AUDIO
  • The Crown Coronation (Trumpet)
  • The Wind-up Toy Soldier (Trumpet)
  • Meditation
  • Mystic Voices
  • Trumpet sonata
  • The Dancing Clown (Trumpets)

Open External Player

History 1 – early to baroque

The Middle Ages – from the straight trumpet to the coiled form

The beginnings of the modern trumpet in Europe can be traced back to the 11th century. It was then that the forerunner of all modern brass instruments first emerged: the busine (from the Roman bucina). The busine first appeared in southern Italy, in two different forms: one had a conical, curved tube, the other a straight, cylindrical one. The former instrument led to the development of horns, the latter to that of trumpets.

From 1400 onward the straight tube began to change, first to an S-shape and then to the double coiled form which is still found today. This development took place over a matter of decades and was achieved by the use of semi-circular pieces of tubing. The detachable bell was originally nothing more than a slightly conical funnel. In the late Middle Ages the trumpet still only had a range of four notes, namely the naturals 1–4 in the low register.

184.Zugtromp_ren_220x146.jpg

Slide trumpet, Geert Jan van der Heide, Netherlands; copy in 15th century style (Musikinstrumentenmuseum Schloss Kremsegg, Austria, Streitwieser collection)

In the 15th century a slide trumpet was also already in use: its tube length could be increased by extending the mouthpipe, which made it possible to pay several notes outside the natural harmonic series.

When from 1250 onward the trombone began to establish itself as the member of the trumpet family best suited for tenor and bass parts, the trumpet’s range increased and rose in pitch. This was achieved by overblowing to higher and higher naturals (partials).

Renaissance and Baroque – the golden age of clarino playing

_195_Brezltromp_220x146.jpg

Pretzel-shaped trumpet in D, John Webb, London 1989. Reproduction of a trumpet by A. Schnitzer (Nuremberg 1581) of the Kunsthistorisches Museum Wien (Musikinstrumentenmuseum Schloss Kremsegg, Austria, Streitwieser collection)

As the Middle Ages drew to a close the trumpet, which had hitherto served as a signaling instrument in battle, began to gain importance as a symbol of authority as well. In Renaissance and Baroque times decrees were passed to govern the use of trumpeters – in fact, the employment of trumpeters remained the privilege of princes and favorites of the emperor right up until the 18th century! The Court and Field Trumpeters’ guild, which enjoyed great privileges, was a jealous guardian of the secret art of trumpet-playing and passed it on only to carefully selected young men of high honor and unimpeachable reputation.

The trainee court and field trumpeters had to serve an apprenticeship of several years before they were able to take an examination which was a most exacting test of their musical prowess. If they passed this test and were taken on at court they received the title of court trumpeter. If they had been into battle, they could call themselves field or military trumpeter.

At the imperial court in Vienna in around 1550 six trumpeters (and a drummer) were in the emperor’s employ. By 1721 these numbers had doubled to sixteen trumpeters and two drummers, a development that was mirrored at other courts too. Although a field trumpeter enjoyed many privileges – his status was equal to that of an officer – he was also subject to a number of obligations and restrictions: the trumpet was only to be played in the field and at official secular ceremonies. Later, however, it was also permitted at certain church ceremonies, but only at religious solemnities and not at joyful occasions such as weddings and baptisms.

In the 16th century the trumpet’s range increased up to the 13th natural. This now quite considerable range led trumpeters to specialize in a particular register within the instrument’s compass. The highest register from the 8th partial upward was called clarino. Trumpets which were used solely for playing the clarino register – the clarino trumpets – were fitted with a special clarino mouthpiece, a narrow-bore cup-shaped mouthpiece with a sharp-angled rim.

Since the Middle Ages a wide variety of names had been used in Europe for the trumpet, such as tuba, tromba or trombetta, trummet, tarantara, clarino or clareta etc. The modern word “trumpet” is derived from trombetta.

At the same time that trumpeters were splitting into the two groups of “high and “low” players, a division between court and field trumpeters was also taking place. During the 17th century the performance of the lowest register was increasingly associated with the field trumpeters, while the softer style of clarino playing became the province of soloists at court.

205_Zugtrompete_220x146.jpg

Trumpet in D, Webb, London (reproduction; Musikinstrumentenmuseum Schloss Kremsegg, Austria, Streitwieser collection)

At the beginning of the 17th century the trumpet became an established part of art music – half a century earlier than the horn. One reason for this was undoubtedly the fact that the trumpet with its cylindrical tubes was relatively easy to make compared to the conical and coiled horn. From 1610 court composers began integrating trumpet parts into vocal compositions, mainly masses (messe con trombe). From 1620 the trumpet gained increasing popularity as an orchestral instrument (in 1675 it appeared in an opera orchestra for the first time in Legrenzi’s opera Eteocle e Polinice. But up until the 19th century the role of the trumpet in opera was still confined mainly to the evocation of majestic and solemn moods). The use of the trumpet in art music led to a fundamental change in the players’ performance practice. They now had to familiarize themselves with the rules of art music and, above all, they had to learn to read music.

