AUDIO
  • Breath of Dawn After Storm (Piccolo)
  • Sonata in G for piccolo
  • Souvenir de Reveillon (Piccolo)

Open External Player

Construction

Tubing

The piccolo is about half the size of the concert flute.

Whereas the flute consists of three parts, the piccolo’s tubing has only two, the headjoint and the body (or middle joint). It does not generally have a footjoint. The headjoint is cylindrical, the body conical, although it can also be the other way round. In addition to piccolos with tubing either entirely of wood or entirely of metal combinations such as a silver head with a wood body and plastic tubing are also used.

The embouchure in the headjoint is only very slightly smaller than the flute’s, although narrower.

Piccolos with a metal headjoint very often have a lip plate like the flute, whereas the embouchure on purely wood piccolos is carved out of the wood. For ease of playing, flutists who often have to switch from the flute to the piccolo usually prefer piccolos with a lip plate.

Keywork

Like the flute the modern piccolo is equipped with the Boehm mechanism. Its tone holes, which are about 6 mm in diameter, are closer together and the keys are smaller. Moreover, the additional keywork for the footjoint is missing. It is for these reasons that many flutists find the piccolo easier to finger.

AUDIO
  • Breath of Dawn After Storm (Piccolo)
  • Sonata in G für Piccoloflöte
  • Souvenir de Reveillon (Piccoloflöte)

Open External Player

Piccoloflöte - Bauweise

Rohr

Die Piccoloflöte ist etwa halb so groß wie die Große Flöte.

Im Unterschied zur dreiteiligen Großen Flöte besteht das Rohr der Piccoloflöte aus zwei Teilen: Kopf(stück) und Rohrstück (oft auch "Mittelstück" genannt). Ein Fuß(stück) wie bei der Großen Flöte ist in der Regel nicht vorhanden. Das Mundstück verläuft zylindrisch, während das Rohrstück konisch zuläuft, jedoch kann es auch umgekehrt sein. Neben reinen Holz- und Metallflöten sind auch Kombinationen aus Silberkopf und Holzrohr sowie Plastikflöten in Gebrauch.

Das Anblasloch im Kopfstück der Piccoloflöte ist nur unwesentlich kürzer als das der Großen Flöte, jedoch enger.

Piccolos mit Kopfstück aus Metall haben sehr oft eine Ansatzplatte wie die Große Flöte, während aus reinen Holzflöten ein Anblasloch ausgeschnitten ist. FlötistInnen, die in der Orchesterpraxis oft zwischen Großer Flöte und Piccolo wechseln müssen, ziehen meist Modelle mit Ansatzplatte vor. Damit können sie den Ansatz beibehalten.

Mechanik

Das moderne Piccolo ist wie die Große Flöte mit Böhm'scher Klappenmechanik ausgestattet. Seine Tonlöcher, die ca. 6 mm Durchmesser haben, liegen jedoch enger beieinander und die Klappen sind kleiner. Zudem fällt die zusätzliche Mechanik für das Fußstück weg. Aus diesen Gründen wird das Spielen des Piccolo von vielen FlötistInnen grifftechnisch als einfacher empfunden.