AUDIO
  • Reverie - Bass & Piano
  • Bass performance
  • Basses performance

Open External Player

History

Viola da gamba bass versus violin bass

The story of the double-bass began at the same time and in the same place as that of all the other bowed instruments: about 500 years ago in Upper Italy. The story is riddled with a confusing array of differing construction, sizes and tunings. The two aspects that constituted the principal bones of contention were the tuning and the number of strings. Instruments corresponding in size and appearance to a double-bass were first depicted in the early 16th century. All of these early portrayals show a single large bass instrument in an ensemble with bowed instruments of the viola da braccio family. They are often augmented by a trombone or other brass instruments.

In 1542, Silvestro Ganassi developed a bass viola da gamba in Venice, which is often regarded as the “progenitor” of the double-bass. Its sloping shoulders, frets and six strings tuned mainly to fourths (D2, G2, C3, E3, A3, D4) indicate that low bowed instruments emerged originally from the gamba family. Whereas Ganassi’s instrument was not tuned to 16-foot pitch, it is known that Ventura Linarol made a bass viola da gamba in Padua in 1585 the lowest four strings of which had the same tuning as the modern double-bass: E1, A1, D2, G2, C3, F3. However, this tuning came about mainly by chance and was exceptional, since subsequent instruments show that agreement on a standard tuning was still far from being reached.

Violone

The Italian term violone (large viola), which has fallen out of common usage, gave rise to the word violoncello. In the course of history many bass and double-bass instruments of both string families were described as violones. In the 16th century the term’s application was restricted solely to instruments of the gamba family. The violone provided the fundamental bass and accompanying chords for solo voice.

In search of a role

In the 16th and 17th centuries the double-bass had not yet found its niche in the orchestra. From the end of the 17th century it was part of the 24 “Violons du roi”.

This court string ensemble was founded in the 16th century and was probably the first orchestra in the true sense of the word, because the 24 “violins” were supplemented by 12 “hautbois”; the ensemble thus consisted of various instruments, with a single voice being played by several instruments of the same type in unison.

It was not until around 1700 that the double-bass was accepted into the opera orchestra. The men responsible for this were the Neapolitan Giuseppe Aldovrandini (1673–1707) and Marin Marais (1656–1728).

17th and 18th century scores often included parts for all three groups, the violone, violoncello and double-bass, the cello being entrusted more with solo tasks and the violone with a ripieno function.

Two inventions pave the way

Attempts in the 17th and 18th centuries to model the double-bass more and more on the cello were only partially successful; the hybrid form that emerged proved to be the most suitable. There were probably two types of double-bass: instruments with an enlarged body for the 16-foot range and tenor instruments which reinforced the middle voices.

The double-bass was the bowed instrument with the largest number of possible tunings. One reason for this was chordal playing, for which early evidence exists. To make it easier to finger the chords the strings were retuned (scordatura) so that they corresponded to the tonic triad desired.

A ground-breaking invention was required to make the 16-foot range really “usable”: in the 17th century the low gut strings began to be covered with copper wire. The thick and heavy gut strings had hampered the musician, making more agile playing impossible. However, the new wound strings posed a new problem: the string tension was increased to such an extent that tuning became more difficult. In 1778 the violin maker Carl Ludwig Bachmann from Berlin constructed a screw mechanism on the pegbox: thumb screws on the outside of the pegbox turn small metal cogwheels that can be adjusted with such precision that the strings can be tuned to a nicety. This mechanism replaced the old wood pegs.

On 3, 4 and 5 strings

In the mid 18th century most double-basses were made with three strings, a practice that continued until shortly before the end of the 19th century. The three-stringed double-bass had a more powerful sound, a clearer, harder and more assertive timbre; on the other hand its range in the lower register was smaller. Its tuning was A1, D2, G2 or G1, D2, A2. Composers from the period of Viennese Classicism all had three-stringed double-basses with which to perform their orchestral works.

From the 1830s onward four-stringed double-basses were reintroduced; until the end of the century both types existed side by side, the four-stringed model eventually replacing the three-stringed as standard.

The four-stringed bass had a more mellow, smoother and weaker sound than the three-stringed version, but its range in the lower register was larger (to E1). To compensate for its weaker sound the number of instruments in the orchestra was increased. In addition, new low-pitched wind instruments such as the bass clarinet and the contrabassoon began to support it.

For the performance of 20th century works five-stringed double-basses have become necessary. The five-stringed instrument has the advantage of a range that goes down as far as B0, a note which has now become indispensable. The disadvantage: it is harder to play because of the wider fingerboard.

