AUDIO
  • Lemonade Bitter (Piccolo trumpet)
  • Paper Airplane (Piccolo trumpet)
  • Brandenburg Concerto#2-1st mov
  • Abblasen (Piccolo trumpet)

Open External Player

Symbolism

The golden age of high-pitched trumpets was the baroque period. For baroque musicians, the sound ideal was the human voice. The clarino notes, which were extremely difficult to play on the long baroque trumpet, sounded delicate and clear, like a flute, and resembled the treble, the highest-pitched singing voice of the period, more than any other instrument. The baroque clarino notes are the next step in taking the human voice up toward heaven, and thus symbolize man’s striving for God.

In this quest for perfection the art of clarino playing – of playing the highest naturals in the trumpet’s range – was literally carried to new heights.

The clarino playing technique gradually replaced deep military trumpets as symbols of court representation. The higher-pitched trumpets were regarded as refined and noble; clarino playing was associated with high standing and social status, because the musicians played at court – for emperors and princes – and not for the “peasant rabble”.

464_Bachtrompete_220x146.jpg

Bach trumpet in F, Mainz, Germany, brothers Alexander, perhaps 1952. Specially developed in 1934 for performances of J.S. Bach’s music (Musikinstrumentenmuseum Schloss Kremsegg, Austria, Streitwieser collection)

AUDIO
  • Lemonade Bitter (Piccolotrompete)
  • Paper Airplane (Piccolo trumpet)
  • Brandenburg Concerto#2-1st mov
  • Abblasen (Piccolo trumpet)

Open External Player

Piccolotrompete - Symbolik

Das goldene Zeitalter der hohen Trompetenstimmen ist im Barock anzusiedeln. Das höchste Klangideal für einen Barockmusiker war die menschliche Stimme. Die Clarintöne, die auf der langen Barocktrompete äußerst schwierig hervorzubringen waren, klangen flötenartig zart und klar und kamen dem Diskant, der damaligen höchsten menschlichen Singstimme, von allen Instrumenten am nächsten. Die barocken Clarintöne sind die unmittelbare Fortsetzung der menschlichen Stimme gen Himmel und symbolisieren das Streben des Menschen nach dem Höchsten, nach Gott.

Daher wurde die Kunst des Clarinblasens – des Blasens der höchsten Naturtöne der Trompetenskala – im Bemühen um Perfektion im wahrsten Sinne auf die Spitze getrieben.

Das Clarinblasen lief auch den tiefen Militärtrompeten als Symbol höfischer Repräsentation immer mehr den Rang ab. Die hohen Trompetentöne galten als vornehm und edel, das Clarinblasen war verbunden mit hohem Ansehen und sozialem Status, da der Musiker bei Hofe – vor Kaisern und Fürsten – und nicht vor „Bauerngesinde“ spielte.

Bachtrompete

Bachtrompete in F, Mainz, Deutschland, Gebrüder Alexander, vielleicht 1952. Speziell für die Vorführung von J.S. Bachs Musik 1934 entworfen (Musikinstrumentenmuseum Schloss Kremsegg, Austria, Sammlung Streitwieser)