AUDIO
  • Entrap (Contrabass tuba)
  • Solo for Contrabass tuba

Open External Player

History

456_Kontrabasstuba_200x300.jpg

Tuba in Bb, Cerveny & Sons, Hradec Králové, Czechia, ca. 1910 (Musikinstrumentenmuseum Schloss Kremsegg, Austria, Streitwieser collection)

148_basshelikon_200x300.jpg

Bass helicon

The modern tuba is the result of numerous attempts to make a bass instrument that was capable not only of producing a sound that carried well but also enabled satisfactory intonation. In 1835 Johann Moritz and the trombonist Wilhelm Wieprecht (1802–1872) were granted a Prussian patent in Berlin for the bass tuba. This instrument was made of brass, keyed in F and had five piston valves (“Berlin valves”).

The 1st and 2nd valves lowered the fundamental note by a whole tone and a semitone respectively in relation to the key of F; the 3rd valve lowered the fundamental pitch by a fourth, from F to C. The 4th and 5th valves lowered the pitch from C by a whole tone and a semitone (wide half step, wide whole step) respectively. The relatively narrow bore meant that the bass notes were not particularly loud or powerful.

In order to achieve greater volume in the bass several instrument makers looked to Wieprecht’s invention for inspiration and started making larger instruments with wider bore profiles. In 1845 the Bohemian instrument maker Vaclav Frantisek Czerveny (1819–1896) made a contrabass tuba in C and F in the town of Hradec Králové. He called the instrument the contrabass and subcontrabass and it found a niche principally in wind band music.

Richard Wagner (1813–1883) was the first composer to introduce the contrabass tuba into the opera orchestra, which he did in his Ring of the Nibelung. Anton Bruckner (1824–1896) called for it in his 7th, 8th and 9th symphonies, Richard Strauss (1864–1949) in his Elektra.

In 1883 Czerveny developed an instrument with a particularly wide bore of around 21 mm. This was the famous “Kaiser bass”. The instrument was pitched variously in F, Eb, C and Bb, the shape was either elliptical, helicon-shaped or tuba-shaped, the sound mellow and rich.

At the same time contrabass tubas were also known in Italy; there they were made by Pelliti of Milan and were called pellitones.

In the USA the instrument maker Conn made the first sousaphone in 1908, an instrument invented by the composer John Philip Sousa primarily for outdoor use. It had a wide bore and was keyed either in Eb or Bb.

The development of modern bass and contrabass tubas tends toward a widening of the bore.

497_Suzaphon_200x300.jpg

Bass sousaphone

AUDIO
  • Entrap (Contrabass tuba)
  • Solo for Contrabass tuba

Open External Player

Kontrabasstuba - Geschichte

456_Kontrabasstuba_200x300.jpg

Tuba in B, Cerveny & Söhne, Königgrätz, Tschechien, ca. 1910 (Musikinstrumentenmuseum Schloss Kremsegg, Austria, Sammlung Streitwieser)

Basshelikon

Basshelikon

Die zahlreichen Versuche, ein Bassinstrument zu bauen, das sowohl zu einem tragfähigen Ton als auch zu einer befriedigenden Intonation fähig war, mündeten in der Erfindung der modernen Tuba. Im Jahre 1835 erwarben der Posaunist Wilhelm Wieprecht (1802–1872) und Johann Moritz in Berlin das Preußische Patent für die Basstuba. Dieses Instrument aus Messing war in F gestimmt und mit 5 Pumpventilen („Berliner Pumpen“) ausgestattet.

Die Ventile 1 und 2 erniedrigten den Grundton um einen Ganz- bzw. Halbton bezogen auf die Grundstimmung F, Ventil 3 erniedrigte die Grundstimmung um eine Quart, nämlich von F nach C. Ventil 4 und 5 um einen Ganz- bzw. Halbton von C aus (großer Halb- bzw. Ganzton), Die relativ enge Bohrung ließ die tiefen Töne nicht stark klingen.

Um ein größeres Volumen im tiefen Bereich zu erreichen, ließen sich mehrere Instrumentenbauer von Wieprechts Erfindung inspirieren und bauten in der Folge größere und weiter mensurierte Instrumente. Der Instrumentenbauer Vaclav Frantisek Czerveny (1819–1896) baute im Jahre 1845 in Königgrätz eine Kontrabasstuba in C und F, die er Contrabaß und Subcontrabaß nannte.

Sie sollte ihrer Bestimmung nach hauptsächlich im Blasorchester Verbreitung finden. Richard Wagner (1813–1883) war der erste, der die Kontrabasstuba in seinem „Ring des Nibelungen“ ins Opernorchester einführte. Anton Bruckner (1824–1896) schrieb sie in seiner 7., 8. und 9. Symphonie vor, Richard Strauss (1864–1949) in seiner „Elektra“.

Im Jahre 1883 entwickelte Czerveny ein besonders weit mensuriertes Instrument (ca. 21 mm), den berühmt gewordenen „Kaiserbass“. Die Stimmungen variierten zwischen F, Es, C und B, die Formen waren entweder elliptisch, in Helikonform oder in Tubaform, der Klang weich und voll.

Zur selben Zeit waren in Italien von Pelliti in Mailand gebaute Kontrabasstubas unter dem Namen Pelliton bekannt.

In den USA baute der Instrumentenbauer Conn im Jahre 1908 das vom Komponisten Jean Philipp Sousa entwickelte Sousaphon, ein weit mensuriertes Instrument in Es oder B, vor allem für Aufführungen im Freien konzipiert.

In der Entwicklung der modernen Bass- und Kontrabasstubas geht die Tendenz in Richtung Erweiterung der Mensur.

Sousaphon

Bass-Sousaphon