AUDIO
  • Marimba Fantasy
  • Yellow after the Rain
  • Dinsan
  • Sunshine in Vienna
  • Strings & Marimba
  • Solo for Marimbaphone

Open External Player

Products including
Marimbaphone:


Sound production

Attack

Sound is produced by striking the bars with mallets. One, two or three mallets can be held in each hand. The technique with three mallets is difficult and requires a considerable amount of time to prepare. The mallets are constructed in such a way that they immediately spring back after the attack and so avoid damping the vibration of the bars. If the mallet head remains lying on the bar it is known as a dead stroke, which is used as a special effect. The mallets are held with the palm facing downward. The low notes require a stronger attack to set the larger bars vibrating.

The chromatic orchestra marimba consists of two parallel rows of bars. Each bar has its own pitch; the shorter the bar, the higher the pitch. The bars are arranged in the same way as the keys on a piano; the low notes (= long bars) are on the left, the high notes (= short bars) on the right of the musician.

As on the xylophone and other mallet-played instruments the width of the marimba’s bars varies according to their pitch, which can cause problems. The span of the lowest octave is 61.5 cm, that of the highest 41 cm. The widest possible span for a marimbist with two mallets in one hand is a thirteenth (octave + a sixth), depending on the register.

Choice of mallets

The marimbist can choose from a variety of different mallets which are divided into three degrees of hardness: soft, medium and hard.

Softer mallets damp the higher partials making the timbre softer, rounder and more gentle (although the sound at the top end is muffled and the pitch cannot easily be determined); harder mallets favor the higher partials, making the timbre brighter, harder and shriller (at the bottom end the timbre is so hard that the pitch can hardly be determined).

The resonance is not damped.

AUDIO
  • Marimba Fantasy
  • Yellow after the Rain
  • Dinsan
  • Sunshine in Vienna
  • Strings & Marimba
  • Marimbaphon

Open External Player

Marimbaphon
ist enthalten in den Produkten:


Marimbaphon - Tonerzeugung

Anschlag

Die Tonerzeugung erfolgt durch Anschlag der Klangstäbe mit Schlägeln. Es werden ein, zwei oder drei Schlägel pro Hand verwendet. Die Schlägel sind so gebaut, dass sie unmittelbar nach dem Anschlag zurückfedern, damit die Schwingungen des Klangstabes nicht abgedämpft werden. Schläge, bei denen der Schlägel auf dem Klangstab liegen bleibt, sogenannte dead strokes, sind ein besonderer Effekt. Bei der Haltung der Schlägel ist die Handfläche nach unten gerichtet. Bei den tiefen Tönen muss der Anschlag entsprechend kräftiger sein, damit die größeren Klangplatten in Schwingung versetzt werden können.

Das chromatische Orchester-Marimbaphon besteht aus zwei parallel angeordneten Stabfolgen. Jeder Stab hat eine eigene Tonhöhe: je kürzer der Klangstab ist, desto höher klingt der Ton. Die Anordnung der Klangstäbe entspricht jener des Klaviers: Die tiefen Töne (= lange Klangstäbe) sind auf der linken Seite, die hohen Töne (= kurze Stäbe) auf der rechten Seite des Spielers.

Die Breite der Klangstäbe ist beim Marimbaphon (wie beim Xylophon und anderen Stabspielen auch) je nach Tonlage verschieden, was den SpielerInnen Probleme bereiten kann. Die Spannweite der tiefsten Oktave beträgt 61,5 cm, die der höchsten Oktave 41 cm. Die Spannweite, die ein Spieler mit zwei Schlägeln in einer Hand erreichen kann beträgt – je nach Lage – maximal eine Tredecim (Oktave + Sext).

Wahl der Schlägel

Der Spieler hat die Möglichkeit, verschieden harte Schlägel zu wählen. Die Schlägel werden nach 3 Härtegraden eingeteilt: weich, mittel und hart.

Weichere Schlägel dämpfen die höheren Teiltöne, der Klang wird weicher, runder und sanfter (in den Höhen wird der Klang aber dumpf und die Tonhöhe ist schwer erfassbar). Harte Schlägel fördern die hohen Teiltöne, der Klang wird heller, härter und schriller (in den tiefen Lagen wird der Klang so hart, dass die Tonhöhe kaum zu erfassen ist)

Der Nachklang wird nicht gedämpft.