Since the beginning of the 20th century the double-bass’s range of tasks and playing techniques has increased enormously, inspired by entirely new tonal concepts.

Jazz

In early jazz the bass part was played by the tuba or the sousaphone. The double-bass did not appear until the Classical period. In most jazz styles its task is the accentuation of the beat, which is generally achieved by the slap bass technique. In later styles it swings and “wanders”, playing a melody line of its own contrivance (walking bass) as a counter melody. Rapid tempos, playing in the highest register and advanced playing techniques have become standard in modern jazz styles.

AUDIO
  • Reverie - Bass & Piano
  • Bass performance
  • Basses performance

Open External Player

Kontrabass - Geschichte

Viola da gamba-Bass versus Violinbass

Die Geschichte des Kontrabasses begann vor etwa 500 Jahren, am selben Ort wie die der übrigen Streichinstrumente, nämlich in Oberitalien. Sie ist geprägt von einer verwirrenden Vielfalt an Bauweisen, Größen und Stimmungen, wobei um zwei Dinge gerungen wurde: die Festlegung der Stimmung und der Saitenanzahl. Die ersten Abbildungen von Streichinstrumenten, die in Größe und Aussehen einem Kontrabass entsprechen, stammt aus dem frühen 16 Jahrhundert und zeigen immer ein einzelnes Großbassinstrument beim gemeinsamen Musizieren mit Streichinstrumenten der Viola da braccio-Familie. Oft sind eine Posaune oder andere Blasinstrumente dabei.

Silvestro Ganassi entwickelte 1542 in Venedig eine Bass-Viola da gamba, die oft als das „Urinstrument“ des Kontrabasses gesehen wurde. Seine Kennzeichen – abfallende Schultern, Bünde und 6 Saiten in Quarten gestimmt (D, g, c, e, a, d1) – geben Auskunft darüber, dass die Entwicklung der tiefen Streichinstrumente ihren Ausgangspunkt in der Familie der Gambeninstrumente hatte. War Ganassis Instrument noch nicht in der Kontra-Lage (16-Fuß-Lage) gestimmt, so finden wir 1585 eine in Padua von Ventura Linarol gebaute Bass-Viola da gamba, deren 4 tiefste Saiten bereits der heutigen Stimmung entsprachen: E1, A1, D, G, c, f. Diese Stimmung war eher ein Zufall und stellte eine Ausnahme dar, denn in der Folge gab es noch lange keine einheitliche Stimmung.

Violone

Vom italienischen Ausdruck Violone (=Großviola), der heute nicht mehr üblich ist, wurde schon das Wort Violoncello abgeleitet. Im Lauf er Geschichte wurden viele Bass- und Kontrabassinstrumente der beiden Streicherfamilien als Violone bezeichnet. Im 16. Jahrhundert bezog sich Violone nur auf die Bassinstrumente der Gamben-Familie. Der Violone hatte die Aufgabe des Fundamentalbasses sowie der akkordischen Begleitung einer Sologesangsstimme.

Auf der Suche nach seiner Rolle

Im 16. und 17. Jahrhundert hatte der Kontrabass seine Rolle im Orchester noch nicht gefunden. Seit Ende des 17. Jahrhunderts ist er bei den 24 „Violons du roi“, vertreten.

Bei dieser im 16. Jahrhundert gegründeten Gruppe handelt es sich wahrscheinlich um das erste Orchester im modernen Sinn, da die 24 „Violons“ mit den 12 „Hautboisten“ zusammen spielten (Es waren also verschiedene Instrumente vertreten, wobei mehrere gleiche Instrumente eine Stimme ausführten).

Erst um 1700 wurde der Kontrabass ins Opernorchester aufgenommen, und zwar durch Giuseppe Aldovrandini (1673–1707) in Neapel und Marin Marais (1656–1728).
In Partituren des 17. und 18. Jahrhunderts sind oft gleichzeitig Violone, Violoncello und Kontrabass vorgeschrieben, wobei dem Violoncello eher solistische und dem Violone eher Ripieno-Aufgaben zugedacht waren.

Zwei Erfindungen ebnen den Weg

Versuche im 17. und 18. Jahrhundert, den Kontrabass dem Violoncello anzupassen, waren wenig erfolgreich; die Mischform, die sich etablierte, erwies sich als die geeignetste. Wahrscheinlich gab es zwei Arten von Kontrabässen: Instrumente mit vergrößertem Korpus für die Kontra-Lage und Tenorinstrumente, welche die Mittelstimmen verstärkten.

