AUDIO
  • Pan (Oboe)
  • Spring Breeze
  • Reflective Dialogs
  • Evolutionary Progress

Open External Player

History

Aulos and tibia – ancient forerunners

Double-reed wind instruments have been used since antiquity; the earliest images depicting such instruments are from Mesopotamia from about 3,000 BC.

In the Greek and Roman civilizations double-reed instruments were the most highly regarded of all instruments. Playing the aulos or tibia was associated with high social standing and the musicians enjoyed great popularity and many privileges.

Portrayals of aulos players in Ancient Greece traditionally depict a musician blowing two instruments; this proves that the aulos was a double instrument. Different types of aulos were played on different occasions – as was the Roman tibia – for example on the battlefield, during the preparations for a banquet, at festivities and in the theater, where it accompanied the chorus.

The shawm – the minstrels’ instrument

It can no longer be ascertained for certain whether modern oboes are direct descendants of the Greek and Roman double-reed instruments or whether they were lost during the migration of peoples in Europe and returned there later by way of Byzantium and Asia.

In the Europe of the early middle ages, however, an instrument was in use that consisted of a single tube and was known as the calamus (calamus is the Latin word for reed). It is from this word that the English name shawm was derived (as was the German Schalmei and the French chalemie and chalumeau). The term shawm was not restricted to any one single instrument but described an instrument type which was played with a single or double reed.

The Renaissance shawm family included not only crumhorns, dolcians and bagpipes but also the bombarde or pommer groups, which are regarded as the direct precursors of modern double-reed instruments.

In keeping with Renaissance custom, the bombarde family consisted of instruments of every pitch, from the treble shawm (third octave above middle C) to the great bass shawm (contraoctave). The treble shawm was the oldest member of the bombarde family, and, like all bombardes, had a wind-cap which was taken into the mouth for blowing. The double-reed was inside this wind-cap and was not touched by the musician who consequently had no possibility of influencing the sound, which was relatively static.

Renaissance shawms were played mainly by itinerant minstrels, who did not specialize in any one instrument but could play several different ones.

From the shawm to the hautboy

During the 17th century the treble shawm evolved into the hoboy or hautboy (known in France as the hautbois), which was tuned to C. This early oboe no longer had a wind-cap and the musician’s lips made direct contact with the double-reed, which meant he was able to inject more life into the instrument’s sound. The tube, which was made of boxwood and on the shawm had been a single piece, now consisted of three parts, the upper and lower joints and the bell. In addition, three keys were added (although these were reduced to two a short time later). The bell was bordered by a contraction rim.

These innovations originated in France and were probably due in no small measure to the instrument-making families of Hotteterre (the name had been a byword for innovative instrument-making since the 16th century) and Philidor. Like all baroque woodwinds the hautboy’s timbre differed throughout its range because intermediate notes which were played with cross-fingerings sounded more veiled.

In the late 17th century the hautboy was accepted into the orchestra. Jean Baptiste Lully, court composer to the "Sun King" Louis XIV presumably used it in his ballet L’Amour Malade in 1657. Robert Cambert included the instrument in his opera Pomone in 1671. From that point on the hautboy flourished, its heyday lasting until the end of the 18th century. During this period up to thirty hautboy players were engaged in the grande écurie, the French court orchestra.

253_Oboe_220x146.jpg

Oboe, Europe, Adi Schlinger, ca. 1730. Courtesy of Heinz Preiss (Musikinstrumentenmuseum Schloss Kremsegg, Austria, Sammlung Streitwieser)

Starting from France the hautboy rapidly gained great popularity all over Europe. Unlike the flute there were no particular national styles or schools of oboe playing initially; the musicians passed the latest playing techniques and instruments around among themselves. The baroque hautboy was a special case inasmuch as it was the only instrument to be used in every context, from military to chamber music to the opera, the orchestra and sacred music.

In the orchestra hautboys were initially used mainly to double the violins, although they had asserted themselves by the Classical period and were performing functions of their own. In the opera orchestra they were given their first solo roles (obligatos) in arias. The instrument’s repertoire in chamber music originally consisted chiefly of pieces for consorts (two oboes, two tenor oboes [later replaced by horns] and two bassoons). At the beginning of the 18th century countless solo sonatas, suites with basso continuo, suites for trios (oboe, flute and violin) and concertos were produced. In the second half of the 18th century the oboe quartet (oboe with a string trio) emerged. At the same time the hautboy was gradually losing its place as the lead instrument in military ensembles to the clarinet.

