AUDIO
  • Spring
  • Le Temps d'un Reve
  • Jour d'été à la montagne
  • Shintoku Forest Wind (Flute)
  • Syrinx (Flute)
  • Flute virtuoso

Open External Player

History

The flute is one of the oldest musical instruments of all and is regarded as the first ever wind instrument. It has been in use at least since the Stone Age.

Flute playing has a particularly long tradition in the Orient. The Sumerians and Egyptians were among the first to add three or four finger-holes to their bamboo flutes, which enabled them to produce several notes.

The Ancient Greeks also had quite sophisticated flutes, which were blown at the open upper end and had six finger-holes. However, the flute was regarded as an instrument of the common man and as such was held in scant regard. In contrast, the aulos , a distant precursor of the oboe, was always associated with high social standing.

The flutes used in today’s orchestras are transverse flutes, as opposed to the Greeks’ end-blown flutes and the (modern) recorder. The first evidence of the use of transverse flutes in Europe comes from Etruscan iconographs from the 4th to the 1st centuries BC. Side-blown flutes were also known to the Romans.

The Middle Ages and the Renaissance – drums and consorts

Between the fall of Rome and the 11th century no evidence is known to exist for the use of transverse flutes. It is probable that the instrument returned to the West from the Orient by way of the Byzantine Empire. The transverse flute of the Middle Ages was made of a single piece of wood and had six finger-holes. It was used in military contexts and was even played at court. Traveling minstrels acquainted their audiences with it all over Europe, and since they originally came from Germany the instrument also became known as the fistula Germanica. It was usually accompanied by a drum.

In the 16th century the flute consort, an ensemble consisting of three different-sized transverse flutes, became an established part of musical practice. At the same time broken consorts, ensembles combining various instruments such as the viol, lute and flute, were also popular.

The most common flute was in D and had a range of D4–D6 (which could be extended if the player was skillful enough). Since the instrument was tuned to D the notes of other keys could only be produced either by half covering the finger-holes or by using cross-fingerings. This gave the instrument a certain chromaticism but meant that intonation remained uncertain, which placed the flute at a disadvantage compared to the other woodwinds.

Baroque – the sound ideal remains unattainable

From the middle of the 17th century the flute underwent several sweeping changes. From 1660 onward it consisted of three separate parts: the cylindrical headjoint, the body with six finger-holes, and the footjoint. The body and footjoint were conical. An additional hole was added to the footjoint and fitted with a key to make D# playable. These innovations, which probably originated from the Hotteterres, a French flute-making family, represent the start of the development of the transverse flute as we know it.

In 1681 a Hotteterre flute with a range of 2½ octaves (D4–G6) was used in Jean-Baptiste Lully’s (1632–1687) opera orchestra, its first appearance in an orchestra of this type. Its wide range and brilliant timbre meant that the transverse flute soon became a serious rival to the recorder.

The recorder (or fistula Anglica), an end-blown instrument, had originated in England and gained popularity in Europe at the same time as the transverse flute, becoming established as an orchestral instrument. But from the middle of the 18th century the description flauto in musical scores no longer referred to the end-blown recorder but the transverse flute (which had hitherto been described as the flauto traverso).

The sound quality of the baroque transverse flute was still far from homogeneous and consistent, however. The irregularities in its range and the subsidiary notes which resulted from the use of cross-fingerings and had a different timbre were felt to be irksome in modulations. If it was possible to compensate for the shortcomings of the baroque flute’s intonation then only by means of exceptional virtuosity.

The common practice of changing the body only accentuated these problems; to achieve a different tuning it had become customary to insert either a longer or shorter body, but no change was made to the arrangement of the finger-holes, which would have been necessary to accommodate the instrument’s altered acoustic properties. The introduction of the exchangeable body is attributed to the virtuoso flutist Pierre Gabriel Buffardin (ca. 1690–1768).

Efforts to improve the transverse flute soon spread from France to other countries. The Prussian flutist and composer Johann J. Quantz (1697–1773), Frederick the Great’s flute teacher, studied the intonation problems of the instrument in great detail, later becoming a flute maker himself. He invented the tuning slide, experimented with various shapes and sizes of tone hole and added another key. These improvements, along with his treatise “Versuch einer Anweisung, die Flöte traversiere zu spielen” (An Essay on Instruction in the Art of Playing the Transverse Flute), published in Berlin in 1752, and his approximately 400 compositions for the instrument (chiefly concertos for flute and strings) boosted its popularity and brought it to the attention of ever more composers.

