AUDIO
  • Spirits Calling

Open External Player

Products including
Gong:


History

Asia

The term gong, which has been in use in the West since about 1590, comes from the Javanese name for a struck idiophone with the form of a vessel: gong ageng (large gong). The –ng ending indicates that the instrument was a knobbed gong.

Gongs appeared in China in about the 7th century BC. Although it is still not possible to say for certain in which country gongs originated, places of gong manufacture are found more or less all over Asia. The great importance of these instruments in Asia is shown not only by the wide variety of different forms but also by the fact that groups of gongs and gongs in combination with other instruments (metallophones) play a dominant role in orchestras (e.g. in gamelan orchestras in Java).

In the past gongs were used in religious rites and were richly decorated with images of animals, people or characters. Excessive painting may well have impaired the quality of the sound and nowadays only the pitch is generally painted on the instrument.

Europe

The gong arrived in Europe towards the end of the 17th century and was first used more for the purposes of exhibition than for making music.

In the 19th century the tam-tam and the gong became ever more distinct from each other: the tam-tam has an indefinite pitch, the gong a definite one. Because of this separation composers began writing the pitch and performance instructions into the score.

The first composition to feature the gong was probably Gossec's “Funeral Music for Mirabeau” (1791). Camille Saint-Saëns used a gong in his opera La princesse jaune (1872). In his opera Madame Butterfly (1904) Giacomo Puccini asks for a twelve-strong gong group. Carl Orff especially, in his operas Antigonae, Oedipus der Tyrann and Prometheus, requires a large number of deep gongs, while John Cage and Lou Harrison use a great many high instruments.

AUDIO
  • Spirits Calling
  • Peculiar Percussion

Open External Player

Gong
ist enthalten in den Produkten:


Gong - Geschichte

Asien

Der seit etwa 1590 in der westlichen Welt verwendete Name Gong kommt von der javanischen Bezeichnung für ein Aufschlagidiophon in der Form eines Gefäßes: gong ageng (großer Gong), wobei die Endung –ng auf die Form des Buckelgongs schließen lässt.

Etwa im 7. Jahrhundert v. Chr. erschienen Gongs in China. Obwohl ein Ursprungsland bis heute nicht eindeutig angegeben werden kann, finden sich heute fast im gesamten asiatischen Bereich Herstellungsorte für Gongs. Die Bedeutung dieser Instrumente im asiatischen Raum zeigt sich nicht nur in der Formenvielfalt, sonern auch in der Tatsache, dass Gongs in Gongspielen und im Verband mit anderen Instrumenten (Metallophone) in Orchestern eine dominierende Rolle spielen (z. B. im Gamelan-Orchester auf Java).

Gongs wurden früher zu Kultzwecken benutzt und waren damals (heute ist meist nur noch die Tonhöhe aufgemalt) mit Tieren, Menschen oder Schriftzeichen reich verziert, wobei zu starke Bemalung allerdings die Klangqualität gemindert haben dürfte.

Europa

Gegen Ende des 17. Jahrhunderts kam der Gong nach Europa und wurde zunächst eher als Ausstellungsobjekt denn für musikalische Zwecke benützt.

Im 19. Jahrhundert vollzog sich die Trennung zwischen Tamtam und Gong immer deutlicher: Das Tamtam hat eine unbestimmte und der Gong eine bestimmte Tonhöhe. Aufgrund dieser Trennung wurde von den Komponisten auch Tonhöhe und Spielweise der Gongs notiert.

Die erste Komposition mit Einsatz des Gongs dürfte Gossecs „Trauermusik für Mirabeau“ (1791) gewesen sein. Camille Saint-Saëns schrieb einen Gong in seiner Oper „La princesse jaune“ (1872) vor. Giacomo Puccini verlangt in seiner Oper „Madame Butterfly“ (1904) bereits ein Gongspiel mit 12 Gongs. Besonders Carl Orff verwendet in seinen Opern „Antigonae“, „Oedipus der Tyrann“ und „Prometheus“ eine Vielzahl tiefer Gongs – bei John Cage und Lou Harrison finden sich viele hohe Gongs.