AUDIO
  • Mirror Maze - Cymbals

Open External Player

Products including
Piatti:


The cymbal family

In the orchestra the pair of cymbals is used chiefly to stress important musical accents, but it can also be used as a quiet rhythm instrument in the background, together with the bass drum, for example.

Whereas the suspended cymbal can fulfill a wider variety of tasks thanks to the use of different sticks and its greater dynamic flexibility, it cannot match the effect achieved by the pair of cymbals' greatest fortissimo. Even played piano the pair sounds very different from the suspended cymbal.

The hi-hat is found only rarely in modern orchestra literature. However, it has been an integral part of dance music of all kinds, jazz, rock and pop, since the beginning of the 20th century, when it was known as the Charleston machine.

Finger cymbals are a smaller version of the pair of cymbals. Because of their low dynamic level they are used very rarely in the orchestra and are constructed in a way that differs somewhat from that of the pair. They belong only loosely to the cymbal family.

Crotales are tuned to a definite pitch and their construction differs from that of the cymbals. For this reason they are not regarded as a member of the cymbal family.

AUDIO
  • Mirror Maze - Cymbals

Open External Player

Becken-Paar - Die Beckenfamilie

Das Becken-Paar markiert im Orchester meist große und wichtige musikalische Akzente, es kann aber auch als leises rhythmusgebendes Instrument im Hintergrund eingesetzt werden, z.B. zusammen  mit der Großen Trommel.

Im Gegensatz dazu kann das Hängebecken durch verschiedene Schlägel und eine flexiblere Handhabung der Dynamik zwar vielseitiger eingesetzt werden, jedoch ist im größten Fortissimo die Wirkung des Becken-Paares unübertroffen – auch im Piano ist der Klang des Becken-Paares erheblich anders als der Klang des Hängebeckens.

Die Hi-Hat kommt in der modernen Orchesterliteratur nur selten vor, jedoch hat sie schon seit Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts (damals als Charleston-Maschine) seinen festen Platz in jeder Art von Tanzmusik, im Jazz und in der Rock- und Pop-Musik.

Eine kleinere Art des Becken-Paares sind die Fingerzymbeln. Wegen ihrer geringen Dynamik werden sie nur äußerst selten im Orchester benutzt und sie haben eine etwas andere Bauform als das Becken-Paar. Sie werden der Beckenfamilie auch nur im entfernten Sinne zugeordnet.

Crotales sind auf eine bestimmte Tonhöhe gestimmt und weisen eine andere Bauform als die Becken auf. Aus diesem Grund werden die Crotales nicht zur Beckenfamilie gezählt.