AUDIO More ...
  • Evocation - Slurred Legato
  • Photographs of the Past - Slurred Legato
  • Race against Fate
  • Whisper of the Forest
  • Deborah's Theme (Once upon a time in America)
  • Evening Serenade
  • The Noon Witch
  • Sacre Dans Le Souffle - Upright Bass/Bösendorfer 280VC
  • Dark Skies
  • Miniature Ouverture / Nutcracker - Standard Mix
  • Miniature Ouverture / Nutcracker - Close and dry mix

Open External Player

SYNCHRON ELITE STRINGS

Synchron Series Collection


Calculating your price

Exceptional Small String Ensembles

  • 6 First violins, 5 second violins, 4 violas, 4 cellos, 3 basses
  • Superb performers from our Synchron Stage Orchestra
  • Coherent performances, authentic in every nuance
  • Extremely versatile and flexible
  • From intimate to powerful expressions
  • Perfectly mixed with production-ready presets
  • New and FREE Bonus Content: Slurred Legatos!

Please confirm our privacy policy to show the embedded YouTube video.

Please confirm our privacy policy to show the embedded YouTube video.

The Best of the Best

With smaller-sized string ensembles, it’s crucial that every musician be a superb performer, and is also capable of contributing to a homogeneous group of players. For Synchron Elite Strings, we hand-picked the best string players and the concertmaster of our Synchron Stage Orchestra, who themselves are among the best in Vienna, a city famous for its superior string players and their fine instruments. Their performances have shaped the sound of numerous scoring sessions during the last several years, and they’ve also honed their craft in countless sampling sessions.

Quote Ronit Kirchman

Coherent Performances

As with Synchron Strings Pro, our main approach was to let the musicians play cleverly devised scores, very often for more than half an hour, to capture all their musicality and mastery of real-life performances as a coherent source of sampled articulations. The captured variants of expression derived from these authentic performances enable you to seamlessly combine different playing techniques and nuances, such as various note beginnings, arcs and releases of notes, into one coherent piece of expressive music.

In general, and with the benefit of many pre-configured mixer presets, the sound of Synchron Elite Strings lends itself well to a myriad of genres and applications, from intimate to powerful expressive possibilities, from classical arrangements to film scores, and from small ensemble settings to adding depth, precision and vitality to larger string ensembles.

Please confirm our privacy policy to show the embedded YouTube video.

Artist Review by Ronit Kirchman

Please confirm our privacy policy to show the embedded YouTube video.

Whisper of the Forest - Screencast by Levente Kovacs

Short Articulations

Like the larger ensembles of Synchron Strings Pro, Synchron Elite Strings offers regular and short staccatos as well as spiccatos (very short notes sounded by throwing the bow onto the strings), in both bold and agile variants – the latter being shorter and therefore perfect for quicker passages. What’s more, the small string ensembles offer new variants of one-second détachés – including soft attacks leading into expressive vibrato, and normal attacks with a slight fade. The full potential of these détachés comes to fruition by combining both articulations according to the musical context. Other short playing techniques include pizzicato, snap pizzicato, and hitting the strings with the bow (col legno and battuto).

Long and Interval Articulations

All long notes, legatos and portamentos offer three vibrato variants (regular, molto, sans), four different starts (soft, regular, fast, marcato/sfz) as well as regular and soft releases. With legatos and portamentos, the different note-start variants apply only to the first notes of the phrases, while the following notes feature a smooth legato or portamento connection.

A very special addition are the Performance Détaché articulations, a first for libraries recorded at Synchron Stage. As with legatos, we recorded intervals of up to an octave, but each target note was played with an extra bow stroke. These separate notes are still connected by the Synchron Player’s algorithms, for very realistic phrases that differ from passages performed with single note détachés. What’s more, tremolos, measured tremolos and trills also offer legato variants for fluid note transitions.

Due to the small number of players, “agile” variants of legatos and détachés are especially precise and versatile, while at the same time vibrant and authentic since they were all derived from longer performances as mentioned above.

Multiple Microphone Positions

To capture the spectacular ambience of “Stage A” of Synchron Stage, our engineers employed nine separate phase-coherent microphone configurations to provide a broad range of room options. In addition to the mid, Decca tree and surround microphones, the first and second chair of each ensemble were mic’d separately and are available as “Solo 1” and “Solo 2” channels, respectively, in the mixer section of the Vienna Synchron Player.

