AUDIO
  • The Crown Coronation (Trumpet)
  • The Wind-up Toy Soldier (Trumpet)
  • Meditation
  • Mystic Voices
  • Trumpet sonata
  • The Dancing Clown (Trumpets)

Open External Player

Symbolism

509_Aidatrompete_220x146.jpg

Aida trumpet in Bb (high tuning), Barcelona, Spain. Francisco Montserrat, ca. 1900/20 (Musikinstrumentenmuseum Schloss Kremsegg, Austria, Streitwieser collection)

The trumpet has always been used for cults and rituals, in the Occident as well as in the Orient, to pass messages from our world to the spirit world. The sounds produced by the trumpet were said to possess magical powers which enabled them to bridge the divide between the two worlds and summon a god, rouse the spirits of the forest, drive out demons and so on.

In addition, the trumpet is more closely associated with power than any other instrument. This power symbolism is particularly closely related to wars and rulers.

The sound of the trumpet has always denoted military strength, whether this was as a signaling instrument in battle or in a military band. There are countless examples in orchestral works which evoke an aura of heroism, power, strength, domination, triumph and noble sentiments which refer to male characters, rulers and nations.

The image of the trumpet as a symbol of authority and social standing goes hand in hand with its association with warfare. Celebrations and ceremonies at court, parades and coronations are inextricably linked to fanfares and other majestic trumpet sounds. It was toward the end of the Middle Ages that this symbolism gained the enormous significance which it still maintains today.

AUDIO
  • The Crown Coronation (Trumpet)
  • The Wind-up Toy Soldier (Trumpet)
  • Meditation
  • Mystic Voices
  • Trompetensonate
  • The Dancing Clown (Trumpets)

Open External Player

Trompete in C - Symbolik

Aidatrompete

Aidatrompete in B (hohe Stimmung), Barcelona, Spanien. Francisco Montserrat, ca. 1900/20 (Musikinstrumentenmuseum Schloss Kremsegg, Austria, Sammlung Streitwieser)

Die Trompete wurde seit ihren Anfängen im Okzident wie im Orient für kultische und rituelle Zwecke eingesetzt, um Botschaften aus unserer Welt in die spirituelle Welt zu überbringen. Trompetenklänge waren durch ihre magischen Kräfte befähigt, die Kluft zwischen diesen beiden Welten zu überwinden und einen Gott herbeizurufen, die Waldgeister aufzuwecken, Dämonen auszutreiben etc.

Darüber hinaus wird die Trompete von allen Instrumenten am meisten mit Macht assoziiert. Diese Machtsymbolik steht in besonderem Bezug zu Krieg und Herrschaft:

Seit jeher demonstrieren Trompetenklänge militärische Stärke, sei es als Signalinstrument in der Schlacht, sei es in der Militärmusik. Unzählige Beispiele aus dem Orchesterrepertoire vermitteln eine Aura von Heldenmut, Kraft, Stärke, Dominanz, Triumph und hehre Gefühle, die sich auf männliche Akteure, Herrscher und Nationen bezieht.

Hand in Hand mit der Kriegssymbolik geht das Bild der Trompete als Repräsentant von Herrschaft und sozialem Status. Feierlichkeiten und Zeremonien bei Hofe, Paraden und Krönungen sind untrennbar mit Fanfaren und anderen majestätischen Trompetenklängen verbunden. Diese Symbolik gewann im ausgehenden Mittelalter enorm an Bedeutung und hält sich bis heute.