In the 18th century the hautboy underwent continual improvements to its construction and sound. The bore was narrowed (from around an average of 5.9 mm to 4.8 mm), the reeds became narrower and shorter, the walls of the tube thinner and the tone holes smaller. A direct result of these measures was an increase in range: whereas the instrument’s range was given as C4 to D6 at the turn of the 18th century it increased during the next hundred years to G6. The sound of the new classical hautboy was narrower and more focused than that of its predecessors and its volume corresponded to that of the violin or the flute.

The most renowned oboe makers of the time were Christophe Delusse and the duo Thomas Lot and Charles Bizey in France, David Denner, Wilhelm Oberländer and Carl Golde in Germany and Thomas Stanesby and Caleb Gedney in England. In the second half of the 18th century the instruments made by Augustin Grenser and Jakob Grundmann in Dresden became accepted as standard all over Europe.

The 19th century – a mechanical revolution

In 1781 Grundmann added a third key to the oboe, and from that point on German instrument makers began adding more and more keys. The aim was to provide a tone hole which could be closed by a key for every half tone so that cross-fingerings would no longer be necessary. This trend was followed in France, albeit with some misgivings, since many musicians felt that the quality of the sound suffered from a surfeit of keys.

In around 1825 oboes with fifteen tone holes and ten keys were being made in both Germany and France. Despite this the instruments had a fundamental difference, since the differing sound esthetics governing oboe-making had led to the emergence of two distinct types which later became known as the “French” oboe and the “German” oboe.

In France the trend was toward narrower tubing, thinner walls and thinner reeds, whereas in Germany a wider bore was retained along with the characteristics of the classic oboe – thick-walled tubing, a contraction rim round the inside of the bell, the barrel (baluster) and rings on the upper joint with the simple mechanism featuring long-levered keys mounted on wooden blocks. Stephan Koch (1772–1828) and Joseph Sellner (1787–1843) developed an innovative version in 1820 in Vienna which combined features of both models: a classic appearance with a bore that was extremely narrow by the standards of the time.

Both the French oboe and the Viennese “Sellner-Koch oboe” had a bright sound and were distinctly audible in the orchestra, whereas the German oboe retained the darker timbre of the classical era which was more conducive to tonal blending.

In France, inventive instrument makers provided the oboe with a constant stream of technical innovations, among them the speaker key (which made overblowing unnecessary), a mechanism that made a complex interaction of levers and keys possible (introduced by the Triébert family), Theobald Boehm’s ring key (operating a key by means of a ring on a rod; at the same time another tone hole is closed) and Auguste Buffet’s pin springs.

Theobald Boehm (1794–1881), a trained goldsmith and flutist, developed a revolutionary keywork for the transverse flute which was received with great enthusiasm in France. Some parts of this system were subsequently adapted for use on the other woodwind instruments, although a radically altered Boehm oboe failed to gain acceptance on account of its novel sound (as did a Boehm bassoon).

Modern oboes

From the 1860s onward the instrument maker Frédéric Triébert (1813–1878) developed oboes together with the oboist Apollon M. R. Barret (ca. 1804–1879) which are direct antecedents of today’s instruments. Triébert’s système 6 with its extremely narrow bore and speaker key was patented in 1872. Ten years later the oboe professor Georges Gillet pronounced it the official model at the Conservatoire de Paris. After the Second World War this conservatoire model, modified only slightly, became the international standard.

The Viennese oboe played in Austria today is a development on a model made in the 1840s by the instrument maker Carl Golde (1803–1873) in Dresden. Its body still has the classic form, with the flared bell, the barrel (baluster) on the upper joint and the widening at the tenon joints. The tubing is shorter and more conical than that of the French oboe. The keywork, which follows the pattern of the German mechanism, was improved and extended during the 20th century.

Although the oboe was used almost exclusively in the orchestra in the 19th century, 20th century composers rediscovered the instrument’s potential as a solo instrument. This was due in no small measure to the outstanding oboists Leon Goossens (1897–1988), who established a number of techniques which facilitated playing (diaphragm breathing, relaxed embouchure) and Heinz Holliger (born 1939), who has propagated countless new playing techniques.