Der Kontrabass war das Streichinstrument mit den meisten Stimmmöglichkeiten. Dies hing unter anderem mit dem Akkordspiel zusammen, für das es frühe Belege gibt. Um das Greifen der Akkorde zu erleichtern, wurden die Saiten so umgestimmt (Scordatura), dass sie mit dem gewünschten Tonikadreiklang übereinstimmten.

Erst eine grundlegende Erfindung konnte die Kontra-Lage für den Musikgebrauch richtig „erschließen“: Im 17. Jahrhundert begann man die tiefen Darmsaiten mit Kupferdraht zu umwickeln. Die dicken und schweren Darmsaiten hatten den Spieler in seiner Beweglichkeit gehemmt. Durch die neuen umsponnenen Saiten erhöhte sich die Spannung derart, dass daraus ein neues Problem entstand: das Problem der Stimmung. Im Jahre 1778 konstruierte der Berliner Geigenbauer Carl Ludwig Bachmann einen Schraubmechanismus am Wirbelkasten: Flügelschrauben an der Außenseite des Wirbelkastens greifen in Zahnrädchen aus Metall, die sich so präzise drehen lassen, dass die Saiten absolut rein gestimmt werden konnten. Dieser Mechanismus löste die alten Holzwirbel ab.

Scordatur

Die Veränderung der normalen Stimmung auf Saiteninstrumenten (Violinen, Gitarren, …). Vom Italienischen scordatura von discordare = verstimmen.

Scordaturen wurden seit jeher von Komponisten vorgeschrieben, um folgende Effekte zu erzielen: Die Erleichterung der Griffweise für bestimmte Tonarten, eine Veränderung der Klangfarbe. Die wichtigste Regel für eine Scordatur ist, die Saite so zu stimmen, dass möglichst viele leere Saiten in der Haupttonart des betreffenden Stückes als Tonhöhen vorkommen. Trifft dies zu, ist eine Aufhellung der Gesamtklangfarbe zu erwarten. Kommen möglichst wenige leere Saiten vor, wird die Klangfarbe eingetrübt oder verdunkelt. Auch dieser Effekt kann erwünscht sein.

Auf 3, 4 und 5 Saiten

Mitte des 18.Jahrhunderts wurden vorwiegend dreisaitige Kontrabässe gebaut, die sich bis gegen Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts hielten. Der dreisaitige Kontrabass hatte einen stärkeren Klang, einen klareren, härteren und  durchsetzungsfähigeren Ton, dafür aber einen geringeren Umfang in der Tiefe. Stimmung: A1, D, G oder G1, D, A. Die Komponisten der Wiener Klassik hatten durchwegs dreisaitige Kontrabässe für die Realisierung ihrer Orchesterwerke zur Verfügung.

Ab den 30ern des 19. Jahrhunderts wurden wieder viersaitige Kontrabässe eingeführt, die bis gegen Ende des Jahrhunderts neben den dreisaitigen Instrumenten bestanden und sich schließlich durchsetzten.
Der 4-Saiter hatte einen weicheren, glatteren und schwächeren Klang als der 3-Saiter, dafür in der Tiefe einen größeren Tonumfang bis E1. Der schwächere Klang wurde durch eine größere Besetzung ausgeglichen. Darüber hinaus begannen neue Blasinstrumente in tiefster Lage wie Bassklarinette und Kontrafagott den Kontrabass zu unterstützen.

Für die Aufführung von Werken des 20. Jahrhunderts sind fünfsaitige Kontrabässe notwendig geworden. Der Vorteil der 5-Saiter liegt darin, dass sie in der Tiefe bis zum H2 reichen, eine Tonhöhe, ohne die nicht mehr auszukommen ist. Der Nachteil: Sie sind schwerer zu spielen, weil das Griffbrett breiter ist.

Beim Kontrabass ist seit Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts ein großer Zuwachs an Aufgaben und Spieltechniken zu beobachten, die von gänzlich neuen Klangvorstellungen inspiriert sind.

Jazz

Im frühen Jazz wurde der Bass von Tuba oder Sousaphon ausgeführt, erst in der klassischen Epoche wurde der Kontrabass eingeführt. Seine Aufgabe ist in den meisten Jazzstilen die Betonung des Grundschlages (beat), was durch die Spielweise als slap bass (Schlagbass) bewirkt wird. In späteren Stilen „swingt“ sich der Kontrabass melodische Linien zurecht, die eine Gegenstimme zur Melodie bilden (walking bass). Schnelles Tempo, das Spiel in höchsten Lagen und avancierte Spieltechniken sind in modernen Jazzstilen zum Standard geworden.