In the 17th century many trumpeters were not yet familiar with written musical notation. As a rule there were several trumpet parts, played by between five and seven trumpeters, two of whom could read music. The others played their parts by ear. But this does not mean that trumpeters of that time were less proficient – on the contrary, the demands made on them were extremely high, because a trumpeter was expected to be able to embrace the latest style and include the most popular pieces of the time in his repertoire.

The first printed trumpet method (Modo per imperare a sonare di tromba...) was written by G. Fantini, probably the most famous trumpeter of his time, and appeared in 1638.

464_Bachtrompete_220x146.jpg

Bach trumpet in F, Mainz, Germany, brothers Alexander, perhaps 1952. Specially developed in 1934 for performances of J.S. Bach’s music (Musikinstrumentenmuseum Schloss Kremsegg, Austria, Streitwieser collection)

In the 17th and 18th centuries clarino playing evolved into a technique of exceptional virtuosity. Clarino players reached higher and higher clarino pitches, leading composers to call for ever higher notes in the natural harmonic series. The best known composers of baroque clarino parts for trumpet are Bach and Handel.

Vienna was regarded as the home of baroque trumpet playing; there, and in other major centers such as Leipzig, Dresden, Kromeriz, Bologna and London countless concertos for clarino trumpeters were written. The most famous baroque trumpeter of all was probably Johann Heinisch, who was engaged at the court in Vienna from 1727 to 1750. Especially for him and the bevy of trumpeters that flocked around him concertos were written that required the 24th (!) natural as the highest note.

The highest note ever written in a trumpet concerto is a concert A6 in the 1st trumpet concerto in D major by Michael Haydn, Joseph Haydn’s younger brother; on the baroque D trumpet this was the 24th natural. Michael Haydn’s 2nd trumpet concerto in C major is regarded as the most difficult trumpet piece ever written: it goes up to the 20th natural.

In comparison, the compass of the modern trumpet goes as far as the 8th natural. This, in fact, sounds at the same pitch as the baroque natural trumpet’s 16th natural, because the shorter tube length of today’s instrument means it is pitched an octave higher.

The high standing enjoyed by the clarino trumpet was due principally to the fact that baroque musicians were very strongly influenced by the human voice. The way that sound is produced on wind instruments resembles the singing voice far more strongly than sound production on stringed instruments, and for this reason the former were more popular than the latter.

Beside pieces for the clarino register, countless orchestral works were also written during the Baroque period which only required the naturals 2 to 12 (written C3–G5). For baroque music, trumpets pitched in low Bb, C and D were most often required. For the Bb and D tunings the corresponding natural trumpets in Bb and D were used, while the C tuning was achieved by lowering the pitch of the natural trumpet in D by means of a crook. In addition, trumpets in low F and low G were made in the second half of the 18th century. These could be lowered to E, Eb, D, C and Bb by using crooks.

AUDIO
  • The Crown Coronation (Trumpet)
  • The Wind-up Toy Soldier (Trumpet)
  • Meditation
  • Mystic Voices
  • Trompetensonate
  • The Dancing Clown (Trumpets)

Open External Player

Trompete in C - Geschichte 1 – Frühzeit bis Barock

Mittelalter – von der geraden zur bügelförmigen Trompete

Die Entstehungsgeschichte der modernen Trompete in Europa lässt sich bis ins 11. Jahrhundert zurückverfolgen, als das Ahninstrument aller heutigen Blechblasinstrumente aufkam – die Busine (von römisch bucina). Sie tauchte zuerst in Süditalien auf und entwickelte zwei verschiedene Ausprägungen: die eine Art hatte ein konisches, gebogenes Rohr, die zweite ein zylindrisches gerades – aus der ersten Gruppe entwickelten sich die Horn-, aus der zweiten die Trompeteninstrumente.

Um 1400 vollzog sich innerhalb weniger Jahrzehnte der Übergang von der geraden über die s-förmige zur zweifach gewundenen Trompete. Diese Bügelform, die der Trompete bis heute erhalten geblieben ist, wurde durch das Einsetzen von halbkreisförmigen Rohrstücken erreicht. Das aufgesetzte Schallstück war zunächst ein nur schwach konischer Trichter. Der Tonumfang der Trompete umfasste noch im späten Mittelalter nur 4 Töne, nämlich die im tiefen Bereich liegenden Naturtöne 1–4.