Modulation

In harmonic theory the passage from one key to another is called modulation. Such changes have been customary since the 17th century and have developed into an important factor in the harmonic structuring of pieces of music.
Modulation can be so smooth as to be almost imperceptible, or abrupt; between the two extremes every degree of change from a key of departure to an arrival key has been tried out.

One of the most common – and smoothest – types of modulation is diatonic modulation. This works between related keys, i.e. between keys which have one or more triads in common. The different functions of a triad common to the key of departure and the arrival key are used as follows: the triad, which has a specific function (e.g. subdominant) in the key of departure, is simply allotted the function (e.g. dominant) that it will have in the arrival key. The feeling of having reached the arrival key is strengthened by a cadence.

In physics modulation describes the change wrought on a carrier by a second wave (modulator). If a very high and constant frequency is influenced by a second frequency, it is termed frequency modulation (FM); if a constant amplitude is used and an influence exerted on it, it is termed amplitude modulation (AM). FM has been used in synthesizer technology since the early 1980s, a technique which enables the production of characteristic sounds containing many overtones. Vibrato and tremolo are also based on the principle of physical modulation.

The classical keyed flute

By the end of the 18th century the transverse flute had firmly established itself as an orchestral instrument. Conversely, it had steadily lost importance as a solo and chamber music instrument from the 1750s onward. Many composers were of the opinion that the flute was no longer able to cope with the latest harmonic and formal developments; in addition, the shift of the audience from courtly to bourgeois circles – and thus from small, intimate rooms to large concert halls – resulted in the advent of an entirely new sound ideal, which required, among other things, a more powerful sound.

But despite permanent attempts to improve the transverse flute’s sound and structure it proved quite impossible to achieve anything like a standard form until well into the 19th century.

283_Querfloete_237x158.jpg

Traverse flute, France, 19th century (Musikinstrumentenmuseum Schloss Kremsegg, Austria, Collection Streitwieser)

In the mid-18th century instrument makers in London added three more keys, thus rendering cross-fingerings virtually obsolete. In addition they reintroduced the C footjoint, which had already been in use at the beginning of the century. These changes signaled the start of a period during which the transverse flute was equipped with an ever larger number of keys.

At the turn of the 19th century, instruments with eight keys were standard, the first such flute being devised by the flutist Johann G. Tromlitz (1726–1805). Flutes with more than eight or nine keys were the exception rather than the rule. The keys did not do much to improve the sound quality, and led to more complicated fingerings into the bargain.

The Romantic period – Boehm revolutionizes flute construction

It was not until 1830 that a solution appeared to be on the way at last. The flutist of the court orchestra in Munich, Theobald Boehm (1794–1881), began to develop a new and comprehensive concept for the construction of flutes. Inspired by the attempts made by some of his peers to redesign the instrument, he began an intensive study of the key work and the size and shape of the tone holes. He also incorporated the ideas of other flute makers into his work, especially the ring keys patented in 1808 by Reverend Frederick Nolan and the principle of attaining a more powerful sound by means of larger tone holes, an idea that Tromlitz had already experimented with.

In 1832 Boehm constructed a transverse flute with tone holes which, for the first time, were arranged according to acoustic criteria rather than ease of fingering; these criteria were based on his own arithmetical calculations and experiments. In addition he created an entirely new key work, linking the keys by means of movable axles. The Boehm mechanism required a new fingering, but this actually proved to be less complicated than previous fingerings.

In 1847 Boehm presented an improved flute with cylindrical tubing and a parabolically conical headjoint – a revolution in instrument-making of the time.

The new flute also included an improved key work which featured the pin springs patented in 1839 by Louis-Auguste Buffet. Boehm added felt pads to the key cups to prevent the escape of air. He changed the shape of the embouchure, which hitherto had been oval or round, to a rectangle with rounded corners. The material he chose was German silver, to which he ascribed the best acoustic properties.

The Boehm flute was received with enthusiasm in France, England and the USA. It was awarded many prizes, including one at the World Exhibition in Paris in 1855. In Boehm’s home country, however, his instrument was greeted with a good deal of skepticism, a feeling echoed in Italy and Russia. These misgivings were due mainly to the new fingering, which flutists in these three countries were reluctant to accept. One prominent opponent of the Boehm flute was Richard Wagner, who described it disparagingly as a “blunderbuss”, presumably on account of its unusually powerful sound. Several instrument makers subsequently tried to make a model to rival the Boehm flute, but it was the latter’s form that ultimately gained general acceptance.

Present day – new facets, new playing techniques

Modern flutes are still made using the Boehm mechanism, which underwent only very slight modifications and improvements during the 19th and 20th centuries.

