AUDIO
  • Bolero

Open External Player

Products including
Snare Drum:


Sound Combinations

The snare drum’s tasks are first and foremost rhythmic (rhythmic sound effects).

Probably the most famous example of this is Ravel’s Boléro, in which two drummers lead the whole orchestra and can even reduce the conductor to the status of a spectator! (-:

However, since the Romantic period it has been entrusted with more and more tonal tasks, for instance lending other instruments a sharper edge by brightening their sound. Playing techniques such as tremolos, trills and bow noises produced by the strings can be emphasized by a drum roll, but single notes such as a pizzicato can also be accentuated by the snare drum.

The snare drum’s classic task is the roll in build-ups and tutti passages. In addition to this, the instrument has also seen service as a solo instrument in 20th century works such as Ravel’s Boléro (with snares) and Bartók’s Concerto for Orchestra (without snares).

Snare drum + other percussion instruments

In the drum group in the orchestra the snare drum brightens the sound. It usually plays rhythmic figures while the bass drum with its dark timbre accentuates the underlying beat and the dark and somber-sounding tenor drum plays the rolls. The drum group is often complemented by the timpani.

The possible combinations of the snare drum with other percussion instruments are of course many and varied. Which combination is chosen depends on the type of effect desired: together with bright and ringing instruments such as the cymbals, triangle, anvil etc. the composite sound is particularly hard. With darker and softer-sounding instruments, the snare drum is often played snares off.

Snare drum + woodwinds

The woodwinds’ staccato is accentuated by the snare drum’s precise sound.

A sort of blend is achieved especially with the high woodwinds: the snare drum gives the flutes, oboes and clarinets a sharper edge, while its own sound is cloaked.

In combination with the snare drum the bassoon takes on extra brightness, but the two instruments are heard as two distinct lines.

Snare drum + brass instruments

The metallic properties of the brass’s timbre are emphasized by the snare drum. There is no blend, however, the sounds remain disparate and are heard as distinct lines.

There is a similarity between the sounds of the snare drum and the trumpet played with a metal mute, since the timbre of the muted trumpet also possesses a high noise level. The effect of the trumpet’s noise-like flutter-tonguing is also similar to that of the drum roll.

Snare drum + strings

The snare drum accentuates the strings’ staccato, marcato and pizzicato. Because the snare drum is in the treble register this is particularly effective with the high strings.

The noise level of col legno (with the wood) playing and the bowed tremolo is also emphasized, which produces an eerie effect.

AUDIO
  • Bolero

Open External Player

Kleine Trommel
ist enthalten in den Produkten:


Kleine Trommel - Klangverbindungen

Die Aufgaben der kleinen Trommel sind in erster Linie rhythmischer Natur (rhythmische Geräuscheffekte).

Das wohl bekannteste Beispiel dafür ist Ravels Boléro, bei dem zwei Schlagzeuger das gesamte Orchester führen und sogar den Dirigenten machtlos machen können! (-:

Daneben erfüllte die kleine Trommel aber seit der Romantik immer mehr auch klangliche Aufgaben, indem sie z. B. dem Klang anderer Instrumente durch Aufhellung ein stärkeres Profil gibt. Spieltechniken wie Tremoli, Triller, auch Bogengeräusche der Streicher können durch einen Trommelwirbel betont, aber auch Einzelnoten wie Pizzicati hervorgehoben werden.

Das klassische Einsatzgebiet der Kleinen Trommel ist der Wirbel bei Steigerungen und im Tutti. Daneben fungiert die Kleine Trommel im 20. Jahrhundert auch als Soloinstrument, das mit Saiten (z.B. in Ravels „Bolero“) oder ohne Saiten (z.B. in Bartóks „Konzert für Orchester“) eingesetzt wird.

Kleine Trommel + anderes Schlagwerk

Im Trommelensemble des Orchesters wirkt die Kleine Trommel aufhellend, meist führt sie rhythmische Figuren aus, während die Große Trommel mit ihrem dunklen Klang die Grundschläge betont und die dunkel und düster klingende Rührtrommel die Wirbel ausführt. Oft wird das Trommelensemble noch durch die Pauke verstärkt.

Die Einsatzmöglichkeiten der Kleinen Trommel mit diversen Schlaginstrumenten sind naturgemäß mannigfaltig. Die Kombination erfolgt je nachdem, welche Klangwirkung erzielt werden soll: Mit hellen und scharfen Instrumenten wie Becken, Triangel, Amboss etc. ergibt sich ein besonders harter Gesamtklang. Mit dunkler und weicher klingenden Instrumenten wird die Kleine Trommel oft ohne Schnarrsaiten eingesetzt.

Kleine Trommel + Holzbläser

Staccato-Spielweisen der Holzbläser werden durch den präzisen Klang der Kleinen Trommel hervorgehoben.

Eine Art Klangverschmelzung ergibt sich dabei vor allem mit den hohen Holzbläsern: Der Klang von Flöte, Oboe und Klarinette wird durch die Kleine Trommel verschärft, der Klang der Kleinen Trommel wird gedeckt.

Fagotttöne wirken in Kombination mit der Kleinen Trommel heller, die beiden Klänge werden jedoch als eigenständige Linien wahrgenommen.

Kleine Trommel + Blechbläser

Der metallische Anteil im Klang der Blechbläser wird durch die Kleine Trommel betont, wobei die Klänge nicht verschmelzen, sondern als eigenständige Linien wahrgenommen werden.

Klangähnlichkeit besteht zwischen der kleinen Trommel und einer Trompete mit Metalldämpfer, da auch der gedämpfte Trompetenklang hohen Geräuschanteil hat. Ebenso ist der geräuschhafte Flatterzungen-Effekt der Trompete von ähnlicher Wirkung wie der Trommelwirbel.

Kleine Trommel + Streichinstrumente

Die Kleine Trommel verstärkt Staccato, Marcato und Pizzicato-Klänge der Streicher. Da die Kleine Trommel in der Diskantlage klingt, ist dieser Effekt bei den hohen Streichern besonders wirksam.

Ebenso wird der Geräuschanteil der „col legno“-Spielweise (mit dem Holz) und beim Bogentremolo hervorgehoben, was einen unheimlichen Effekt erzeugt.