AUDIO
  • Pan (Solo-Oboe)
  • Spring Breeze
  • Reflective Dialogs
  • Evolutionary Progress
  • A Gentle Thought of Summer

Open External Player

Französische Oboe
ist enthalten in den Produkten:


Oboe - Geschichte

Antike Vorläufer – Aulos und Tibia

Schon im Altertum waren Blasinstrumente mit Doppelrohrblatt bekannt. Die frühesten ikonografischen Darstellungen solcher Instrumente stammen aus Mesopotamien um 3000 v. Chr.

Doppelrohrblattinstrumente entwickelten sich bei den Griechen und Römern zu den angesehensten aller Instrumente. Das Spielen von Aulos und Tibia war mit sozialem Rang verbunden, die Musiker erfreuten sich großer Beliebtheit und genossen Privilegien.

Griechische Aulosspieler wurden traditionell mit zwei Auloi an den Lippen dargestellt, was beweist, dass der Aulos ein Doppelinstrument war. Verschiedene Arten von Auloi wurden, ebenso wie die römischen Tibia, zu den verschiedensten Gelegenheiten gespielt: während der Schlacht, bei der Speisenzubereitung, bei festlichen Anlässen und im Theater, wo der Aulos den Chor begleitete.

Schalmei – das Instrument der Spielleute

Heute ist nicht mehr eruierbar, ob die modernen Oboen direkte Nachfolger der griechischen und römischen Doppelrohrblattinstrumente sind, oder ob sie während der Völkerwanderung in Europa verloren gegangen sind und über Byzanz und Asien erneut nach Europa kamen.

Im frühmittelalterlichen Europa war jedenfalls ein Instrument in Gebrauch, das aus einer einfachen Röhre bestand und Calamus genannt wurde (lateinisch calamus = Rohr, Halm). Von Calamus leitet sich die deutsche Bezeichnung Schalmei (engl. Shawm, altfranz. Chalemie) ab. Schalmei bezeichnete in der Folge kein einzelnes Instrument, sondern einen Instrumententypus, der mit (einfachem oder doppeltem) Rohrblatt angeblasen wurde.

Zur Schalmeienfamilie der Renaissance gehörte neben Krummhörnern, Dulzianen und Sackpfeifen auch die Gruppe der Bomharten oder Pommer, die als direkte Vorgänger der modernen Doppelrohrblattinstrumente anzusehen sind.

Wie in den Instrumentenfamilien der Renaissance üblich, waren auch in der Familie der Pommer alle Stimmlagen vertreten, von der Diskant-Schalmei (3-gestrichene Oktave) bis zum Großbasspommer (Kontraoktave). Die Diskant-Schalmei war das älteste Instrument der Pommer-Familie. Sie besaß – wie alle Pommer – eine Windkapsel, die beim Anblasen in den Mund genommen wurde. Das Doppelrohrblatt befand sich innerhalb dieser Windkapsel und wurde beim Anblasen nicht berührt. Der Spieler hatte also keine Möglichkeit, den Klang zu beeinflussen – dieser war relativ statisch.

Die Schalmeien der Renaissance wurden meist von fahrenden Spielleuten gespielt, die mehrere Instrumente beherrschten und auf kein Instrument spezialisiert waren.

Von der Schalmei zum Hautboy

Im Laufe des 17. Jahrhunderts entwickelte sich aus der Diskant-Schalmei der in C gestimmte Hoboy oder Hautboy (franz. hautbois).Diese frühe Oboe hatte keine Windkapsel mehr, der Spieler hatte nun direkten Lippenkontakt mit dem Doppelrohrblatt und bekam dadurch die Möglichkeit, den Oboenklang zu beleben.. Das Rohr aus Buchsbaumholz – bei der Schalmei noch aus einem Stück – wurde dreigeteilt: in Ober- und Unterstück sowie Schallstück. Außerdem wurden 3 Klappen eingeführt (wenig später wurden sie auf 2 reduziert). Der Schallstückrand war mit einem Wulst versehen. Diese Neuerungen gingen von Frankreich aus, vermutlich unter maßgeblicher Beteiligung der Instrumentenbauerfamilien Hotteterre (deren Werkstatt seit dem 16. Jahrhundert für innovativen Instrumentenbau stand) und Philidor. Der Hautboy hatte – wie alle barocken Holzblasinstrumente – eine klanglich ungleichmäßige Tonskala, da die mit Gabelgriffen erzeugten Zwischentöne stumpfer klangen.