Once a technically complete flute with a satisfactory timbre had established itself, the amount of solo literature for the instrument increased dramatically. Composers began to explore the limits of the instrument, and experiments with different tone colors and means of articulation resulted in a whole new palette of playing techniques.

AUDIO
  • Spring
  • Le Temps d'un Reve
  • Jour d'été à la montagne
  • Shintoku Forest Wind (Soloflöte)
  • Syrinx (Soloflöte)
  • Flöte virtuos

Open External Player

Große Flöte - Geschichte

Die Flöte ist eines der ältesten Musikinstrumente und gilt als das älteste Blasinstrument. Sie ist zumindest seit der Steinzeit in Gebrauch.

Das Flötenspiel hat besonders im Orient eine lange Tradition. Die Sumerer und Ägypter brachten auf ihren Bambusflöten bereits 3 bis 4 Grifflöcher an und konnten so mehrere Töne erzeugen.

Im Altertum war der Flötenbau bei den Griechen hochentwickelt: Ihre Instrumente, die am offenen oberen Ende angeblasen wurden, hatten bereits 6 Grifflöcher. Die Flöte genoss jedoch als Instrument des einfachen Volkes kein Ansehen – im Gegensatz dazu ging der Aulos , ein ferner Vorläufer der Oboe, mit sozialem Status einher.

Die heute im Orchester verwendeten Flöten sind Querflöten – im Unterschied zu den Längsflöten der Griechen oder der (modernen) Blockflöte. Erste Belege für Querflöten in Europa stammen von etruskischen Ikonografien aus dem 4.–1. Jahrhundert v. Chr. Auch die Römer kannten quergeblasene Flöten.

Mittelalter und Renaissance – von Trommeln und Consorts

Nach dem Fall Roms tauchen Belege für die Querflöte, auch Traversflöte genannt, erst im 11. Jahrhundert wieder auf. Höchstwahrscheinlich war sie aus dem Orient über das byzantinische Reich in den Westen gekommen. Die mittelalterliche Querflöte wurde aus einem Stück Holz gefertigt und hatte 6 Grifflöcher. Diese Querpfeife wurde beim Militär eingesetzt und sogar bei Hofe gespielt. Fahrende Spielleute verbreiteten die Querflöte von Deutschland aus (daher hieß sie auch fistula Germanica) in ganz Europa. Sie wurde meist zusammen mit einer Trommel gespielt.

Im 16. Jahrhundert wurde das Flötenconsort, ein Flötenensemble bestehend aus drei Querflöten verschiedener Größen, fixer Bestandteil der Musizierpraxis. Daneben etablierten sich gemischte Consorts, d.h. Ensembles mehrerer Instrumente wie z.B. Viola, Laute und Querflöte.

Die gebräuchlichste Querflöte war die Querflöte in D mit einem Tonumfang von d1–d3 (dieser konnte mit einiger Geschicklichkeit noch ausgeweitet werden). Da das Instrument in D gestimmt war, konnten die Töne anderer Tonarten nur durch halbes Abdecken der Grifflöcher oder durch Gabelgriffe gespielt werden. Das Instrument erhielt dadurch zwar eine gewisse Chromatik, behielt aber eine unreine Intonation. Dies benachteiligte die Querflöte gegenüber den anderen Holzblasinstrumenten.

Barock – das Klangideal bleibt unerreicht

Ab der Mitte des 17. Jahrhunderts wurde die Querflöte mehrmals gravierend umgestaltet. Ab 1660 fügte man sie aus drei Teilen zusammen: dem zylindrischen Kopfstück, dem Mittelstück mit 6 Grifflöchern sowie dem Fuß. Mittelstück und Fuß verliefen konisch. Am Fuß wurde ein weiteres Tonloch (zur Erzeugung des Dis) angebracht und mit einer Klappe ausgestattet. Diese Veränderungen, die vermutlich auf Initiative der französischen Instrumentenbauerfamilie Hotteterre erfolgten, bedeuteten den Beginn der eigentlichen Entwicklung der Querflöte.

1681 wurde erstmals eine Hotteterre-Flöte mit einem Tonumfang von 2½ Oktaven (d1–g3) im Opernorchester des  Jean-Baptiste Lully (1632–1687) verwendet. Aufgrund ihres großen Tonumfanges und des brillianten Klanges machte die Querflöte im Orchester bald der Schnabelflöte Konkurrenz.

Die Schnabelflöte oder Fistula Anglica (sie hatte sich zuerst im englischen Raum ausgebreitet) war eine Längsflöte, die zur selben Zeit wie die Querflöte nach Europa gekommen war und sich im Orchester etabliert hatte. In den Partituren ab der Mitte des 18. Jahrhunderts bezeichnete flauto aber nicht mehr die Schnabelflöte, sondern die Querflöte (davor flauto traverso).