Zugtrompete

Zugtrompete, Geert Jan van der Heide, Niederlande; Kopie im Stil des 15. Jahrhunderts (Musikinstrumentenmuseum Schloss Kremsegg, Austria, Sammlung Streitwieser)

Im 15. Jahrhundert war auch schon eine Zugtrompete in Gebrauch: Ihr Rohr war durch Ausziehen des Mundrohres verlängerbar, wodurch zusätzlich einige Töne außerhalb der Naturtonreihe erzeugt werden konnten.

Nachdem sich um 1250 die Posaune als Trompeteninstrument in der Tenor- und Basslage durchzusetzen anfing, erweiterte sich die Trompetenskala nach oben, und zwar durch Überblasen in immer höhere Naturtöne (Teiltöne).

Renaissance und Barock – Aufstieg und Hochblüte des Clarinblasens

Trompete in Brezelform in D

Trompete in Brezelform in D, John Webb, London 1989. Reproduktion der A. Schnitzer Trompete (Nürnberg 1581) des Kunsthistorischen Museums Wien (Musikinstrumentenmuseum Schloss Kremsegg, Austria, Sammlung Streitwieser)

Neben ihrer Funktion als Signalinstrument im Krieg gewann die Trompete seit dem ausgehenden Mittelalter immer größere Bedeutung als Herrschaftssymbol. In der Renaissance und im Barock wurde der Einsatz von Trompetern daher per Erlass reglementiert – die Beschäftigung von Trompetern blieb bis zum 18. Jahrhundert den Fürsten und Günstlingen des Kaisers vorbehalten. Die Zunft der Hof- und Feldtrompeter, die mit großen Privilegien ausgestattet war, hütete die Kunst des Trompetenspiels als Geheimnis und gab sie nur ausgesuchten ehrbaren und unbescholtenen jungen Männern weiter.

Die angehenden Hof- und Feldtrompeter mussten nach einer mehrjährigen Lehrzeit eine Prüfung ablegen, die höchste musikalische Anforderungen stellte. Bekamen sie danach eine Anstellung bei Hofe, durften sie sich Hoftrompeter nennen, hatten sie an einem Feldzug teilgenommen, so wurden sie Feldtrompeter.

Am kaiserlichen Hof in Wien waren um 1550 sechs Trompeter (und ein Pauker) beschäftigt, 1721 waren es bereits 16 (und zwei Pauker). An anderen Fürstenhöfen verhielt es sich ähnlich. Die Privilegien – ein Feldtrompeter war quasi einem Offizier gleichgestellt – brachten für die Trompeterzunft aber auch Pflichten und Restriktionen mit sich: so durfte die Trompete ausschließlich im Feld und bei offiziellen weltlichen Veranstaltungen eingesetzt werden. Später weitete sich ihr Einsatz auch auf kirchliche Bereiche aus, jedoch nur bei religiösen Zeremonien und nicht für vergnügliche Anlässe wie Hochzeiten oder Taufen.

Im 16. Jahrhundert stieg die Tonskala der Trompete bis zum 13. Naturton. Der nun schon sehr beachtliche Tonumfang veranlasste die Trompeter, sich auf eine bestimmte Tonlage innerhalb der Trompetenskala zu spezialisieren. Das höchste Register vom 8. Teilton aufwärts wurde Clarino genannt. Die Trompeten, auf denen nur das Clarino-Register gespielt wurde – die Clarino-Trompeten – wurden mit einem speziellen Clarin-Mundstück geblasen, einem enggebohrten Kesselmundstück mit scharfkantiger Verbrechung.

Für die Trompete hatten sich seit dem Mittelalter die verschiedensten Namen herausgebildet, wie Tuba, Tromba bzw. Trombetta, Trummet, Feldtrummet, Tarantara, Clarino bzw. Clareta u.a. Der heutige Name Trompete ist von der Bezeichnung Trombetta abgeleitet.

Parallel zur Trennung in „hohe“ und „tiefe“ Trompeter vollzog sich auch die Abgrenzung der Hof- von den Feldtrompetern. Im Laufe des 17. Jahrhunderts wurde die Ausführung der Prinzipale, der niedrigen Trompetenstimme, immer mehr den Feldtrompetern zugeordnet, während der weichere Stil des Clarinblasens für das Solospiel der Hoftrompeter stand.

