AUDIO
  • Scherzo Brillante (Horn)
  • Vienna Horn Variations
  • Adagio and Toccata
  • Blue Danube Waltz - Horn solo
  • Horn meets Brass & Percussion

Open External Player

Sound production

Whereas the 1st natural is not used on the F horn (although some hornists can play it) it is very much part of the range played on the horn in high Bb and speaks well on this instrument.

The F horn’s range begins with the 2nd natural and rises to the 16th, although the naturals 12 to 16 are very difficult to play.

The instrument’s natural harmonic series can be lowered by six half steps by activating the valves, i.e. by lengthening the tube step by step.

Every activation of a valve produces a lower natural harmonic series, so the hornist has a total of seven natural harmonic series at his disposal, from which he can produce every chromatic pitch by means of overblowing. The activation of the 2nd valve, for example, lowers the horn’s pitch by a semitone, making it a horn in E; by pressing the 1st valve the player has an Eb horn, and so on.

Fingering:

As on the trumpet there are seven different fingerings on the horn. Each fingering lowers the natural harmonic series by a semitone:

HO_sound-production_01_en_607x110
HO_sound-production_02_en_603x113

When the lowest note is played (B1 pitch = 7th fingering) the horn’s tube length increases from 3.86 m to 5.5 m. The fact that a 5.5 m long air column has to be vibrated to sound this note means that response is harder in the lower register than in the middle and upper registers. The low notes have a low frequency and correspondingly long vibrations. In the narrow tube the amplitude cannot develop in proportion to the long vibrations, which gives the forced notes in the low register a rather rough sound.

Leaps up to the higher range can be problematical because the notes of the natural harmonic series are very close together at this level, so that even the slightest change in lip tension alters the pitch (sound production is also influenced by factors such as the instrument’s temperature or fluid in the tube). It is far easier for the hornist to attack a very high note abruptly than it is to leap from a low note to a high one.

AUDIO
  • Scherzo Brillante (Horn)
  • Vienna Horn Variations
  • Adagio and Toccata
  • Blue Danube Waltz - Horn solo
  • Horn meets Brass & Percussion

Open External Player

Horn in F - Tonerzeugung

Der 1. Naturton wird beim Horn in F nicht verwendet (obwohl ihn manche Hornisten erzeugen können), sehr wohl jedoch beim Horn in hoch B,  wo er gut anspricht.

Der Tonumfang des F-Horns beginnt daher mit dem 2. Naturton und reicht bis zum 16. Naturton, wobei die Naturtöne 12 bis 16 sehr schwer zu spielen sind.

Durch das Betätigen der Ventile, d.h. durch die stufenweise Rohrverlängerung, kann die Naturtonreihe des Instrumentes um 6 Halbtonschritte gesenkt werden.

Durch jede Ventilschaltung entsteht eine tiefere Naturtonreihe; insgesamt stehen also 7 Naturtonreihen zur Verfügung, aus denen der Spieler durch Überblasen jede chromatische Tonhöhe ansteuern kann. Durch das Drücken des 2. Ventils wird die Stimmung des Horns beispielsweise um einen Halbton nach unten versetzt und ergibt ein Horn in E, durch Drücken des 1. Ventils ein Horn in Es usw.

Griffweise:

Das Horn kennt – wie die Trompete – 7 verschiedene Griffmöglichkeiten. Jeder Griff senkt die Naturtonreihe jeweils um einen Halbton:

HO_sound-production_01_de_607x110
HO_sound-production_02_de_603x113

Beim Spielen des tiefsten Tones (H1-Stimmung = 7. Griff) wird das Rohr des Horns von 386 cm auf 550 cm verlängert. Da dementsprechend eine 5,5 m lange Luftsäule in Bewegung gebracht werden muss, ist die Tonansprache im tiefen Register schwieriger als im mittleren und hohen Register. Die tiefen Töne haben eine geringe Frequenz und dementsprechend lange Schwingungen. Die Amplitude kann sich im engen Rohr nicht proportional zu den langen Schwingungen entfalten. Aus diesem Grund klingen auch die forciert gespielten tiefen Töne etwas rau.

Tonsprünge in die oberste Skala können problematisch sein, da die Töne der Naturtonskala in diesem Bereich sehr eng liegen, so dass bereits die geringste Veränderung der Lippenspannung eine Tonhöhenänderung bewirkt (zusätzlich beeinflussen Faktoren wie die Temperatur des Instrumentes oder Flüssigkeit im Rohr die Tonerzeugung). Wesentlich leichter als ein Sprung von einem tiefen zu einem hohen Ton ist es für den Hornisten, einen sehr hohen Ton unvermittelt anzublasen.