AUDIO
  • Scherzo Brillante (Horn)
  • Vienna Horn Variations
  • Adagio and Toccata
  • Blue Danube Waltz - Horn solo
  • Horn meets Brass & Percussion

Open External Player
> INSTRUMENTOLOGY > BRASS > Horn in F > Brief Description

Brief description

horn_44x68.png

Viennese horn
German: Wiener Horn in F
French: Cor Viennois
Italian: Corno di Vienna


The tubing of the Viennese horn is 55% conical and narrower than the most commonly used double horn in F/Bb. The so-called F crook is not a fixed part of the Viennese horn but is detachable. Other tunings are used especially for natural horn parts.

The three valves are Viennese valves (twin-piston valves) and are operated by the 2nd, 3rd and 4th fingers of the left hand. In contrast to the Vienna horn the double horn in F/Bb has rotary valves with an optional additional stopping valve. The higher pitch that results from stopping on the Viennese horn is not compensated for by a stopping valve but by playing the note a half tone lower.

By placing his hand in the bell the player can make very subtle adjustments to the intonation. This intonation check, called stopping, is also what produces the typically soft and romantic sound of the French horn. Intonation can also be controlled by means of the embouchure (altering lip tension).

Vienna valve

The Vienna valve is a double-piston valve that was developed in 1830 by the Viennese Leopold Uhlmann in emulation of the first piston valve that was patented in 1818 by Blühmel and Stölzel. Nowadays the Viennese Horn is the sole instrument built with Viennese valves. It is used only in a few European orchestras, principally in Vienna itself by the Vienna Philharmonic among others.

Rotary valve

This valve was developed in Vienna by Joseph Riedl in 1835 and is now the most commonly used valve on brass instruments along with the Périnet or piston valve.

Stopping valve

An additional valve on the valve horn which lowers the instrument’s pitch by about a half tone. It is used to compensate for the rise in pitch caused by stopping.

Stopping

1. A playing technique on the natural horn from the middle of the 18th century. The horn player reduced the tube’s width by putting his right hand into the bell, which faced downward. The lowering of the horn’s pitch that this technique produced made it possible to play those intermediate notes of the natural harmonics series which had hitherto been missing. Stopping gave the horn a certain chromaticism. The stopped notes sounded weaker and muffled, however, and were therefore really only useful as transitional notes and not suitable for inclusion in melody lines. The use of stopping for the purposes of chromatization was rendered obsolete by the invention of valves.

2. An integral part of modern valve horn playing technique which should not be confused with stopping on the natural horn: the horn player inserts his right hand into the ball, the back of the hand lying against the tube. The air flows over the palm and out of the bell. By moving his wrist up and down the horn player alters the tube width very subtly, thus making very fine adjustments to the instrument’s intonation. It also plays a very important role in giving the valve horn its typical sound.

3. Total stopping: A modern playing technique on the valve horn. The bell is filled completely by the right fist, which is often wrapped in a cloth. This has the effect of projecting the sound not through the bell but through the closed and vibrating tube. Stopping raises the instrument’s pitch by about a half tone, which is compensated for by the stopping valve.

Classification
Aerophone, brass wind instrument

Material
Brass, gold brass, nickel silver

Mouthpiece
Funnel-shaped mouthpiece

Tubing
Length 3.7 m, coiled several times, predominantly conical, detachable F crook, length 105–120 cm

Bore
Narrow, inner diameter in cylindrical tubing approx. 10.8 mm

Valves
Three Vienna valves

Bell
Rim diameter 30.5 cm, widely flared and parabolically curved

AUDIO
  • Scherzo Brillante (Horn)
  • Vienna Horn Variations
  • Adagio and Toccata
  • Blue Danube Waltz - Horn solo
  • Horn meets Brass & Percussion

Open External Player

Horn in F - Kurzportrait

horn_44x68

Wiener Horn in F
Englisch: Viennese horn
Französisch: Cor Viennois
Italienisch: Corno di Vienna


Das Rohr des Wiener Horns verläuft zu 55 % konisch und ist durchgehend enger mensuriert als beim weltweit gebräuchlichsten Doppelhorn in F/B. Der sogenannte F-Bogen, der hinter dem Mundstück ansetzt und ungefähr 1/3 der Rohrlänge ausmacht, ist beim Wiener Horn nicht fix integriert, sondern auswechselbar – v.a. bei Naturhornparts werden auch andere Stimmungen verwendet.

