AUDIO
  • Mirror Maze - Cymbals

Open External Player

Products including
Cymbals:


History

Antiquity

The name cymbal (also cimbel or cymbel) comes from the Latin cymbalum (plural cymbala for a pair of cymbals) which in turn derives from the Greek kýmbalon (cup).

Cymbals originated in Asia and are among the oldest percussion instruments. They have always been closely associated with religious worship and rituals (e.g. funeral rites), although they were also used to accompany dances; dancers hung cymbals around their necks on a piece of twine and beat them in time to the music. Cymbals were only ever used in pairs and the playing techniques included single strokes, strisciatti (rotating both plates against each other) and rolls.

A wide variety of cymbals was already in existence in antiquity:

  • a large pair of cymbals with a construction that strongly resembled today's;
  • dancers' small cymbals that were played like castanets (finger cymbals);
  • plates with a slight upward curve of the rim and a pot-shaped dome (Chinese cymbal);
  • two hemispheres with leather straps or handles.

From the Orient to Europe

Cymbals were first introduced into Europe in the Middle Ages by the Saracens, who brought them to Spain and southern Italy. However, at the beginning of the last millennium they disappeared again, probably because the art of hammering had been lost. Despite this, portrayals of cymbals can be found in medieval miniatures up to about the 15th century.

It was not until the 17th century that cymbals returned to Europe, in the wake of the Turkish wars. Turkey had long been famed for the excellence of its cymbal manufacture. The music spread by Turkish military bands (Janissary music) was characterized by noisy and rhythmic instruments such as the bass drum, the side drum, cymbals, the triangle, the tambourine and the bell-tree. European military bands began imitating Janissary music at the beginning of the 18th century.

Turkish cymbal

It was not long before Turkish cymbals began to be scored – albeit very rarely – in the opera orchestra. Christoph Willibald Gluck asked for them in his opera Iphigénie en Tauride (1779), specifically in the Scythians’ chorus in Act 1 (cymbals, triangle, side drum). The best-known example of an early use of cymbals is probably Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Turkish opera from 1782, The Abduction from the Seraglio (cymbals, triangle, bass drum).

It was in the second third of the 19th century that the cymbals finally established themselves as a permanent part of the percussion section. They were used very effectively by Ludwig van Beethoven (in his 9th Symphony), Georges Bizet (in Carmen), Franz Liszt and Richard Wagner among others.

The tonal and dynamic nuances of Turkish cymbals led to their increasing popularity in the course of the 19th century. To begin with one of the plates of a pair was simply suspended from a desk hook, but this is no longer done for reasons of tone quality. Moreover, high-quality pairs of cymbals are valuable and care should be taken not to damage them by striking them with sticks made of wood or other materials.

Chinese cymbal

The Chinese cymbal did not achieve popularity until the 19th century, when marching bands discovered the virtues of its sound. Two cymbals were clashed against each other. The instrument is used only very rarely in the orchestra. In the 20th century it found its way into jazz, pop and rock music and from time to time it is also used in modern chamber and orchestral music.

AUDIO
  • Mirror Maze - Cymbals

Open External Player

Becken
ist enthalten in den Produkten:


Hängebecken - Geschichte

Antike

Der Name Cymbel (auch Cimbel oder Zymbel) kommt vom Lateinischen cymbalum (Plural cymbala, also das Beckenpaar) bzw. vom Griechischen kýmbalon.

Die Becken sind asiatischen Ursprungs und gehören zu den ältesten Schlaginstrumenten. Sie standen stets im Zusammenhang mit kultischen und religiösen Riten (z.B. Begräbnisriten), wurden aber auch als Instrumente zur Tanzbegleitung verwendet – Tänzerinnen legten sich die an einer Schnur aufgefädelten Becken um den Hals und schlugen sie zur Musik an. Die Spieltechniken der Becken, die ausschließlich paarweise verwendet wurden, umfassten Einzelschläge, Strisciatti (Gegeneinanderreiben der Becken) und Wirbel.

Schon im Altertum waren Becken in vielen verschiedenen Ausprägungen bekannt:

  • als großes Becken-Paar, das ungefähr der heutigen Bauweise entspricht.
  • als kleine Becken der Tänzerinnen, die wie Kastagnetten gehandhabt wurden (Fingerzimbeln).
  • als Becken mit leicht aufgebogenem Rand und dosenförmiger Kuppe (Chinesisches Becken).)
  • als zwei Halbkugeln mit Handschlaufen aus Leder oder Handgriffen.

Vom Orient nach Europa

Die Becken wurden im Mittelalter durch die Sarazenen zunächst in Spanien und Süditalien eingeführt, gerieten in Europa aber ab Anfang des letzten Jahrtausends wieder in Vergessenheit, da offenbar die Kunst des Hämmerns verloren gegangen war. Jedoch sind die Becken bis etwa ins 15. Jahrhundert noch in mittelalterlichen Miniaturmalereien zu finden.

Erst im 17. Jahrhundert wurden die Becken im Gefolge der Türkenkriege erneut nach Europa gebracht (die Türkei war schon immer für ihre hohe Kunstfertigkeit bei der Herstellung von Becken bekannt). Die von türkischen Militärkapellen verbreitete Musik, die Janitscharenmusik, zeichnete sich durch charakteristische Lärm- und Rhythmusinstrumente aus: große und kleine Trommel, Becken, Triangel, Tamburin, Schellenbaum. Zu Beginn des 18. Jahrhunderts fand Die Janitscharenmusik Nachahmung in der europäischen Militärmusik. Seither ist auch der Name Becken in Verwendung, da die Instrumente an die Form eines Beckens erinnern.

Türkisches Becken

Bald fanden die türkischen Becken Verwendung im Opernorchester – wenn auch noch sehr selten. Christoph Willibald Gluck verwendete sie in seiner Oper „Iphigenie auf Tauris“ (1779) im Scythenchor des 1. Aktes (Becken, Triangel, kleine Trommel). Das berühmteste Beispiel für eine frühe Verwendung der Becken ist wohl Wofgang Amadeus Mozarts 1782 entstandene Türkenoper „Die Entführung aus dem Serail“ (Becken, Triangel, große Trommel).

Ihren Stammplatz bei den Schlaginstrumenten im Orchester erlangten die Becken ab dem zweiten Drittel des 19. Jahrhunderts. Sie wurden von Ludwig van Beethoven (in seiner 9. Symphonie), Hector Berlioz („Carmen“), Franz Liszt, Richard Wagner und anderen sehr wirkungsvoll eingesetzt.

Die Hängebecken wurden im Verlauf des 19. Jahrhundert im Orchester durch ihre Fähigkeiten der klanglichen und dynamischen Nuancierung immer populärer. Ursprünglich wurde einfach ein Becken des Beckenpaares an einem Pulthaken aufgehängt, jedoch wird dies aus klanglichen Gründen heute nicht mehr gemacht. Zudem sind qualitativ hochwertige Beckenpaare eine Kostbarkeit, die nicht durch Schläge mit Holz- oder anderen Schlägeln geschädigt werden sollte.

Chinesisches Becken

Das chinesische Becken wurde erst im 19. Jahrhundert in der Marschmusik durch seinen Klang populär. Es wurde wie ein Beckenpaar gegeneinander geschlagen. Im Orchester wird das Instrument nur äußerst selten benutzt. Ab dem 20. Jahrhundert fand das chinesische Becken vor allem in der Jazz- / Rock- / Pop-Musik seine Verwendung – es wird aber auch in der modernen Kammer- und Orchestermusik gelegentlich verwendet.