Von einer homogenen und ausgeglichenen Klangqualität war die barocke Querflöte jedoch noch weit entfernt: Die Unregelmäßigkeiten in der Tonskala und die – durch Gabelgriffe erzeugten – chromatischen Zwischentöne mit ihrer abweichenden Klangfarbe wurden in Modulationen als störend empfunden. Die Intonationsprobleme der Barockflöte konnten, wenn überhaupt, nur durch ausgesprochene Virtuosität überspielt werden.

Die gängige Praxis, das Mittelstück der Flöte auszutauschen, verstärkte diese Problematik. Je nach gewünschter Stimmung wurde ein längeres oder kürzeres Mittelstück eingesetzt, ohne jedoch die Lage der Grifflöcher den veränderten akustischen Gegebenheiten anzupassen. Die Einführung des austauschbaren Mittelstückes (corps de réchange) wird dem Flötenvirtuosen Pierre Gabriel Buffardin (ca. 1690–1768) zugeschrieben.

Die von Frankreich ausgehenden Versuche, die Querflöte zu verbessern, setzten sich auch andernorts fort: Der preußische Flötist und Komponist Johann J. Quantz (1697–1773), Lehrer Friedrichs des Großen, beschäftigte sich intensiv mit den Intonationsproblemen und wurde so selbst zum Flötenbauer. Er erfand den Stimmzug, experimentierte mit Form und Größe der Tonlöcher und fügte der Flöte eine weitere Klappe hinzu. Diese Verbesserungen sowie sein Lehrwerk „Versuch einer Anweisung, die Flöte traversière zu spielen“ (Berlin 1752) und seine an die 400 Kompositionen für Querflöte (hauptsächlich Konzerte für Flöte und Streicher) erhöhten die Popularität des Instrumentes und rückten es vermehrt ins Augenmerk der Komponisten.

Modulation 

In der Harmonielehre wird der Übergang von einer Tonart in eine andere als Modulation bezeichnet. Solche Übergänge sind in der Musik seit dem 17. Jahrhundert üblich und entwickelten sich im Verlauf der Musikgeschichte zu einem wichtigen Faktor im harmonischen Aufbau von Musikstücken.
Die Modulation kann von unmerklich gleitend bis ruckartig erfolgen, dazwischen sind alle Abstufungen des Übergangs von einer Ausgangs- in eine Zieltonart erprobt worden.

Eine der häufigsten – und sanftesten – Modulationsarten ist die diatonische Modulation, sie funktioniert zwischen verwandten Tonarten, d.h. zwischen Tonarten, die einen oder mehrere gemeinsame Dreiklänge aufweisen. Die verschiedenen Funktionen eines gemeinsamen Dreiklanges in der Ausgangs- und in der Zieltonart werden folgendermaßen ausgenutzt: Dem Dreiklang, der in der Ausgangstonart eine bestimmte Funktion (z.B. Subdominante) hat, wird einfach die Funktion zugeschrieben, die er in der Zieltonart haben wird (z.B. Dominante). Man nennt diesen Vorgang Umdeutung. Das Gefühl, in der Zieltonart angekommen zu sein, wird durch eine Kadenz verstärkt.

In der Physik bezeichnet Modulation die Veränderung, die eine Trägerwelle (carrier) durch eine zweite Welle (modulator) erfährt: Wird eine sehr hohe gleichbleibende Frequenz durch eine zweite Frequenz beeinflusst, spricht man von Frequenzmodulation (FM); wird eine gleichbleibende Amplitude als Träger verwendet und beeinflusst, spricht man von Amplitudenmodulation (AM). Die FM wird seit den frühen 80er Jahren in der Synthesizertechnologie eingesetzt. Mit dieser Technik lassen sich charakteristische, obertonreiche Klänge erzeugen. Auf dem Prinzip der physikalischen Modulation beruhen auch das Vibrato und das Tremolo.

Die klassische Klappenflöte

Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts hatte sich die Querflöte einen festen Platz im Orchester erobert. Ihre Bedeutung als Solo- und Kammermusikinstrument schwand jedoch seit der Mitte des Jahrhunderts: In den Augen vieler Komponisten konnte die Querflöte einerseits den harmonischen und formalen Entwicklungen nicht mehr gerecht werden; andererseits brachte die Verlagerung des Publikums von höfischen in bürgerliche Kreise – vom intimen Zimmer zum großen Konzertsaal – ein völlig neues Klangideal mit sich, das u. a. einen kräftigeren Ton forderte.