Im späten 17. Jahrhundert wurde der Hautboy ins Orchester aufgenommen. Jean Baptiste Lully, Hofkomponist des "Sonnenkönigs" Ludwig XIV, verwendete ihn vermutlich schon 1657 in seinem Ballett „L’amour Malade“, Robert Cambert 1671 in seiner Oper „Pomone“. In der Folge erfuhr der Hautboy eine Blütezeit, die bis zum Ende des 18. Jahrhundert anhalten sollte. Während dieser Zeit waren in der grande écurie, dem Orchester am französischen Hof, an die 30 Hautboyisten angestellt.

Oboe, ca. 1730

Oboe, Europa, Adi Schlinger, ca. 1730. Leihgabe: Heinz Preiss (Musikinstrumentenmuseum Schloss Kremsegg, Austria, Sammlung Streitwieser)

Von Frankreich aus trat der Hautboy seinen Siegeszug durch ganz Europa an. Im Gegensatz zur Flöte gab es im Oboenspiel zunächst keine besonderen nationalen Ausprägungen oder Schulen, die Musiker tauschten untereinander die jeweils neuesten Spieltechniken und Instrumente aus. Der barocke Hautboy nahm insofern eine Sonderstellung ein, dass er als einziger universell eingesetzt wurde – von der Militärmusik über Kammermusik, Oper und Orchester bis zur sakralen Musik.

Im Orchester wurden Hautboys anfangs meist als Verdoppelung der Violinen eingesetzt (bis zur Klassik hatten sie sich jedoch emanzipiert und führten eigenständige Funktionen aus), und im Opernorchester erhielten sie in Arien die ersten solistischen Funktionen (Obligatos ). Das kammermusikalische Repertoire bestand zunächst hauptsächlich aus Stücken für Consorts (2 Oboen, 2 Tenoroboen (später Hörner) und 2 Fagotte). Anfang des 18. Jahrhunderts entstanden dann unzählige Solosonaten, Suiten mit basso continuo, Triosuiten (für Oboe, Flöte und Violine) und Konzerte. Das Oboenquartett (Oboe mit Streichertrio) kam in der zweiten Hälfte des 18. Jahrhunderts auf. Zur selben Zeit wurde der Hautboy als Hauptinstrument in Militärensembles langsam durch die Klarinette verdrängt.

Im 18. Jahrhundert wurden die technischen und klanglichen Eigenschaften des Hautboy ständig verfeinert. Die Mensur wurde enger (von durchschnittlich 5,9 auf 4,8 mm), die Rohrblätter enger und kürzer, das Rohr dünnwandiger, die Tonlöcher kleiner. Als direkte Folge stieg die Tonhöhe: Wird der Tonumfang noch um 1700 mit c1 bis d3 angegeben, so erweitert er sich im Laufe des 18. Jahrhunderts auf g3. Der Klang des neuen klassischen Hautboy war dünner und kompakter als der seiner Vorgänger, die Lautstärke entsprach in etwa der einer Violine oder Querflöte.

Zu den angesehensten Oboenbauern der Zeit gehörten in Frankreich Thomas Lot und Charles Bizey sowie Christophe Delusse; in Deutschland David Denner, Wilhelm Oberländer und Carl Golde; in England Thomas Stanesby und Caleb Gedney. In der zweiten Hälfte des 18. Jahrhunderts wurden die Modelle der Dresdener Instrumentenbauer Augustin Grenser und Jakob Grundmann in ganz Europa zum Standard.

19. Jahrhundert – mechanische Revolution

1781 fügte Grundmann zu den zwei Klappen des Hautboy eine weitere hinzu. In der Folge versahen deutsche Instrumentenbauer das Instrument mit immer mehr Klappen. Die Tendenz ging dahin, jedem Halbton ein eigenes Tonloch zu geben, das mit einer Klappe verschließbar sein sollte, und somit die Gabelgriffe überflüssig zu machen. In Frankreich folgte man dieser Entwicklung, wenn auch zögerlich, da viele Instrumentalisten die Meinung vertraten, zu viele Klappen schaden der Tonqualität.

