AUDIO
  • Scherzo Brillante (Horn)
  • Vienna Horn Variations
  • Adagio and Toccata
  • Blue Danube Waltz - Horn solo
  • Horn meets Brass & Percussion

Open External Player

Notation

Modern notation

HO_notation_en_392x116.png

The horn is a transposing instrument and unlike the trumpet sounds deeper than written in all tunings.

The modern horn is notated in F; in bass clef and treble clef it is written a fifth higher than it sounds.

Concert notation

Since the 1920s the practice of writing in concert notation for all instruments has become widely accepted, notably in the works of the Viennese School (Arnold Schoenberg, Alban Berg, Anton von Webern) and in serialism. The practice was introduced to make it easier to read complex scores, and there are numerous examples in 20th century literature. Stylistic developments that favored equal status for all twelve chromatic tones and avoided building around a particular key may well have been further factors that led to the use of the same notation for all instruments.

No key signature at the beginning of the staff

Unlike other transposing instruments such as the clarinet, the horn part – along with the trumpets and timpani – has always been written without key signature at the beginning of the staff. This tradition dates back to the beginnings of orchestral music and is still practiced today. Accidentals were extremely rare and were written into the score.

One peculiarity of horn notation is the signs used to indicate open and stopped notes: o = open, + = stopped.

Because the horns blend very well with the woodwinds, the horn part is found immediately below the woodwinds in the score, a place which would logically be occupied by the trumpet as the soprano instrument in the brass section.

Older notation

HO_notation_bass_key_en_447x58.png

In many 19th century scores the horn part, which was written in bass clef for low notes, was written a fourth lower than it sounded. This old style of notation – which was known as “high bass clef” – is no longer usual today. In new editions of old scores the horn part is generally rewritten so that the horn in F always sounds a fifth lower.

In line with the possibilities offered by the natural horn, only notes from a single natural harmonic series were available. Other pitches were very rare, because they could only be produced by stopping which resulted in a distortion of the timbre. The pitch of the horn was indicated in the score and the part was notated in C. Consequently most of the notation for the horn part corresponded to the natural harmonic series in C. Accidentals appeared only very rarely and were written into the score.

In classical symphonic music, a pair of horns was generally used for pieces in a major key, whereas two pairs were used for pieces in a minor key. This was done for harmonic reasons, since it was the only way to produce the second subject in the parallel major key.

Classical sonata movements really consist of two “themes” or “subjects”. These can be compared to two more or less active characters. The first “theme” is of course always in the principal key (tonic), the second in the most closely related, which is the one a fifth above it, the dominant. This applies to pieces in a major key. In pieces in a minor key the second theme is a third higher, in the parallel major key. But because the dominant in minor is in major on account of the leading note a “chromatic conflict” arises which could only be solved by one or two pairs of natural horns in different pitches. One of the horn’s main tasks was to support all the harmonically relevant tones (see for example W. A. Mozart, Symphony in G Minor, K.V.550).

In the course of time the two pairs of differently-pitched horns became standard in orchestration, as a result of which new harmonic possibilities – e.g. in modulations – were opened up for the instrument.

Today, four horns are standard in performances of the classical-romantic repertoire and their notation is written in pairs: the 1st and 3rd horns play the high part, the 2nd and 4th the low one. Two ways of summarizing the horn parts have gained acceptance:

HO_notation_1234_en_193x102.png


1. The notation of the high (1st + 3rd) and low (2nd + 4th) horns is interlocking (Bruckner, Brahms and Wagner use this interlocking notation).

HO_notation_1324_en_194x105.png


2. The high (1st + 3rd) and low (2nd + 4th) horns are notated on the same staff. Gustav Mahler, for example, uses this notation. Especially when one writes for 6 or 8 horns this usage is more convenient.

The way the horns are summarized depends in no small measure on the context.

The modern hornist must therefore answer the following questions before he begins to play:

  • Is his part written for an F horn?
  • Is his part written in the modern bass clef or the old high bass clef?
  • Is the instrument playing the part (nowadays a horn pitched in F) pitched in the same tuning as the written part? (If not, the musician must transpose accordingly. For example, if a part written for a horn in E is to be played on a horn in F the hornist must transpose to F. If a part written in F is to be played on a horn in Bb – an instrument used only rarely today – transposition is also necessary.)

AUDIO
  • Scherzo Brillante (Horn)
  • Vienna Horn Variations
  • Adagio and Toccata
  • Blue Danube Waltz - Horn solo
  • Horn meets Brass & Percussion

Open External Player

Horn in F - Notation

Moderne Notation

HO_notation_de_392x116

Das Horn ist ein transponierendes Instrument und klingt im Gegensatz zur Trompete in allen Stimmungen tiefer als notiert.

Das moderne Horn wird in F notiert, der Klang liegt sowohl im Bassschlüssel als auch im Violinschlüssel eine Quint tiefer als die Notation.

Klingende Notation

Seit den 20er Jahren des 20. Jahrhunderts hat sich besonders in den Werken der Wiener Schule (Arnold Schönberg, Alban Berg, Anton v. Webern) und des Serialismus die Praxis durchgesetzt, alle Instrumente klingend zu notieren. Diese Tradition wurde eingeführt, um das Lesen komplexer Partituren zu erleichtern und ist in zahlreichen Partituren des 20. Jahrhunderts zu finden. Darüber hinaus dürften stilistische Entwicklungen, die eine Gleichberechtigung der 12 chromatischen Tonstufen bevorzugten und eine bestimmte Tonart als Zentrum vermieden, dazu geführt haben, alle Instrumente in der Notation einander anzugleichen.

