AUDIO
  • Andante Con Moto (Contra bassoon)
  • Solo for Contrabassoon

Open External Player

Sound production

Sound is produced according to the same principles as on the bassoon:

The double reed is placed between the lips and blown, which sets the two reeds vibrating against each other. They open and close very quickly, thereby sending little puffs of air into the air column inside the instrument, which is stimulated to move in sympathy.

Because the air column inside the contrabassoon’s tubing is 550 cm long the sound takes longer to develop fully than on the bassoon.

As on all woodwinds it is primarily the keywork that is used to produce the various pitches. The technique of overblowing – the bassoon overblows to the octave – is largely replaced by the use of speaker keys.

All of the tone holes on the contrabassoon are closed using keys. With the exception of the highest notes the fingering is the same as on the bassoon.

Playing position

Because it weighs about 6 kg the contrabassoon is played in the sitting position. It has a spike at the bottom on which it rests on the floor and is held on a strap round the neck. Both thumbs are thus free for playing.

AUDIO
  • Andante Con Moto (Contra bassoon)
  • Solo for Contrabassoon

Open External Player

Kontrafagott - Tonerzeugung

Die Tonerzeugung erfolgt nach demselben Prinzip wie beim Fagott:

Das Doppelrohrblatt – von Fagottisten und Oboisten kurz „Rohr“ genannt – wird von den FagottistInnen zwischen die Lippen genommen und angeblasen, wodurch die beiden Rohrblätter gegeneinander in Vibration versetzt werden: Sie öffnen und schließen sich sehr schnell und geben so stoßweise Energie an die Luftsäule im Inneren des Instruments ab, welche zum Mitschwingen angeregt wird.

Da die Luftsäule beim Kontrafagott 550 cm lang ist, entwickelt sich der volle Klang langsamer als beim Fagott.

Zur Erzeugung der verschiedenen Tonhöhen wird, wie bei allen Holzblasinstrumenten, primär der Klappenmechanismus genutzt. Die Technik des Überblasens – das Fagott überbläst in die Oktave – wird weitgehend durch den Einsatz von Oktavklappen ersetzt.

Alle Tonlöcher werden beim Kontrafagott mit Hilfe der Klappen verschlossen. Die Griffweise entspricht – mit Ausnahme der höchsten Töne – der des Fagottes.

Spielhaltung

Das Kontrafagott wird im Sitzen gespielt und – da das Instrument ca. 6 kg schwer ist – mit einem auf der Unterseite angebrachten Stachel am Boden aufgestellt und mit einer Schlaufe um den Hals gehalten. Dadurch sind beide Daumen zum Spielen frei.