Um 1825 wurden sowohl im deutschen als auch im französischen Raum Oboen mit 15 Tonlöchern und 10 Klappen gebaut. Trotzdem unterschieden sich die Instrumente grundsätzlich voneinander: Die unterschiedliche Klangästhetik hatte im Oboenbau zwei verschiedene Grundtypen herauskristallisiert, die später als „französische“ und „deutsche“ Oboe bezeichnet wurden.

In Frankreich setzte sich die Tendenz zu engerer Bohrung, dünnerer Rohrwand und schmäleren Rohrblättern kontinuierlich fort, während in Deutschland eine weitere Bohrung sowie die Charakteristika des klassischen Hautboy – das dickwandige Rohr, der Wulst am inneren Schallstückende, die Zwiebel (Baluster) und Ringe am Oberstück sowie die einfache Mechanik mit langstieligen, auf Holzblöcken gelagerten Klappen – bewahrt wurde. Eine innovative Mischform entwickelten Stephan Koch (1772–1828) und Joseph Sellner (1787–1843) um 1820 in Wien: eine Oboe mit klassischem Äußeren und für die damalige Zeit extrem enger Bohrung.

Die französische Oboe sowie die Wiener „Sellner-Koch-Oboe“ hatten einen hellen Klang, der aus dem Orchester herausstach, die deutsche Oboe behielt den dunkleren und mischfähigen Klang der klassischen Ära.

In Frankreich erhielt die Oboe durch innovationsfreudige Instrumentenbauer laufend neue mechanische Details: die Oktavklappe (die das Überblasen überflüssig machte), die von der Familie Trièbert eingeführte Kugelblocklagerung (längsgelagerte Mechanik, die ein komplexes Zusammenspiel von Hebeln und Klappen ermöglichte), Theobald Böhms sogenannte Brillenklappe (Bedienung einer Klappe durch einen Ring auf einer Rute; gleichzeitig wird ein anderes Tonloch geschlossen) sowie die Nadelfedern von Auguste Buffet sind nur einige davon.

Theobald Böhm (1794–1881), gelernter Uhrmacher und Flötist, entwickelte für die Querflöte einen revolutionären Klappenmechanismus, der in Frankreich begeistert aufgenommen wurde. Teile dieses Systems wurden auch auf die anderen Holzblasinstrumente übertragen. Eine radikale Böhm-Oboe (wie auch ein Böhm-Fagott) konnte sich jedoch aufgrund ihres neuartigen Klangcharakters nicht durchsetzen.

Die modernen Oboen

Ab den 1860ern entwickelte der Instrumentenbauer Frédéric Triébert (1813–1878) zusammen mit dem Oboisten Apollon M. R. Barret (ca. 1804–1879) Oboen, deren Nachkommen heute noch gespielt werden. Triéberts système 6 mit extrem enger Bohrung und Oktavklappe wurde 1872 patentiert. Zehn Jahre später erklärte der Oboenprofessor Georges Gillet  sie zum offiziellen Modell des Conservatoire de Paris. Nach dem zweiten Weltkrieg wurde das nur wenig verbesserte Conservatoire-Modell zum internationalen Standard.

Die heute in Österreich gespielte Wiener Oboe geht auf ein Modell des Dresdener Instrumentenbauers Carl Golde (1803–1873) aus den 40er Jahren des 19. Jahrhunderts zurück. Sie verfügt noch über die klassische Korpusform – den ausladenden Schallbecher, den Baluster am Oberstück und die Erweiterungen an den Zapfenverbindungen. Das Rohr der Wiener Oboe ist konischer gebohrt und kürzer als das der Französischen Oboe. Die an die deutsche Oboe angelehnte Mechanik wurde im Laufe des 20. Jahrhunderts verbessert und erweitert.

Wurde die Oboe im 19. Jahrhundert fast ausschließlich im Orchester eingesetzt, so entdeckten sie die Komponisten des 20. Jahrhunderts wieder als Soloinstrument. Dies war zu einem Großteil das Verdienst der herausragenden Oboisten Leon Goossens (1897–1988), der einige spieltechnische Erleichterungen etablierte (Zwerchfellatmung, lockeren Ansatz) und Heinz Holliger (* 1939), der unzählige neue Spieltechniken propagierte.