AUDIO
  • Andante Con Moto (Contra bassoon)
  • Solo for Contrabassoon

Open External Player

History

Shawms (bombardes or pommers)

In the 16th century, the shawm family containing bombardes or pommers was common throughout Europe. The instruments had a straight, conical tube and a mouthpiece with a double reed. During the Renaissance period the bombarde or pommer family included instruments from the third octave above middle C (treble shawm, the direct antecedent of the oboe) to the contraoctave (great bass shawm). With the latter the shawms had reached the limits of their development and could go no lower: aside from the fact that its almost 3 meter long, straight tube was extremely unwieldy, a further downward extension of its range (to below F4) was out of the question due to the fingering problems it posed.

The dulcian: the U shape is introduced

In the middle of the 16th century the straight-tubed pommer evolved into an instrument with a U-shaped body which was made from a hollowed-out block of wood. The conical tubing of the pommer was retained. Because the instrument had a mellow and pleasant sound which distinguished it from the pommers it was given the name dulcian (“sweet-sounder”).

Like pommers, dulcians were made in several tunings. Its manageable size made the dulcian ideal for the downward extension of the range. In about 1620 Michael Praetorius named two “doppelfagotte” as the deepest dulcians, the quartfagott (range G1–A3) and the quintfagott (F1–G3). He also mentioned the planned production of an octave dulcian (“fagotcontra”) by the Berlin chamber musician Hans Schreiber which was to have a range an octave below the choristfagott (C2–G4), the precursor of the modern bassoon.

In the Augsburg Art Collection and in Dresden two octave bass dulcians from the last third of the 16th century survive. They are 1.8 m and 1.9 m high, which suggests that dulcians in the contrabass register were already being made at that time.

The first contrabassoons

In the middle of the 17th century instrument makers in Amsterdam, Paris and Nuremberg began constructing the dulcian, which had hitherto been made of a single piece of wood, in four parts: wing joint, boot, long joint and bell. A third key was added to the two that the dulcian had, and the bassoon was born.

The oldest surviving contrabassoon is now in Leipzig and dates from 1714. It is about 2.7 m high and inscribed “Andreas Eichentopf in Northausen 1714”. It is modeled on the contemporary bassoon and therefore has four parts and three keys. The range went down as far as C4 (according to some sources Bb5), but was not fully chromatic.

In London Thomas Stanesby is thought to have made the first four-part contrabassoon in 1727, and in 1739 his son produced a model with four keys, which is now in the National Museum of Ireland in Dublin.

Admission into the orchestra

In the early 18th century the contrabassoon found acceptance in church music as a reinforcement of the double-bass. The higher tunings (quartfagott and quintfagott) were used for the performance of baroque scores. Georg Philipp Telemann, for example, asked for a fagotto grosso (quintfagott) in his sacred cantatas (1712–1716), Johann Sebastian Bach for a quartfagott in his Cantata no. 31 (1715).

In the fourth version (1749) of his St. John Passion Bach asks for a low contrabassoon (bassono grosso) with a range of C1–Eb3. Before this, Johann Friedrich Fasch had scored for a contre bassono in his Fantasie für Bläser (ca. 1740).

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart exploited the dark timbre of the contrabassoon in his Masonic Funeral Music (1785) to create an air of solemnity. Its somber and dark character was also used by Joseph Haydn in his oratorios The Seven Last Words (1786), The Creation (1798) and The Seasons (1800) and by Ludwig van Beethoven in the jail scene in his opera Fidelio (1805). Since Beethoven scored for the contrabassoon in his 5th (1808) and 9th (1824) symphonies it has been regularly used in the full orchestra to support the bass voice.

A variety of forms

At the end of the 18th century the contrabassoon was integrated into many European military bands as a contrabass instrument.

It was at this time that the Prague instrument maker S. J. Truska developed a contrabassoon consisting of eight parts (bell, long joint, boot, three-part wing joint, small boot, bocal). This model became standard until the middle of the 19th century, when it was replaced by a plethora of varying forms which were developed in an attempt to meet the requirements of military music with regard to volume.

In 1839 the Viennese instrument maker Johann Stehle introduced his metal “Harmonie-Bass”, which had 15 keys and was representative of narrow-bore instruments. Narrow-bore but more compact models were made in 1856 in the Cervený workshops in Königgrätz (“Tritonicon”) and by Carl Wilhelm Moritz (“claviatur-contrafagott”). The original Moritz model had a widely flaring bell, which gave it a tuba-like appearance, and a keyboard. In Coblenz in 1847 Haseneier made a wide-bore instrument with 19 keys out of maple (“contrabassophone”), which became a model for many other instrument makers across Europe. A lightweight version of papier mâché was even produced.

The modern Heckel contrabassoon

In 1877 the workshop of Adam and Wilhelm Heckel produced a patented model with a chromatic range of C1–G3. What set this contrabassoon apart from previous models was its ease of response and its great agility, which enabled it to assert itself over the other contrabass instruments of the time. Richard Wagner was one who was convinced by the quality of its tone, using it in his Parsifal (1882).