The sections of six first violins, five second violins, four violas, four cellos and three double basses were recorded separately at their designated positions on stage. Pre-configured mixer presets provide a wide variety of tonal characteristics, from intimate to ambient, from lush to sparkling, from contemporary to the “golden fifties” sound. Divisi Presets focus on the solo channels of the first and second chair, with added ribbon or tube mid microphones.

As with all Synchron Libraries, you can mix your string sound in stereo, 5.1 surround or even 9.1 Auro 3D, or any other immersive audio format, such as Dolby Atmos.

Synchron Elite Strings - Recording Setup

Microphone and instrument setup
(click for larger image)

Microphone Setup - Standard & Full Library

The Standard Library and Full Library of Synchron Elite Strings both include the same articulations. The difference lies in the number of provided microphone positions:

  Standard Library Full Library
1. Solo 1 Mic, Small Condenser (Mono)
2. Solo 2 Mic, Ribbon (Mono)  
3. Mid Mic – Tube, Front of Ensemble (L/R)
4. Mid Mic – Ribbon, Front of Ensemble (Mono)  
5. Main/Room Mic – Decca Tree Stereo (L/R)
6. Main/Room Mic – Decca Tree Mono (Center)
7. Main Surround – Stereo (L/R)  
8. High Stereo (3D) – Stereo (L/R)  
9. High Surround (3D) – Stereo (L/R)  

Room Mix Presets feature an excellent mix-down to stereo from the Decca tree and surround mic positions for a CPU and RAM-saving sound that’s perfectly balanced right out-of-the-box. A host of Mixer Presets is available in the categories of “Decca Tree Multi-Mic”, “Surround to Stereo Downmix”, and “Surround”.

The Standard Library and the upgrade to the Full Library (sometimes referred to as the Extended Library) are separate downloads.

Notation Program Integration

You’ll find Expression Maps for Dorico and Soundsets for Sibelius at MyVSL.

Immersive Sound and Auro 3D

Auro 3D is an immersive audio technology that allows for three-dimensional sound perception. The Belgian company Auro Technologies developed this technology based on a special speaker configuration, adding four additional speakers to a 5.1 surround configuration. These speakers (so-called “Heights”) are situated above the front and surround speakers and generate acoustic reflections that are perceived naturally due to the fact that sounds originate from around as well as from above the listener. Thanks to the comprehensive selection of discrete audio channels of Synchron Strings I (Full Library) you may mix your instruments in Auro 3D as well as in Dolby Atmos.

SSV_Auro3D_Visual-02_700x462.jpg
Quote Jacob Shea
Standard Library Full Library
Sample Amount 285,760 571,520
Download File Size 29.8 GB 56.3 GB
Installed File Size 64.6 GB 125.4 GB

AUDIO More ...
  • Race against Fate
  • Whisper of the Forest
  • Deborah's Theme (Once upon a time in America)
  • Evening Serenade
  • The Noon Witch
  • Sacre Dans Le Souffle - Upright Bass/Bösendorfer 280VC
  • Dark Skies
  • Miniature Ouverture / Nutcracker - Standard Mix
  • Miniature Ouverture / Nutcracker - Close and dry mix
  • Miniature Ouverture / Nutcracker - Dark mix

Open External Player

SYNCHRON ELITE STRINGS

Synchron Series Collection


Ihr Preis wird berechnet

Außergewöhnliche kleine Streicher-Ensembles

  • 6 erste Geigen, 5 zweite Geigen, 4 Bratschen, 4 Celli, 3 Kontrabässe
  • Hervorragende Instrumentalisten aus unserem Synchron Stage Orchestra
  • Kohärente Darbietungen, authentisch in jeder Nuance
  • Vielseitig und flexibel einsetzbar
  • Von intimen bis zu kraftvollen Klangbildern
  • Perfekt abgemischt mit produktionsfertigen Presets

Bitte stimmen Sie unserer Datenschutzerklärung zu, um das YouTube Video anzuzeigen.

Die Besten der Besten

Gerade bei kleinen Streicher-Ensembles kommt es auf die höchste Qualität der Musiker:innen an, aber auch auf ihr Vermögen, einen homogenen Gesamtklang formen zu können. Für Synchron Elite Strings konnten wir die besten Streicher und den Konzertmeister des Synchron Stage Orchestra verpflichten, die ihrerseits zu den besten der Musikstadt Wien zählen – einer Stadt, die für ihren Streicherklang weltberühmt ist. Diese Musiker:innen haben nicht nur maßgeblich zum Klang vieler Filmscores beigetragen, sie brachten auch ihre Erfahrungen aus unzähligen Sampling Sessions ein.

