AUDIO
  • Cimbasso concerto
  • Illusions (Cimbasso)
  • Solo for Cimbasso #1
  • Solo for Cimbasso #2

Open External Player

Products including
Cimbasso:


History

19th century – cimbasso describes the deepest brass voice

The term cimbasso emerged in Italy at the beginning of the 19th century and is probably an abbreviation of corno in basso (bass horn). Although the term was in everyday use among musicians, composers, conductors, publishers and instrument makers throughout the century, the meaning of cimbasso was clear only to the extent that it described nothing more or less than the voice below the trombones, the deepest brass voice in fact. This voice description was used consistently throughout the 19th century in Italy and is found in operatic scores from Bellini to Verdi and Puccini. However, the instruments that played this part differed over the course of time and from region to region.

61serpent_fagott_150x225.jpg

Serpent bassoon

At the beginning of the century the brass section’s bass voice was the province of the serpentone, often also called the corno di basso (bass horn). A more advanced version of this instrument came from England and was a kind of serpentone in the form of a bassoon, made of brass and with nine finger-holes. It had the same range as the earlier serpentone. At this time the term cimbasso described both types of serpentone. The instrument from England presumably found its way into orchestral music by way of military bands and stage music. It is known to have been used at La Scala in Milan between 1815 and 1820. Later, similar instruments of the same type were called “Russian bassoon” or “Austrian contrabassoon” in Italy: their body was made of wood, the bell of brass and the mouthpiece of horn. The six finger-holes and two keys enabled a range from C2 to G4. The timbre of these instruments was said to be pure and powerful.

From the 1830s onward the ophicleide, which had originated in France, gained popularity in Italy. The first models had keys, the later ones valves. The difference between the ophicleide and the bassoon-shaped bass horn – which remained in use as the cimbasso – was the fact that the former instrument was made of metal, only had keys and possessed a deeper range (to B1). Despite this the term cimbasso was also applied to the ophicleide. Verdi’s early operas in the 1840s thus featured a valved ophicleide which was described as a cimbasso (Oberto, 1839, Nabucco, 1842, Ernani, 1844).

In the years that followed, the bombardon became increasingly widespread in Italy. Over the years the bore of this bass instrument became wider and wider, while its construction and mechanism came to resemble the ophicleide so closely that the two instruments were barely distinguishable. The name cimbasso was therefore also used to describe the bombardon.

271_Ophikleide_200x300.jpg

Ophicleide

220_Bombardon_200x300.jpg

Bombardon (= Basshorn) in Eb, Vienna, Austria, August Heinr. Rott, between 1842 and 1846 (Museum of Musical Instruments, Schloss Kremsegg, Austria, Streitwieser collection)

holzbombardon_200x300.jpg

Wooden bombardon, anonymous, about 1850. Loan of the Heimatmuseum Bad Hall (Museum of Musical Instruments, Schloss Kremsegg, Austria, Streitwieser collection)

1881: the modern cimbasso appears

The trend toward imbuing bass instruments with an ever greater range and volume by means of increasingly wide bore profiles and a larger cone led in the mid-19th century to the construction of tuba-like instruments which had an entirely different timbre. Composers such as Verdi called for instruments with narrower bore profiles (e.g., in his opera Aida from 1871), because their timbre was better suited as the bass voice in a harmonic trombone section. This led to the birth in 1881 of the modern cimbasso. Giuseppe Verdi (1813–1901) inspired the Milanese instrument maker Pelitti to make a valved contrabass trombone with a bell facing forward. Although Verdi only ever wrote two scores specifically for this instrument after 1881 (Othello in 1887 and Falstaff in 1893) it nevertheless became traditional to perform the deepest brass part, including the 4th trombone in Verdi’s earlier operas, on the “new cimbasso”. In fact, this tradition has now spread to encompass other Italian operas such as those by Gaetano Donizetti (1797–1848) and Vincenzo Bellini (1801–1835).

AUDIO
  • Cimbassokonzert
  • Illusions (Cimbasso)
  • Cimbasso Demo 1
  • Solo for Cimbasso 2

Open External Player

Cimbasso
ist enthalten in den Produkten:


Cimbasso - Geschichte

19. Jahrhundert – Cimbasso als Bezeichnung der tiefsten Bläserstimme

Der Ausdruck cimbasso entstand zu Beginn des 19. Jahrhunderts in Italien – wahrscheinlich als Abkürzung für die Bezeichnung corno in basso (Basshorn). Obwohl cimbasso während des ganzen Jahrhunderts als Ausdruck im täglichen Gebrauch zwischen Musikern, Komponisten, Dirigenten, Verlegern und Instrumentenbauern zu finden ist, ist seine Bedeutung nur insofern eindeutig, als cimbasso einfach die Stimme unter den Posaunenstimmen, also die tiefste Bläserstimme, bezeichnete. Diese Bezeichnung als Stimme war während des ganzen Jahrhunderts in Italien konstant und findet sich in Opernpartituren von Bellini über Verdi bis Puccini. Allein die Instrumente, die diese Stimme ausführten, wechselten im Laufe der Zeit und von Region zu Region.

