AUDIO
  • Ring Christmas Bells
  • A Cencerros Moment

Open External Player

Products including
Plate Bells:


Sound production

When playing a set of bell plates the percussionist is faced with the following difficulties: the great distance between the plates, their differing size, damping and keeping an eye both on the score and the conductor. Long sequences can only be played at a slow tempo or require a great deal of practice, especially with regard to the exact damping of notes.

The sound is influenced by the weight and hardness of the mallet: soft mallets bring the fundamental more to the fore while hard ones favor the higher partials.

The striking spot in the center of the plate produces a clear fundamental, while striking the plate in the top or bottom third (still in the middle) produces a sound so rich in harmonics that the fundamental can be masked.

The musician damps the resonance with the hand.
It should be noted that the whole body is required to damp the resonance of the largest plates, hopefully not with the result that both plate and percussionist swing back and forth through the concert hall (-:

AUDIO
  • Ring Christmas Bells
  • A Cencerros Moment

Open External Player

Plattenglocken
ist enthalten in den Produkten:


Plattenglocken - Tonerzeugung

Beim Spielen des Plattenglockenspiels sind folgende besondere Schwierigkeiten zu beachten: die großen Abstände der Platten, die unterschiedliche Größe, das Abdämpfen und der Blick zu den Noten und zum Dirigent. Längere Tonfolgen sind als nur in einem langsamen Tempo möglich, oder müssen sehr lange geübt werden, wobei exaktes Abdämpfen ein wesentlicher Bestandteil ist.

Das Gewicht und der Härtegrad der Schlägel beeinflusst den Klang: weiche Schlägel bringen eher den Grundton, harte Schlägel die Teiltöne zum Klingen.

Der Schlagfleck in der Mitte der Platte ergibt einen Klang mit deutlichem Grundton, der Schlagfleck im oberen oder unteren Drittel (Mitte) ergibt einen Klang, dessen Teiltonreichtum den Grundton verdecken kann.

Der Spieler dämpft den Nachklang mit der Hand ab.
Besonders zu erwähnen ist, dass der Spieler den Nachklang der großen Platten nur unter Einsatz seines ganzen Körpers abdämpfen kann. Hoffentlich pendelt die Platte nicht mit dem Spieler durch den Konzertsaal (-: