AUDIO
  • Scherzo Brillante (Horn)
  • Vienna Horn Variations
  • Adagio and Toccata
  • Blue Danube Waltz - Horn solo
  • Horn meets Brass & Percussion

Open External Player
> INSTRUMENTOLOGY > BRASS > Horn in F > Distinctive Features

Distinctive features of the Viennese horn

In the world of music the Viennese horn is known for its particularly colorful tone. In modern orchestral practice, however, it is a rarity – only very few European orchestras still use it (e.g. the Vienna Philharmonic). It is regarded as a very difficult instrument to play, because it is less easy to hit notes accurately than it is on other horns and demands a high level of proficiency from the musician.

Between 1985 and 1987 the director of the Institut für Wiener Klangstil, Prof. Gregor Widholm, carried out a comparative study between the Viennese horn, the double horn in F/Bb and the triple horn in F/Bb/high f, achieving new insights into the acoustic, playing and tonal characteristics of the Viennese horn (http://iwk.mdw.ac.at):

The findings of the Institut für Wiener Klangstil show that the Viennese horn’s sound contains a greater number of harmonics and therefore has a brighter sound when compared directly to the double horn, the most commonly used horn. On the Viennese horn the musician can articulate tied notes more softly and alter the instrument’s timbre more easily, which gives him a greater range of musical expression. Played fortissimo, Vienna horns are less conspicuous in the overall orchestra sound than double horns.

horns_comparison

Comparison between horns (from left to right): Viennese horn, double (French) horn in F/Bb, triple horn in F/Bb/high f

Why is the Viennese horn harder to play?

In the initial phase of sound generation the Viennese horn requires more energy than the double horn; in fact, the air column to be vibrated is twice as long as that of the horn in high f (triple horn in F/Bb/high f). Passages with a large number of staccato notes are therefore very demanding.

In the upper register greater care must be taken than on other horns to apply the correct lip tension in order to avoid the dreaded “squeak”, which must nevertheless be counted as one of the Viennese horn’s lovable “peculiarities”.

The distinctive sound and playing characteristics of the Viennese horn are a result of its construction:

Bore
Compared to the double horn, the Viennese horn has a narrower bore: the cylindrical part of the bore has a diameter of about 10.8 mm compared to 11.5–13 mm on the double horn. Its bell and bell joint are also narrower. The result, as pointed out above, is a larger number of harmonics. The Viennese horn’s high harmonics rise more quickly than those of the double horn, even in fast crescendo passages, which means that the musician has a wider range of tone colors at his disposal.

Detachable F crook
The crook is a piece of coiled tubing, which is detachable on the Viennese horn but fixed on the double horn. By changing the crook, which accounts for nearly a third of the total tube length, the instrument’s character – i.e., its response, tone and intonation – can be altered.

Valves
The Vienna valve is a twin-piston valve. The position of the valves on the piston valve unit aids mellow formations of legato notes, which flow and change very smoothly. In fact, in fast legato passages the notes sound slightly blurred. On rotary valve instruments a short interval of noise separates the individual notes from each other, so that even in fast legato passages the impression of distinct notes is given.

AUDIO
  • Scherzo Brillante (Horn)
  • Vienna Horn Variations
  • Adagio and Toccata
  • Blue Danube Waltz - Horn solo
  • Horn meets Brass & Percussion

Open External Player

Horn in F - Besonderheiten des Wiener Horns

Das Wiener Horn ist in der musikalischen Welt für seinen besonders farbenreichen Klang bekannt. In der heutigen Orchesterpraxis ist es jedoch eine Rarität – nur wenige Orchester in Europa verwenden noch das Wiener Horn (z.B. die Wiener Philharmoniker). Es gilt als sehr schwierig zu spielen, da es in Bezug auf die Tonerzeugung weniger treffsicher ist als andere Hörner und dem Musiker ein hohes Maß an Kunstfertigkeit abverlangt.

Der Leiter des Institutes für Wiener Klangstil, Prof. Gregor Widholm, stellte zwischen 1985 und 1987 vergleichende Untersuchungen zwischen dem Wiener Horn, dem Doppelhorn in F/B und dem Tripelhorn in F/B/hoch f an und erhielt neue Ergebnisse über die akustischen, spieltechnischen und klanglichen Besonderheiten des Wiener Horns (http://iwk.mdw.ac.at):

Demnach ist der Klang des Wiener Horns teiltonreicher und wirkt deswegen im direkten Vergleich zum Doppelhorn, das weltweit am gebräuchlichsten ist, heller. Der/die HornistIn kann auf dem Wiener Horn gebundene Töne weicher artikulieren und die Klangfarbe des Instrumentes leichter verändern. Damit hat der/die MusikerIn mehr Möglichkeiten der musikalischen Artikulation. Fortissimo gespielt überlagern Wiener Hörner den Orchesterklang weniger stark als Doppelhörner.

Gegenüberstellung von Hörnern (v.l.n.r.): Wiener Horn, Doppelhorn in F/B, Tripelhorn in F/B/hoch f

Warum ist das Wiener Horn schwieriger zu spielen?

In der ersten Phase der Tonerzeugung erfordert das Wiener Horn einen höheren Energieaufwand als das Doppelhorn, im Vergleich zum Horn in hoch f (Tripelhorn in F/B/hoch f) muss sogar eine doppelt so lange Luftsäule in Schwingung gebracht werden. Daher beanspruchen Stellen mit vielen Staccatonoten einen Wiener Hornisten mehr.

In den hohen Lagen muss die Lippenspannung exakter als bei anderen Hörnern abgestimmt werden, um die berüchtigten „Kiekser“ zu vermeiden, die man nichtsdestotrotz zu den liebgewonnenen Eigenheiten des Wiener Horns zählen kann.

Die klanglichen und spieltechnischen Besonderheiten des Wiener Horns liegen in der speziellen Bauart begründet:

Mensur
Im Vergleich zum Doppelhorn ist das Wiener Horn enger mensuriert: Die Bohrung beträgt beim Wiener Horn im zylindrischen Teil ca. 10,8 mm, beim Doppelhorn 11,5–13 mm. Auch Schallstück und Schalltrichter sind beim Wiener Horn enger mensuriert. Die Folge ist der schon erwähnte teiltonreichere Klang. Die hohen Teiltöne im Klang der Wiener Hörner steigen auch bei einem starken Crescendo stärker an als bei Doppelhörnern. Dem Musiker stehen also beim Wiener Modell mehr Klangfarben zur Verfügung, aus denen er auswählen kann.

Abnehmbarer F-Bogen
der Bogen ist ein kreisförmig gebogener Teil des Rohres, der beim Wiener Horn abnehmbar ist, beim Doppelhorn fix integriert. Durch das Auswechseln des Bogens, der immerhin fast ein Drittel der Rohrlänge in Anspruch nimmt, kann der Charakter des Instrumentes, sprich Tonansprache, Klang und Intonation, beeinflusst werden.

Ventile
Das Wiener Ventil ist ein Doppelpumpenventil. Der Pumpenventil-Mechanismus begünstigt durch die Position der Ventile weiche Bildungen bei legato gespielten Tönen, die Töne gehen fließend ineinander über. Bei schnellen legato-Folgen klingen die Töne aus diesem Grund leicht verschwommen. Beim Drehventil des Doppelhorns sind die Töne kurz durch ein Geräuschband voneinander getrennt, daher erhält der Zuhörer auch bei schnellen Legato-Folgen den Eindruck von klar getrennten Tönen.