At the beginning of the 20th century the contrabassoon was further improved by Wilhelm Heckel: the range was extended down to Bb5 (or, with an appropriately long bell, to A5), and up to C4. In 1901 he created the prototype of the modern contrabassoon, which boasted a full and mellow timbre coupled with great technical agility. The firm of Heckel remains one of the leading manufacturers of bassoons to this day.

In France the firm of Buffet-Crampon produced a French model in 1906 which differs mainly in terms of the keywork.

Thanks to these technical improvements, the contrabassoon, which had hitherto been confined to the reinforcement of the bass voice, was now given challenging new tasks as a solo instrument. In addition it has grown in popularity since the 20th century because of its sound characteristics and has found its way into chamber music, too.

In today’s orchestra the contrabassoon plays those parts that were written for the contrabass sarrusophone, a widely used instrument that had been scored for particularly by composers in France and Spain (Camille Saint-Saëns, Claude Debussy and Maurice Ravel, for example). Production of the contrabass sarrusophone ceased in the 1830s, although it is still found in music for wind band in France, Spain and Italy.

AUDIO
  • Andante Con Moto (Contra bassoon)
  • Solo for Contrabassoon

Open External Player

Kontrafagott - Geschichte

Schalmeien (Bomharte oder Pommern)

Im 16. Jahrhundert war in Europa die Schalmeiengruppe der Bomharten oder Pommer weit verbreitet. Sie hatten ein gerades, konisch gebohrtes Rohr und wurden mit doppeltem Rohrblatt angeblasen. Gemäß der Tradition der Renaissancehatte die Familie der Pommer Vertreter von der dreigestrichenen Oktave (Diskant-Schalmei, aus ihr entwickelte sich in direkter Linie die Oboe) bis zur Kontraoktave (Großbass-Pommer). Mit dem Doppelquint-Großbasspommer war das Entwicklungspotenzial der Schalmeien in die Tiefe jedoch ausgeschöpft: Abgesehen davon, dass sein fast 3 Meter langes, gerades Instrumentenrohr sehr unhandlich war, war eine Ausdehnung seines Tonumfanges in der Tiefe (unter F1) grifftechnisch unmöglich.

Dulziane – Einführung der U-Form

Mitte des 16. Jahrhunderts entstand aus dem geraden Pommer ein Instrument mit geknickter Röhre in U-Form, die aus einem Holzblock gedrechselt war. Die konische Bohrung der Pommern wurde beibehalten. Sein weicher Klang, der durch die Knickung des Rohres entstand und ihn von den Schalmeien abhob, brachte dem neuen Instrument den Namen Dulzian („Zartklinger“) ein.

Wie die Pommern wurden auch Dulziane bald in mehreren Stimmungen gebaut. Die handliche Form prädestinierte den Dulzian für den Ausbau des Tonumfanges in die Tiefe. Michael Praetorius nannte um 1620 als tiefste Dulziane zwei „Doppelfagotte“: das Quartfagott (Umfang von G1–g) und das Quintfagott (F1–g). Er erwähnte auch den geplanten Bau eines Oktavdulzians („Fagotcontra“) durch den Berliner Kammermusiker Hans Schreiber. Der Tonumfang dieses Instrumentes sollte eine Oktave unter dem des Choristfagottes (C–g1) liegen, aus dem das moderne Fagott entstand.

In der Augsburger Kunstsammlung sowie in Dresden sind zwei Oktavbass-Dulziane mit 1,8 m und 1,9 m Höhe aus dem letzten Drittel des 16. Jahrhunderts erhalten, die nahe legen, dass Dulziane schon zu dieser Zeit in der Kontrabasslage gebaut wurden.

Die ersten Kontrafagotte

Um die Mitte des 17. Jahrhunderts gingen Instrumentenbauer in Amsterdam, Paris und Nürnberg dazu über, den aus einem Stück Holz gefertigten Dulzian in vier Teilen zu bauen: Flügel, Stiefel, Bassröhre, Schallstück. Den zwei Klappen des Dulzians wurde eine dritte hinzugefügt – damit war das Fagott geboren.

Das älteste erhaltene Kontrafagott (heute in Leipzig) stammt aus dem Jahre 1714, es ist ca. 2,7 m hoch und signiert mit „Andreas Eichentopf in Northausen 1714“. Nach dem Vorbild des zeitgenössischen Fagottes gefertigt, besteht es aus vier Teilen und hat drei Klappen. Der Tonumfang reichte in der Tiefe – allerdings nicht chromatisch – bis zum C1 (manchen Quellen zufolge auch B2).

In London soll Thomas Stanesby 1727 erstmals ein 4-teiliges Kontrafagott hergestellt haben, Sein Sohn fertigte 1739 ein Kontrafagott mit vier Klappen – heute im irischen Nationalmuseum in Dublin.