Quote Ronit Kirchman

Performances wie aus einem Guss

Wie auch bei Synchron Strings Pro war es ein ganz wesentlicher Ansatz, die Musiker:innen intensiv spielen zu lassen, um ihre Musikalität und ihr handwerkliches Können möglichst authentisch einfangen zu können. Die durchgehende Spielzeit der ausgeklügelten Partituren betrug bis zu einer halben Stunde pro Take, wodurch gewährleistet wurde, dass die Samples aus diesen Sessions wie aus einem Guss wirken. Die nun im Synchron Player zur Verfügung stehenden Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten, im Besonderen die verschiedenen Abstufungen von Tonansatz, -entwicklung und -ausklang, können daher nahtlos miteinander kombiniert werden.
 
Ebenso wesentlich war es, eine Library zu schaffen, die ein möglichst breites Spektrum an Einsatzmöglichkeiten abdeckt. Mit Hilfe der zahlreichen Mixer-Presets eignen sich Synchron Elite Strings für verschiedenste Genres und Anwendungen, von intimen Stimmungen bis zu expressivem Fortissimo, von klassischen Arrangements bis zu moderner Filmmusik, von kammermusikalischen Ensembles bis zur ausdrucksstarken Kombination mit großen Streicherensembles.

Bitte stimmen Sie unserer Datenschutzerklärung zu, um das YouTube Video anzuzeigen.

Review von Ronit Kirchman

Bitte stimmen Sie unserer Datenschutzerklärung zu, um das YouTube Video anzuzeigen.

Whisper of the Forest - Screencast von Levente Kovacs

Kurze Spielweisen

Wie bei den größeren Ensembles von Synchron Strings Pro gibt es bei Synchron Elite Strings etwas breiter gespielte und kurze Staccati sowie Spiccati (mit dem geworfenen Bogen gespielt, dadurch sehr kurz, aber etwas leiser) in „bold“ und „agile“-Varianten – letztere sind kürzer und eignen sich perfekt für schnellere Passagen. Neu hinzugekommen sind Varianten von einsekündigen Détachés – einerseits mit weichem Ansatz zu einem ausdrucksvollen Vibrato, andererseits mit akkuratem Ansatz und einer leichten Abphrasierung. Hier entfaltet sich das volle Potenzial beider Détaché-Varianten durch deren intelligente Kombination, der musikalischen Logik folgend. Weitere kurze Spielweisen sind pizzicato, snap (Bartók) pizzicato, col legno und battuto (das Schlagen auf die Saiten mit dem Bogenrücken bzw. dem Bogenhaar).

Lange und Intervall-Artikulationen

Bei allen langen Tönen, Legati und Portamenti gibt es drei Vibrato-Varianten (normal, stark und ohne), vier verschiedene Attacks (weich, normal, schnell, marcato/sfz), sowie normale und weicher abphrasierte Ausklänge. Bei Legati und Portamenti bezieht sich die Attack-Vatiante nur auf den ersten Ton der gespielten Phrase, alle weiteren Töne werden verbunden gespielt.
 
Eine besondere Neuerung bei Synchron Libraries sind die Performance Détachés. Wie bei den Legati wurden auch hier Intervall-Verbindungen bis zu einer Oktave aufgenommen, aber jeder Zielton wurde extra angestrichen. Solange der Synchron Player im Intervall-Modus ist, werden die détaché gespielten Töne höchst authentisch miteinander verbunden, wodurch auf diese Art gespielte Phrasen anders klingen als mit Détaché-Einzeltönen gespielte. Auch Tremoli, schnelle Repetitionen (measured Tremolo) und Triller stehen als Legato-Varianten für sanfte Notenübergänge zur Verfügung.
 
Durch die geringere Anzahl an Musiker:innen sind die „agile“-Varianten von Legati und Détachés besonders präzise und wendig, ohne jedoch durch die oben beschriebene Aufnahmeweise am Stück ihre Lebendigkeit und Authentizität zu verlieren.

Mehrere Mikrofonpositionen

Um die Ensembles mit dem spektakulären Raumklang der großen Halle der Synchron Stage Vienna bestmöglich einzufangen, kamen insgesamt neun getrennte, phasenkohärente Mikrofonanordnungen zum Einsatz. Neben den Mikrofonen mit mittlerem Abstand, Decca-Tree und Surround-Mikros kamen bei jedem Ensemble je ein Kleinmembran-Kondensator- und ein Bändchenmikrofon für erste und zweite Stimmführer:in zum Einsatz, die im Synchron Player separat als Kanäle „Solo 1“ und „Solo 2“ zur Verfügung stehen.