Serpent-Fagott

Serpent-Fagott

Zu Beginn des Jahrhunderts war dem serpentone, oft auch corno di basso (Basshorn) genannt, die Bassstimme der Bläsergruppe zugedacht. Eine aus England importierte Weiterentwicklung dieses Instruments war eine Art des serpentone in Fagottform mit neun Grifflöchern und aus Messing gefertigt. Sein Tonumfang entsprach dem alten serpentone. In dieser Zeit war der Begriff cimbasso Synonym für beide Arten des serpentone. Vermutlich ist das aus England stammende Instrument über das Militärmusikwesen und die Bühnenmusik in das Orchester vorgedrungen. Zwischen 1815 und 1820 ist es in der Mailänder Scala nachweisbar. Ähnliche Instrumente derselben Art sind in Italien später auch „Russisches Fagott“ oder „Österreichisches Kontrafagott“ genannt worden: Ihr Korpus war aus Holz, das Schallstück aus Messing, das Mundstück aus Horn. Die sechs Grifflöcher und zwei Klappen ermöglichten einen Tonumfang von C bis g1. Diese Instrumente sollen einen reinen und kräftigen Ton gehabt haben.

Ab den 30er Jahren breitete sich in Italien die aus Frankreich stammende Ophikleide aus, zuerst mit Klappen versehen, dann mit Ventilen. Der Unterschied zum Serpent in Fagottform – das als cimbasso in Gebrauch blieb – war der, dass die Ophikleide aus Metall war, nur Klappen aufwies und einen tieferen Tonumfang hatte (bis H1). Trotzdem wurde der alte Name cimbasso auch auf die Ophikleide angewandt. Die frühen Verdi-Opern in den 40er Jahren wurden demnach mit einer als cimbasso bezeichneten Ventilophikleide ausgeführt („Oberto“ 1839, „Nabucco“ 1842, „Ernani“ 1844).

In den folgenden Jahren breitete sich in Italien der Bombardon aus, ein Bassinstrument, dessen Mensur im Lauf der Zeit immer weiter wurde. Gleichzeitig glichen sich die Ophikleide und der Bombardon in ihrer Bauweise einander an, so dass sie kaum unterscheidbar waren. Der Ausdruck Cimbasso ging so auch auf den Bombardon über.

Ophikleide

Ophikleide

Bombardon

Bombardon (= Basshorn) in Es (hohe Stimmung), Wien, Österreich, August Heinr. Rott, zwischen 1842/46. (Musikinstrumentenmuseum Schloss Kremsegg, Austria, Sammlung Streitwieser)

Holzbombardon

Holzbombardon, anonym, ca. Mitte 19. Jhdt. Leihgabe: Heimatmuseum Bad Hall. (Musikinstrumentenmuseum Schloss Kremsegg, Austria, Sammlung Streitwieser)

1881: Geburt des modernen Cimbasso

Die Tendenz, den Umfang und das Volumen der Bassinstrumente durch immer weitere Mensuren und einen größeren Konus zu erhöhen, führte seit Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts zum Bau von tubaähnlichen Instrumenten mit gänzlich anderer Klangfarbe. Komponisten wie Verdi verlangten aber aus klanglichen Gründen nach enger mensurierten Instrumenten (z.B. für seine Oper „Aida“ 1871), da diese sich besser als Bassstimme in einen harmonischen Posaunensatz eingefügt hatten. Dies führte im Jahre 1881 zur Geburt des modernen Cimbasso. Giuseppe Verdi inspirierte den Mailänder Instrumentenbauer Pelitti zur Konstruktion einer Ventil-Kontrabassposaune mit nach vorn gebogenem Schallstück. Für dieses konkrete Instrument hat Giuseppe Verdi (1813–1901) nach 1881 eigentlich nur zwei Partien geschrieben: „Otello“ (1887) und „Falstaff“ (1893). Trotzdem hat sich die Tradition etabliert, die tiefste Bläserstimme, die 4. Posaune auch der früheren Opern von Verdi mit dem „neuen Cimbasso“ auszuführen. Diese Tradition erstreckt sich heute auch auf andere italienische Opern wie die von Gaetano Donizetti (1797–1848) und Vincenzo Bellini (1801–1835).