Die drei Ventile sind Wiener Ventile (Doppelpumpenventile) und werden mit dem 2., 3. und 4. Finger der linken Hand bedient. Im Unterschied zum Wiener Horn besitzt das Doppelhorn in F/B Drehventile und wahlweise ein zusätzliches Stopfventil. Beim Wiener Horn gleicht der Hornist die Tonerhöhung, die beim Stopfen entsteht, nicht durch ein Stopfventil aus, sondern indem er den betreffenden Ton um einen Halbton tiefer spielt.

Durch Einführen der rechten Hand in das Schallstück werden die feinsten Intonations-Abstufungen kontrolliert. Diese Intonationskontrolle, die Deckung, ist auch verantwortlich für den typischen weichen und romantischen Waldhornklang. Zusätzlich kann der/die HornistIn die Intonation durch den Ansatz (Veränderung der Lippenspannung) kontrollieren.

Wiener Ventil

Das Wiener Ventil ist ein Doppelpumpenventil, das 1830 vom Wiener Leopold Uhlmann in Anlehnung an das 1818 von Blühmel und Stölzel patentierte erste Pump-Ventil entwickelt wurde. Heute ist das Wiener Horn das einzige Instrument, das mit Wiener Ventilen gebaut wird – ein Instrument, das hauptsächlich in Wien, u. a. bei den Wiener Philharmonikern, in Verwendung ist.

Drehventil

Auch: Zylinderventil. 1835 von Joseph Riedl in Wien entwickeltes Ventil, das heute neben dem Périnet- bzw. Pumpventil bei Blechblasinstrumenten weltweit am häufigsten verwendet wird.

Stopfventil

Zusätzliches Ventil beim Ventilhorn, das die Tonskala des Horns ca. um einen Halbton vertieft. Dadurch kann die beim Stopfen erzeugte Tonerhöhung wieder ausgeglichen werden.

Stopfen

1. Spielpraxis beim Naturhorn ab der Mitte des 18. Jahrhunderts. Durch Einführen der rechten Hand in das nach unten gerichtete Schallstück wurde das Rohr verengt. Durch die damit verbundene Absenkung der Horntöne konnten die in der Naturtonskala fehlenden Zwischentöne erzeugt werden. Das Horn erhielt durch das Stopfen eine gewisse Chromatik. Die gestopften Töne klangen jedoch schwächer und dumpfer und eigneten sich nur als Übergangstöne, nicht jedoch als tragende Melodietöne. Durch die Erfindung der Ventile kam die Stopftechnik zur Chromatisierung außer Gebrauch.

2. Nicht zu verwechseln mit dem Stopfen beim Naturhorn ist die Deckung – das Einführen der rechten Hand in das Schallstück beim Ventilhorn, das integraler Bestandteil der heutigen Spielpraxis ist. Dieses Verengen des Rohres dient zur Intonationskorrektur der einzelnen Töne und trägt maßgeblich zum Klangcharakter des Ventilhorns bei.

3. (Total-)Stopfen: Moderne Spieltechnik beim Ventilhorn. Verschließen des Schallstückes des Ventilhorns durch Einführen der rechten Faust, oft auch mit einem Tuch umwickelt. Der Schall wird dadurch nicht über das Schallstück abgestrahlt, sondern über das verschlossene, vibrierende Rohr nach außen übertragen. Das Stopfen verursacht eine Tonerhöhung von ca. einem Halbton, die durch das Stopfventil ausgeglichen wird.

Klassifikation
Aerophon, Polsterzungen-Instrument, Blechblasinstrument

Material
Messing, Goldmessing, Neusilber

Mundstück
Trichtermundstück

Rohr
Länge 370 cm, mehrfach kreisförmig gewunden, Verlauf überwiegend konisch
abnehmbarer F-Bogen, Länge 105–120 cm

Mensur
Eng, Innendurchmesser im zylindrischen Rohrverlauf ca. 10,8 mm.

Ventile
3 Wiener Doppelpumpen-Ventile (Senkung um 1, ½ und 1 ½ Töne)

Stürze
Randdurchmesser 30,5 cm, Schallstück weit ausladend und parabolisch geschwungen