Die Gruppen der sechs ersten Violinen, fünf zweiten Violinen, vier Violen, vier Celli und drei Kontrabässe wurden getrennt an ihrer typischen Sitzposition im Orchester aufgenommen. Durch das Mischen einzelner oder aller Mikrofonpositionen können Sie den Raumklang ganz individuell nach Ihren Vorstellungen und Anforderungen gestalten, vom intimen bis zum großen Raum, von gedeckter Atmosphäre bis hell schimmernd, vom zeitgenössischen bis zum Schellack-Sound der 50er Jahre. Bei den Divisi Presets stehen die Solo-Känäle im Vordergrund, angereichert mit Signalen der Röhren- oder Bändchen-Mikrofone.
 
Wie bei allen Synchron Libraries können Sie Ihren Streichersound in Stereo, 5.1 Surround bis hin zu 9.1 Auro 3D bzw. jedem anderen 3D-Audioformat wie z. B. Dolby Atmos ausgeben.

Synchron Elite Strings - Recording Setup

Mikrofon- und Instrumentenaufbau
(zum Vergrößern klicken)

Mikrofon-Aufstellung - Standard & Full Library

Sowohl Standard Library als auch Full Library von Synchron Elite Strings enthalten dieselben Spielweisen und unterscheiden sich lediglich in der Anzahl der verfügbaren Mikrofonpositionen:

  Standard Library Full Library
1. Solo 1 Mic, Small Condenser (Mono)
2. Solo 2 Mic, Ribbon (Mono)  
3. Mid Mic – Tube, Front of Ensemble (L/R)
4. Mid Mic – Ribbon, Front of Ensemble (Mono)  
5. Main/Room Mic – Decca Tree Stereo (L/R)
6. Main/Room Mic – Decca Tree Mono (Center)
7. Main Surround – Stereo (L/R)  
8. High Stereo (3D) – Stereo (L/R)  
9. High Surround (3D) – Stereo (L/R)  

Für eine besonders breite, räumliche Abbildung kann auch die Main Surround-Mikrofonanordnung anstelle der Main/Room Mics verwendet werden. Die Mischung der Surround-Signale mit den anderen Mikrofonsignalen erzeugt auch in der Stereo-Anwendung einen dichteren, reichhaltigeren Gesamtklang.

„Room Mixes“ sind CPU- und RAM-schonende Stereo-Mixes durch Zusammenführung der Signale des Decca-Trees und der Surround-Mikrofone, mit denen Sie „out of the box“ sofort loslegen können. Eine Vielzahl an weiteren Mixer-Presets steht in den Kategorien „Decca Tree Multi-Mic“, „Surround to Stereo Downmix“ sowie „Surround“ zur Verfügung.

Standard Library und das Upgrade auf die Full Library (= Extended Library) sind separate Downloads.

Integration mit Notations-Software

Expression Maps für Dorico und Soundsets für Sibelius finden Sie unter MyVSL.

3D Sound

Auro 3D ist eine Audio-Technologie zur dreidimensionalen Abbildung von Signalen. Die von der belgischen Firma Auro Technologies entwickelte Technik basiert auf einer speziellen Lautsprecher-Konfiguration, die der 5.1-Surround-Anordnung vier weitere Lautsprecher (sogenannte „Heights“ – „Höhenkanäle“), die sich oberhalb der Front- und Surround-Lautsprecher befinden, hinzufügt. Die Höhenkanäle reproduzieren die bei der Aufnahme über Höhenmikrofone eingefangenen natürlichen Reflexionen der Halle, die oberhalb des Hörers entstehen. Die aufgenommenen Schallquellen lassen sich so bei der Wiedergabe besser und räumlich lokalisieren. Dank des reichhaltigen Angebots an diskreten Aufnahmekanälen können mit Synchron Strings I (Full Library) Mischungen sowohl in Auro 3D als auch in Dolby Atmos erzeugt werden.

SSV_Auro3D_Visual_700x462.jpg
Quote Jacob Shea
Standard Library Full Library
Anzahl Samples 271.310 542.620
Dateigröße des Downloads 27,8 GB 54,4 GB
Installierte Dateigröße 60,9 GB 121,7 GB