Der Weg ins Orchester

Im frühen 18. Jahrhundert fand das Kontrafagott Eingang in die Kirchenmusik, wo es den Kontrabass verstärkte. Zur Ausführung barocker Partituren wurden die höheren Stimmungen (Quart- und Quintfagott) verwendet: So verlangt z.B. Georg Philipp Telemann in seinen Kirchenkantaten ( 1712–1716) ein Fagotto grosso (Quintfagott), Johann Sebastian Bach in seiner Kantate Nr. 31 (1715) ein Quartfagott.

Ein tiefes Kontrafagott (Bassono grosso) mit Umfang C1–es verlangt Bach in der 4. Fassung seiner „Johannespassion“ (1749). Ein Contre Bassono hatte zuvor schon Johann Friedrich Fasch in seiner „Fantasie für Bläser“ (um 1740) vorgeschrieben.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart setzte das Kontrafagott seines dunklen Klanges wegen in seiner „Maurerischen Trauermusik“ (1785) ein, um eine feierliche Stimmung zu erzielen. Den ernsten und dunklen Klangcharakter machten sich auch Joseph Haydn in seinen Oratorien „Die sieben Worte“ (1786), „Die Schöpfung“ (1798) und „Die Jahreszeiten“ (1800), sowie Ludwig van Beethoven in der Kerkerszene seiner Oper “Fidelio” (1805) zunutze. Seit dem Gebrauch des Kontrafagottes in Beethovens 5. (1808) und 9. Symphonie (1824) wird das Kontrafagott als Verstärkung des Basses im großen Orchester regelmäßig eingesetzt.

Vielfalt der Formen

Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts wurde das Kontrafagott in vielen europäischen Militär-Blaskapellen als Kontrabassinstrument integriert.

Zu dieser Zeit entwickelte der Prager Instrumentenbauer S. J. Truska ein Kontrafagott, das aus 8 Teilen bestand (Schallstück, Bassröhre, Stiefel, dreiteiliger Flügel, kleiner Stiefel, S-Rohr). Dieses Modell stellte bis Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts den Standard dar und wurde dann durch eine wahre Formenvielfalt abgelöst, die dem Wunsch nach einem Kontrabassinstrument entsprang, das der klangstarken Militärmusik gerecht wurde.

Der Wiener Instrumentenmacher Johann Stehle führte 1839 seinen aus Metall gefertigten 15-klappigen „Harmonie-Bass“ vor, der den Typus eines engmensurierten Kontrafagottes vertrat. Eng gebohrte, aber kompaktere Modelle entstanden 1856 in den Werkstätten Cervený in Königsgrätz („Tritonicon“) und Carl Wilhelm Moritz („Klaviatur-Kontrafagott“). Das originelle Modell von Moritz erhielt durch einen stark ausladenden Schalltrichter eine tubaähnliche Form und war mit einer Klaviatur versehen. Haseneier baute 1847 in Koblenz ein weit mensuriertes Instrument mit 19 Klappen aus Ahorn („Kontrabassophon“), das vielerorts als Vorbild genommen wurde und u.a. auch aus Pappmaché gebaut wurde, um das Gewicht zu verringern.

Das moderne Heckel-Kontrafagott

In der Werkstatt Adam und Wilhelm Heckel entstand ein 1877 patentiertes Modell mit einem chromatischen Umfang von C1–g. Dieses Kontrafagott zeichnete sich durch eine leichte Ansprache und große Beweglichkeit aus und setzte sich gegen andere Kontrabassinstrumente der Zeit durch. Richard Wagner setzte es, überzeugt von seiner Klangqualität, in „Parsifal“ (1882) ein.

Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts erfuhr das Kontrafagott durch Wilhelm Heckel weitere Verbesserungen: Mit der Erweiterung des Tonumfanges, in der Tiefe bis zum B2 (mit entsprechend längerem Schallstück bis A2), in der Höhe bis zum c1, schuf er 1901 den Prototyp des modernen Kontrafagottes, das sich durch einen vollen und weichen Klang und große technische Gewandtheit auszeichnet. Bis heute gehört die Firma Heckel zu den führenden Herstellern von Fagottinstrumenten.

In Frankreich baute die Firma Buffet-Crampon 1906 ein französisches Modell, das sich im Wesentlichen durch die Klappenmechanik unterscheidet.

Aufgrund seiner verbesserten technischen Fähigkeiten wurde das Kontrafagott, das in der Vergangenheit bassverstärkend eingesetzt wurde, nun auch in solistisch gefordert. Zusätzlich wird es seit dem 20. Jahrhundert aufgrund seiner Klangfarben vermehrt geschätzt und kammermusikalisch verwendet. .

Das Kontrafagott führt heute im Orchester auch die Stimmen aus, die für das Kontrabass-Sarrusophon geschrieben wurden, ein weit verbreitetes Instrument, das von Komponisten aus dem französischen und spanischen Raum (Camille Saint- Saëns, Claude Debussy, Maurice Ravel) eingesetzt wurde. Seit den 30er Jahren des 19. Jahrhunderts wird das Kontrabass-Sarrusophon nicht mehr hergestellt, ist aber in der Harmoniemusik in Frankreich, Spanien und Italien noch anzutreffen.