Open External Player

Products including
Tambourine:


Sound production

Attack

Sound is produced on the tambourine either by striking the head with the hand (occasionally with sticks) or by shaking (or rubbing it with the fingers). The tambourine is therefore both a drum (when it is struck) and a rattle (when it is shaken).

To play single beats the player holds the tambourine in one hand (usually the left) and strikes the head with the other, normally with the middle finger, but on occasions with the index finger, both supported by the thumb. The striking spot is opposite the holding hand about 3–4 cm (depending on the size of the instrument) from the edge of the head. The quieter the desired tone, the nearer the rim the head should be struck. Pianissimo beats are sometimes played using the fingertips very near or even on the rim. In fast passages (up to mezzoforte) the tambourine rests on the player’s knees.

If required in the score it is also struck with sticks which must have an attack that is hard and brisk enough to agitate the jingles with precision: wood drumsticks, small hard or soft felt beaters, cymbal sticks, xylophone or triangle beaters are suitable.

The sound of the head and the jingles

The pairs of jingles hang loosely from the wire pins and jangle against each other producing a high-pitched rattling sound that carries well. The pitch that results from striking the head is of no consideration since it is masked by the sound of the jingles.

If the tambourine is held horizontally a short, precise and dry sound results, because the jingles now lie one on top of the other so they damp themselves. If the tambourine is struck when held vertically the sound of the head is more prominent; the jingles sound weaker but resonate longer. The sound of the head can also be emphasized by striking it with the palm of the hand or a fist, or by beating the tambourine against an elbow or a knee.

Many percussionists in the orchestra hold the tambourine at an angle of between 40 and 50 degrees, because it is in this position that the best balance is achieved between the sounds of the head and the jingles, the tambourine does not sound too dry and there is no obtrusive reverberation.

Open External Player

Tamburin
ist enthalten in den Produkten:


Tamburin - Tonerzeugung

Anschlag

Die Tonerzeugung erfolgt entweder durch Anschlagen des Fells mit der Hand (seltener mit Schlägeln) oder durch Schütteln (bzw. Reiben mit den Fingern) des Tamburins. Das Tamburin ist also gleichzeitig Trommelinstrument (Anschlagen) und Rasselinstrument (Schütteln).

Für Einzelschläge hält der Spieler das Tamburin mit einer Hand (meist links) und schlägt das Fell mit der anderen Hand an, und zwar meist mit dem Mittelfinger (gelegentlich auch dem Zeigefinger), der durch den Daumen unterstützt wird. Die Anschlagstelle, der sogenannte Schlagfleck, liegt gegenüber der haltenden Hand etwa 3–4 cm (je nach Größe des Instruments) vom Fellrand entfernt. Je leiser der Klang sein soll, desto näher am Rand wird angeschlagen. Pianissimo-Schläge werden auch mit den Fingerspitzen nahe beim oder sogar auf dem Fellrand ausgeführt. Bei schnellen Passagen (bis mf) liegt das Tamburin auf den Knien des Spielers.

Bei entsprechender Vorschrift wird das Tamburin auch mit Schlägeln angeschlagen, deren Anschlag hart und knapp genug ist, um die Schellen in präzise Bewegung zu bringen: Kleine Trommelstöcke, kleine Hart- oder Weichfilzschlägel, Becken-, Xylophonschlägel, Triangelstäbe.

Fellklang und Schellenklang

Die lose an den Drahtstiften hängenden Schellenpaare klirren gegeneinander, wodurch ein hoher, tragfähiger Rasselklang entsteht. Die Tonhöhe, die beim Anschlagen des Fells erklingt, ist nicht wesentlich, da sie vom Klang der Schellen überlagert wird.

Wird das Tamburin möglichst waagrecht gehalten, so entsteht ein kurzer, präziser und trockener Klang, da sich die übereinanderliegenden Schellen von selbst abdämpfen. Wird das Tamburin senkrecht angeschlagen, tritt der Fellklang mehr in den Vordergrund, die Schellen sprechen schwächer an, klingen aber länger. Der Fellklang wird außerdem betont durch Schläge mit dem Handballen oder der Faust sowie durch Schläge gegen Ellbogen oder Knie.

Viele Orchestermusiker halten das Tamburin in einem Winkel zwischen 40 und 50 Grad, da hier meist eine Ausgewogenheit zwischen Fell- und Schellenklang herrscht, das Tamburin nicht zu trocken klingt und keinen störenden Nachklang hat.