AUDIO
  • Magnificent Journey (Contrabass trombone)
  • Solo for Contrabass trombone

Open External Player

History

In the 16th century there was an octave trombone (trombone doppio = double trombone), which was tuned to an octave below the tenor trombone. The enormous length of the slides (the tube was around 6 m long) meant that only slow playing was possible. Attempts to divide the slide into four parts (a double U), thus halving its length – a single slide movement doubled the length of the tube – had been made as early as the 16th century, but had no role to play in baroque or classical music.

It was this double U system that was called the “double slide” or “double trombone”.

But it was not until 1816 that a double trombone in F was designed by the German Gottfried Weber (and actually made by Halary in Paris in 1830), which shortened the slides to such a degree that they were even shorter than the old bass trombone. This shortening was a significant step forward.

In Berlin in around 1860 C. A. Moritz made a double-slide contrabass trombone in Bb (with no additional valve) for Richard Wagner, who was the first to give the instrument an important role, which he did in the Ring. Composers such as Giuseppe Verdi (Aida, 1871; Requiem, 1874), Giacomo Puccini (La Bohème, 1896), Richard Strauss and Arnold Schoenberg (Gurrelieder, 1911) wrote ever deeper parts for the 4th trombone, which could ultimately only be played by the contrabass trombone.

128_Doppelzugposaune_220x146.jpg

Double slide trombone in F (low tuning), presumably from Markneukirchen, Germany, ca. 1820/30 (Musikinstrumentenmuseum Schloss Kremsegg, Austria, Streitwieser collection)

What all of these works have in common is a large trombone section and vocal parts. The principal task of the contrabass trombone was to provide sufficient volume for a stable and supportive foundation to the four-part trombone section while blending with its homogeneous overall sound, which was something the tuba could not do.

In 1921 Ernst Dehmel used the principles of the tenor-bass trombone to make the improved version of the contrabass trombone which is still customary today: a bass trombone in F1 with two valves (Eb1 and Bb0), which can be opened either singly or together. When both are opened together the pitch is lowered to Ab0 (a fifth plus a major second). In technical terms this combination of the bass and contrabass trombones corresponds to the system developed by C. F. Sattler in Leipzig in 1839. Other valves such as the Eb and C valves have subsequently also gained acceptance. The double slide system is therefore no longer usual today.

AUDIO
  • Magnificent Journey (Contrabass trombone)
  • Solo for Contrabass trombone

Open External Player

Kontrabassposaune - Geschichte

Im 16. Jahrhundert gab es eine Oktavposaune (trombone doppio = doppelte Posaune), deren Stimmung eine Oktave unter der Tenorposaune lag. Die enormen Zuglängen (die Rohrlänge betrug etwa 6 Meter) erlaubten nur ein langsames Spielen. Versuche, den Zug aus vier Rohrteilen zu bilden (ein doppeltes U) und solcherart die Zuglängen zu halbieren – mit jeder Zugbewegung konnte eine doppelte Rohrverlängerung erzielt werden –, waren bereits im 16. Jahrhundert bekannt, spielten aber im Barock und in der Klassik keine Rolle.

Das Prinzip der doppelten U-Form nannte man Doppelzug oder Doppelposaune.

Erst der Deutsche Gottfried Weber konzipierte im Jahre 1816 eine Doppelposaune in F (1830 von Halary in Paris gebaut), die eine Verkürzung der Zuglängen sogar gegenüber der alten Bassposaune erlaubte. Diese Verkürzung bedeutete einen wesentlichen Fortschritt in der Spielpraxis.

C.A. Moritz baute um 1860 in Berlin eine Doppelzug-Kontrabassposaune in B (ohne Zusatzventil) für Richard Wagner, der diesem Instrument im „Ring“ zum ersten Mal wichtige Aufgaben zuwies. In der Folge führten Komponisten wie Giuseppe Verdi („Aida“, 1871; „Requiem“, 1874), Giacomo Puccini („La Bohème“, 1896), Richard Strauss und Arnold Schönberg („Gurre-Lieder“, 1911) die Stimme der 4. Posaune in immer tiefere Regionen, so dass sie nur mehr von der Kontrabassposaune bewältigt werden konnten.

Doppelzugposaune

Doppelzugposaune in F (tiefe Stimmung), vermutl. aus Markneukirchen, Deutschland, ca. 1820/30 (Musikinstrumentenmuseum Schloss Kremsegg, Austria, Sammlung Streitwieser)

Allen diesen Werken ist eine große Besetzung mit Sängerbeteiligung gemeinsam. Die Aufgabe der Kontrabassposaune war es vor allem, durch das nötige Volumen eine stabile und tragfähige Grundierung des 4-stimmigen Posaunensatzes zu bilden und (anders als die Tuba) sich in den homogenen Gesamtklang der Posaunengruppe einzufügen.

Ernst Dehmel verwendete 1921 zur Konstruktion einer verbesserten Kontrabassposaune das Prinzip der Tenorbassposaune, das bis heute üblich ist: eine Bassposaune in F, versehen mit 2 Ventilen (Es und in B), die jedes für sich oder gemeinsam geöffnet werden können. Beide gemeinsam senken die Stimmung auf As (eine Quint plus eine große Sekund). Diese Kombination von Bass- und Kontrabassposaune entspricht technisch dem von C.F. Sattler 1839 in Leipzig entwickelten System. Auch andere Ventile wie z.B. Es- und C-Ventile haben sich durchgesetzt. Das Doppelzugsystem ist daher heute nicht mehr üblich.