Trotz der permanenten Versuche, die Querflöte klanglich und technisch zu verbessern, konnte sich bis weit ins 19. Jahrhundert hinein keine auch nur annähernd einheitliche Bauweise etablieren.

Querflöte, 19. Jahrhundert

Querflöte, Frankreich, 19. Jahrhundert (Musikinstrumentenmuseum Schloss Kremsegg, Austria, Sammlung Streitwieser)

Um die Mitte des 18. Jahrhunderts fügten Londoner Instrumentenbauer dem Instrument drei weitere Klappen hinzu und eliminierten so fast sämtliche Gabelgriffe. Außerdem führten sie das C-Fußstück wieder ein – dieses war zu Anfang des Jahrhunderts schon in Gebrauch gewesen. Sie läuteten eine Periode des Flötenbaus ein, in der die Querflöte immer mehr Klappen erhielt.

Anfang des 19. Jahrhunderts wurden 8-klappige Instrumente zum Standard – eine solche Flöte war zuerst vom Flötisten Johann G. Tromlitz (1726–1805) ersonnen worden. Flöten mit mehr als 8 oder 9 Klappen blieben die Ausnahme. Die Klappen verbesserten die Klangqualität nicht wesentlich und verkomplizierten außerdem die Griffweise.

Romantik – Böhm revolutioniert den Flötenbau

Eine Lösung kam erst um 1830 in Sicht, als der Flötist der Münchner Hofkapelle, Theobald Böhm (1794–1881), ein umfassendes neues Konstruktionskonzept für die Flöte zu entwickeln begann. Angeregt durch die Umgestaltungsversuche einiger Zeitgenossen beschäftigte er sich intensiv mit dem Klappenmechanismus sowie mit Größe und Lage der Tonlöcher. In seine Arbeit flossen auch Ideen anderer Flötenbauer ein, insbesondere die vom Pfarrer Frederick Nolan 1808 patentierten Ringklappen sowie das Prinzip des kräftigeren Klanges durch größere Tonlöcher, mit dem sich schon Tromlitz beschäftigt hatte.

1832 konstruierte Böhm, basierend auf eigenen mathematischen Berechnungen und Experimenten, eine Querflöte, deren Tonlöcher erstmals nach akustischen, nicht mehr nur nach grifftechnischen, Kriterien angebracht waren. Zudem schuf er einen völlig neuartigen Klappenmechanismus, indem er die Klappen durch bewegliche Achsen koppelte. Das Böhm’sche Klappensystem brachte eine neue Griffweise mit sich, die sich jedoch unkomplizierter gestaltete als die herkömmliche.

1847 stellte Böhm eine verbesserte Flöte mit zylindrischem Rohr und parabolisch-konischem Kopfstück vor – eine Revolution im damaligen Instrumentenbau.

Zusätzlich hatte die neue Flöte eine verbesserte Klappenmechanik, die die von Louis-Auguste Buffet 1839 patentierten Nadelfedern mit einbezog. Die Klappendeckel versah Böhm mit Filzpolstern, damit keine Luft entweichen konnte. Das Mundloch, das vorher oval oder rund war, gestaltete er nun als langes Rechteck mit abgerundeten Ecken. Als Material wählte er deutsches Silber, dem er die besten Klangeigenschaften zuschrieb.

Die Böhm-Flöte wurde in Frankreich, England und den USA begeistert angenommen. Sie erhielt u.a. einen Preis auf der Weltausstellung in Paris 1855. In Böhms Heimat stieß sie zunächst auf Skepsis, ebenso wie in Italien und Russland, hauptsächlich deswegen, weil die Flötisten die neue Griffweise ablehnten. Ein prominenter Gegner der Böhm-Flöte war auch Richard Wagner, der sie – wohl aufgrund ihres ungewohnt kräftigen Klanges – mit dem Schimpfnahmen „Gewaltröhre“ bedachte. In Folge bemühten sich einige Instrumentenbauer, der Böhm-Flöte ihr eigenes Modell entgegenzustellen – die Bauweise Böhms setzte sich jedoch auf lange Sicht durch.

Gegenwart – neue spieltechnische Facetten

Noch heute wird die Querflöte nach dem Böhm’schen System gebaut, das im 19. und 20. Jahrhundert immer wieder geringfügig modifiziert und verbessert wurde.

Durch die Etablierung einer technisch ausgereiften und klanglich zufriedenstellenden Querflöte wuchs im 20. Jahrhundert die Sololiteratur gewaltig an. Komponisten fingen an, die Grenzen des Instrumentes neu auszuloten. Experimente mit Klangfarben und neuen Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten führten zu einer wesentlichen Erweiterung der Spieltechniken.