AUDIO
  • Marimba Fantasy
  • Yellow after the Rain
  • Dinsan
  • Sunshine in Vienna
  • Strings & Marimba
  • Solo for Marimbaphone

Open External Player

Products including
Marimbaphone:


Construction

Bars

The frame with its bars is mounted on a metal stand (very occasionally on a wooden one) with wheels.

The modern marimba is equipped with chromatically tuned wood bars arranged in two rows, usually on two levels with one about 4 cm higher than the other. The bars are ordered according to size and have holes drilled at their nodal points through which a string is threaded and held taut. The bars are suspended from this string, which rests on pegs mounted on the frame. This prevents the bars from sagging and at the same time ensures that they can vibrate freely. The number of bars depends on the instrument’s compass.

Unlike vibrating strings, halving the length of a bar raises its pitch by two octaves. It is for this reason that the difference in length between the lowest bar and the highest is relatively small.

The bars used on the marimba are made of rosewood and are somewhat softer than xylophone bars. In addition, the bars are thinner than the xylophone’s and wider and longer at the bottom end. Marimba bars can be broken by very hard marimba mallets and especially by xylophone mallets.

Tuning

The pitch of each bar is determined by its length, thickness and the density of the material; the width has no influence on pitch. The longer, thinner and denser the bar the lower the pitch. The shorter, thicker and less dense the bar, the higher the pitch.

The bars can be tuned by adding or taking away material. When tuning, the following rule applies: if material is filed off the ends of the bar, the pitch of the fundamental note is raised. If, on the other hand, material is carved out of the center of the bar (either from the top or the bottom), thus making it thinner, the pitch of the fundamental note is lowered. By removing material from different parts of the bar it is even possible to tune single partials. If it is necessary to improve the tuning quickly, the fundamental note can be raised by adding lumps of wax, a practice common in Africa.

Modern marimbas are generally tuned to 442 hertz equal temperament. However, marimba makers produce instruments in various tunings, because of the differences in tuning pitch used by orchestras in different parts of the world.

Resonator tubes

Marimbas are equipped with resonator tubes on the underside, the resonators for the lowest notes being rectangular. Each bar has its own resonator.

Resonators amplify the partial to which they are tuned by means of resonance: according to tradition this can be the 1st, 2nd or 3rd partial. The resonators of modern orchestra marimbas amplify the 1st partial (= fundamental). The plugs that close off the resonators at a certain depth can be moved, allowing precise tuning of the instrument. Resonators also have a mellowing effect on the timbre.

To improve the instrument’s appearance there are often ”false” resonators between the ”black keys”, which are more visible to the audience than the ”white keys”. These extra resonators have no effect on the timbre.

AUDIO
  • Marimba Fantasy
  • Yellow after the Rain
  • Dinsan
  • Sunshine in Vienna
  • Strings & Marimba
  • Marimbaphon

Open External Player

Marimbaphon
ist enthalten in den Produkten:


Marimbaphon - Bauweise

Klangstäbe

Der Rahmen mit den Klangstäben ist auf einem Metallgestell (selten aus Holz) montiert, das auf Rädchen steht.

Das moderne Marimbaphon ist mit chromatisch gestimmten Klangstäben (Klangplatten) aus Holz bestückt, die in zwei Reihen – meist auf zwei Ebenen (ca. 4 cm Höhendifferenz) – angeordnet sind. Die Klangstäbe sind der Breite nach an ihren Knotenpunkten durchbohrt und hängen straff auf einer Schnur, die wiederum auf Stiften aufliegt, die auf dem Rahmen montiert sind. So wird ein Durchhängen der Klangstäbe verhindert, gleichzeitig wird ein freies Vibrieren der Klangstäbe garantiert. Die Anzahl der Stäbe ist je nach Tonumfang verschieden.

Anders als bei schwingenden Saiten bewirkt eine Verkürzung der Klangstäbe um die Hälfte (in der Länge) eine Erhöhung um zwei Oktaven. Aus diesem Grund ist der Längenunterschied zwischen dem tiefsten und höchsten Klangstab relativ gering.

Im Gegensatz zum Xylophon werden beim Marimbaphon etwas weichere Klanghölzer aus Palisander oder Rosenholz bevorzugt. Darüber hinaus sind die Klangstäbe dünner als beim Xylophon und in der Tiefe auch breiter und länger. Die Klangstäbe der Marimba können durch sehr harte Marimba- und vor allem durch Xylophonschlägel zerbrochen werden.

Stimmung

Die Tonhöhe jedes Stabes wird von der Länge, Dicke und Dichte des Materials bestimmt, die Breite hat auf die Tonhöhe keinen Einfluss. Je länger, dünner und dichter der Stab, desto tiefer ist die Tonhöhe. Je kürzer, dicker und weniger dicht der Stab, desto höher ist der Ton.

Die Stäbe können durch das Wegnehmen oder Hinzufügen von Material gestimmt werden. Dabei gilt folgende Regel: Wird Material von den Enden des Stabes abgefeilt, erhöht sich die Tonhöhe des Grundtones. Wird dagegen Material vom Mittelbereich des Stabes herausgeschnitzt (Ober- oder Unterseite), so dass der Stab dünner wird, vertieft sich die Grundtonhöhe. Durch das Entfernen von Material an verschiedenen Stellen des Stabes ist es sogar möglich, einzelne Teiltöne zu stimmen. Zur kurzfristigen Verbesserung der Stimmung gibt es auch die Möglichkeit, die Grundtonhöhe durch Hinzufügung von Wachsklumpen zu erhöhen, eine Praxis, die besonders in Afrika geübt wird.

Moderne Marimbaphone sind in der Regel auf 442 Hertz temperiert gestimmt. Von den Herstellern werden aber mehrere Stimmungen angeboten, da sich die Orchester weltweit auf verschiedene Stimmtonhöhen berufen.

Resonanzröhren

Marimbas weisen an der Unterseite Resonanzröhren oder Resonanzschachteln auf, wobei jeder Klangstab eine eigene Resonanzröhre hat.

Resonanzröhren verstärken durch Resonanz jenen Teilton, auf den sie gestimmt sind: Dies kann – je nach Tradition – der 1., 2. oder 3. Teilton sein. Die Resonanzröhren moderner Orchestermarimbas verstärken den 1. Teilton (= Grundton). Sie können durch Verschieben der Scheiben, welche die Rohrenden verschließen, präzise gestimmt werden. Resonanzröhren machen den Klang auch etwas weicher.

Der Optik wegen befinden sich zwischen den „schwarzen Tasten“, die für den Zuschauer besser zu sehen sind als die „weißen Tasten“, oftmals auch Resonanzröhren, die jedoch für den Klang keine Bedeutung haben.