Zugtrompete

Trompete in D, Webb, London (Kopie; Musikinstrumentenmuseum Schloss Kremsegg, Austria, Sammlung Streitwieser)

Ab dem Anfang des 17. Jahrhunderts fand die Trompete Eingang in die Kunstmusik – ein halbes Jahrhundert früher als das Horn. Dabei spielte sicher die Tatsache eine Rolle, dass die Trompete mit ihren zylinderförmigen Rohren im Vergleich zum konischen und kreisrund gebogenen Horn relativ leicht herzustellen war. Ab 1610 integrierten Hofkomponisten Trompetenstimmen in vokale Kompositionen, hauptsächlich in Messen (messe con trombe). Von 1620 an wurde die Trompete im Orchester immer beliebter (ihre Aufnahme ins Opernorchester erfolgte 1675 in Legrenzis Oper „Eteocle e Polinice“. In der Oper wurde die Trompete aber noch bis ins 19. Jahrhundert hauptsächlich zur Schaffung eines herrschaftlichen, feierlichen Kolorits eingesetzt). Die Verwendung der Trompete in der Kunstmusik änderte grundlegend die bisherige Spielpraxis des Musikers: er musste sich mit den Regeln der Kunstmusik vertraut machen und insbesondere Noten lesen lernen.

Im 17. Jahrhundert waren viele Trompeter noch nicht mit Noten vertraut. In der Regel wurde ein mehrstimmiger Satz von 5–7 Trompetern ausgeführt, von denen zwei des Notenlesens kundig waren, die anderen spielten ihre Stimmen nach Gehör dazu. Dies bedeutet jedoch nicht, dass die Trompeter zur damaligen Zeit den Umgang mit ihrem Instrument ungenügend beherrschten – die Anforderungen waren im Gegenteil sogar enorm hoch, da von einem Trompeter erwartet wurde, dass er sich dem jeweils neuesten Stil anpassen konnte und die jeweils modischsten Stücke zu seinem Repertoire zählten.

Die erste gedruckte Trompetenschule aus 1638 ("Modo per imperare a sonare di tromba...") stammt von G. Fantini, dem wohl berühmtesten Trompeter seiner Zeit.

Bachtrompete

Bachtrompete in F, Mainz, Deutschland, Gebrüder Alexander, vielleicht 1952. Speziell für die Vorführung von J.S. Bachs Musik 1934 entworfen (Musikinstrumentenmuseum Schloss Kremsegg, Austria, Sammlung Streitwieser)

Das Clarinblasen entwickelte sich im 17. und 18. Jahrhundert zu einer höchst virtuosen Kunst. Die Clarintöne wurden von den Clarinbläsern immer weiter in die Höhe getrieben, was die Komponisten veranlasste, immer höhere Töne der Naturtonskala vorzuschreiben. Die bekanntesten Komponisten barocker Clarin-Trompetenparte sind Bach und Händel.

Als Zentrum des barocken Trompetenspiels galt Wien, wo nebst anderen Hochburgen wie Leizpig, Dresden, Kremsier, Bologna und London unzählige Trompetenkonzerte für Clarintrompeter geschrieben wurden. Speziell für den wohl berühmtesten barocken Trompeter Johann Heinisch, der von 1727 bis 1750 am Wiener Hof wirkte, und eine Trompeterschar um ihn, wurden Konzerte geschrieben, in denen als höchster Ton der 24. (!) Naturton verlangt wurde.

Der höchste jemals in einem Trompetenkonzert vorgeschriebene Ton ist ein klingendes a3 im 1. Trompetenkonzert in D-Dur von Michael Haydn, dem jüngeren Bruder Joseph Haydns – auf der barocken D-Trompete war dies der 24. Naturton. Michael Haydns 2. Trompetenkonzert in C-Dur gilt als das virtuoseste aller Trompetenstücke (es geht bis zum 20. Naturton).

Im Vergleich dazu reicht die Skala der modernen Trompete bis zum 8. Naturton. Dieser entspricht klanglich dem 16. Naturton der barocken Naturtrompete: Die Grundstimmung der modernen Trompete ist bedingt durch die kürzere Rohrlänge eine Oktave höher.

Das hohe Ansehen der Clarintrompete erklärt sich hauptsächlich daraus, dass die Musiker des Barock sich sehr stark an der menschlichen Stimme orientierten. Da die Blasinstrumente in der Art der Tonerzeugung der Singstimme näher kamen als die Streichinstrumente, wurden sie diesen vorgezogen.

Neben den Werken für das Clarinregister entstanden im Barock auch unzählige Orchesterwerke, die nur die Naturtöne Nr. 2–12 (notiert c–g2) verlangten. Barocke Trompeten wurden hauptsächlich in den Stimmungen tief B, C und D vorgeschrieben. Für die B- und D-Stimmungen verwendete man die entsprechenden Naturtrompeten in B und D, die C-Stimmung erhielt man durch Herabstimmen der D-Naturtrompete mittels Aufsteckbogen. Zusätzlich wurden ab der zweiten Hälfte des 18. Jahrhunderts Trompeten in tief F und tief G gebaut (diese wurden durch Aufsteckbögen auf E, Es, D, C und B vertieft).