Keine Tonartbezeichnung am Anfang der Partitur

Im Gegensatz zu anderen transponierenden Instrumenten wie z. B den Klarinetten wurde die Hornstimme – gleich wie die Trompeten und die Pauken – immer ohne Tonartvorzeichnung notiert, eine Tradition, die sich seit der Frühzeit des Orchesters bis heute erhalten hat. Die äußerst seltenen Vorzeichen wurden in den Notentext notiert.

Eine Besonderheit in der Notation der Hornstimme besteht darin, dass offene und gestopfte Töne mit folgenden Zeichen notiert werden: o = offen, + = gestopft.

Der guten Verschmelzungsfähigkeit des Hornklangs mit den Holzbläsern verdankt die Hornstimme ihren Platz in der Partitur: sie wird direkt unterhalb der Holzbläsergruppe notiert, ein Platz, den eigentlich die Trompete als Sopraninstrument der Blechbläsergruppe einnehmen müsste.

Ältere Notation

HO_notation_bass_key_de_447x58

In zahlreichen Partituren des 19. Jahrhunderts lag der Klang der Hornstimme, die bei tiefen Tönen im Bassschlüssel notiert war, um eine Quart höher als die Notation. Diese ältere Notationsart – man nannte sie hoher Bassschlüssel – ist heute nicht mehr üblich. In Neuausgaben älterer Partituren wird die Hornstimme in der Regel umgeschrieben, so dass das Horn in F immer eine Quint tiefer klingt.

Den Spielmöglichkeiten des Naturhorns entsprechend konnten die Töne aus einer einzigen Naturtonreihe gewählt werden. Andere Tonhöhen kamen praktisch sehr selten vor, da sie nur durch Stopfen erzeugt werden konnten, was eine deutliche Veränderung der Klangfarbe bewirkte. Die jeweilige Hornstimmung wurde in der Partitur angegeben, die Notation erfolgte dann in C. Folglich entsprach der größte Teil der notierten Hornstimme der Naturtonreihe auf C. Vorzeichen kamen nur selten vor und wurden in den Notentext notiert.

In der klassischen Symphonik wurde das Horn in Dur-Stücken in der Regel zweifach besetzt (1 Paar), in Mollstücken aus harmonischen Gründen vierfach (2 Paare), da sich der Seitengedanke in der parallelen Durtonart nur auf diese Weise realisieren ließ.

Klassische Sonatenformen sind an sich aus zwei „Themen“ oder „Subjekten“ zusammengesetzt, die man sich wie zwei mehr oder weniger aktive Personen vorstellen könnte. Das erste „Thema“ steht natürlich immer in der Grundtonart (Tonika), das zweite in der nächst verwandten, nämlich eine Quint höher, in der Dominante. Dies gilt für Stücke, die in Dur stehen. In Mollstücken steht das zweite Thema eine Terz höher, also in der parallelen Durtonart. Da in Moll die Dominante wegen des Leittons in Dur steht, entsteht ein „chromatischer Konflikt“, der nur mit zwei verschieden gestimmten Naturhörnern oder Hornpaaren gelöst werden konnte. Eine Hauptaufgabe des Horns war es ja, alle harmonisch relevanten Töne zu unterstützen (Siehe z.B W.A. Mozart, Symphonie in g-Moll K.V.550).

Im Laufe der Zeit etablierten sich zwei verschieden gestimmte Hornpaare als Standardbesetzung, womit sich die harmonischen Möglichkeiten des Horns – z.B. in Modulationen – erweiterten.

Für heutige Aufführungen des klassisch-romantischen Repertoires entsprechen 4 Hörner dem Standard und werden paarweise notiert: Das 1. und das 3. Horn spielen den hohen Part, das 2. und das 4. Horn den tiefen. Es haben sich zwei Arten etabliert, die Hornstimmen zusammenzufassen.

HO_notation_1234_en_193x102.png


1. Die hohen (1 + 3) und tiefen (2 + 4) Hörner sind ineinandergreifend notiert (z.B. bei Bruckner, Brahms u. Wagner).

HO_notation_1324_en_194x105.png


2. Die hohen (1. + 3.) und die tiefen (2. + 4.) Hörner sind jeweils im selben Liniensystemen notiert. Gustav Mahler z.B. notiert häufig so. Insbesondere bei 6 oder 8 Hörnern ist diese Notationsart günstiger.

Auf welche Art die Hörner zusammengefasst werden, hängt nicht zuletzt vom Kontext ab.

Der/die moderne HornistIn muss also folgende Fragen klären, bevor er/sie zu spielen beginnt:

  • Ist seine Stimme für ein F-Horn notiert?
  • Ist seine Stimme im modernen oder im alten hohen Basschlüssel notiert?
  • Entspricht die Stimmung des ausführenden Instruments (in der heutigen Praxis ein Horn in F) der Stimmung in der notierten Stimme? (wenn nicht, muss der Hornist entsprechend transponieren. Soll z.B. eine Stimme für ein Horn in E auf einem Horn in F gespielt werden, muss der Hornist nach F transponieren. Soll eine in F notierte Stimme auf einem – heute eher seltenen – Horn in B gespielt werden, ist ebenfalls zu transponieren.)