeben eine interessante Klangverbindung. Die Flöte wird oft eine oder zwei Oktaven über dem Fagott geführt, aber auch ein Unisono im tiefen Flötenregister ist möglich.

Fagott + Oboe
Im Holzbläsersatz wird die Oboe oft eine Oktave über dem Fagott geführt. Dies ergibt einen kräftigen Klang, führt aber trotz ihrer Verwandtschaft aufgrund des Doppelrohrblattes zu keiner Klangverschmelzung. Der Fagottklang wird vom schärferen und nasalen Oboenklang dominiert. Die Verbindung mit den tiefen Oboen – dem Englisch Horn und Heckelphon – klingt dagegen sehr homogen.

Fagott + Klarinette
Wird das Fagott unisono mit den hohen Holzbläsern in ihren tiefen Registern kombiniert, so dominieren immer letztere. Mit der Klarinette in der Oberoktave ergibt sich ein weicher, gehaltvoller Klang. Der weiche Klang der Bassklarinette verstärkt das Fagott bei Bassaufgaben im Unisono, in Akkorden oder in der Unteroktave.

Fagott und Blechblasinstrumente

Fagott + Horn
Fagott und Horn, die beide im Solo schon sehr weich und voll klingen, ergeben im Unisono eine beeindruckende Klangfülle, die im Tutti gut zur Geltung kommt.
Auch in Akkorden verschmelzen beide Klänge zu einem homogenen Gesamtklang.

Fagott + Posaune, Tuba
Das Fagott macht den metallischen Klang der Posaunen weicher, wird aber von den Posaunen dominiert. Der Zusammenklang mit Posaunen in der Oberoktave und Tuba im Unisono – oder in der Unteroktave – ergibt eine massive Bassstimme, die besonders für tragfähige Basslinien bei groß besetzten Stellen verwendet wird.

Fagott und Streichinstrumente

Mit den Streichern ergeben sich äußerst geschmeidige und voluminöse Klangverbindungen, wobei je nach Dynamik entweder das Fagott (bzw. andere Holzblasinstrumente) oder die Streicher dominieren können. Eine sehr gute Wirkung hat das Fagott-Staccato mit dem Pizzicato der Streicher.

Fagott + Violoncello
Verschmelzung zu einem kraftvollen, weichen und sonoren Gesamtklang im Unisono. Verstärkt vom Kontrabass in der Unteroktave die Standard-Verbindung für Bassaufgaben.

Fagott + Kontrabass
Klangfüllende Wirkung in Bassfunktion – unisono oder mit dem Fagott in der Oberoktave. Staccato gespielte Töne verstärken das Kontrabass-Pizzicato, Legato-Töne verlängern quasi die Resonanz des Pizzicato.