AUDIO
  • Ring Christmas Bells
  • A Cencerros Moment

Open External Player

Products including
Tubular Bells:


Sound combinations

Tubular bells are used principally to perform two tasks: as a substitute for church bells and to add color. The practice of combining them with metallophones of all kinds was inspired by the music of eastern Asia and was adopted by orchestra music in the 20th century.

The extent to which tubular bells blend with other orchestra instruments depends on the sound structure. They are made in such a way that their harmonic series is as harmonic as possible which favors combinations with other orchestra instruments that have a harmonic structure of partials. Tubular bells still retain inharmonic partials, however, so that the bell-like character of the sound, which contains a much larger proportion of inharmonic components, is not lost.

Tubular bells and other orchestra instruments

These properties mean that a particularly good blend is achieved with metal idiophones with definite pitch: glockenspiel, vibraphone, gong.

In addition, they combine well with all instruments that have a sound composed of attack and resonance: gong, cymbals, tam-tam, timpani, harp, piano.

Tubular bells are always distinctly audible because their timbre is different from that of all the other orchestra instruments. A large dynamic spectrum, from extremely soft pp tremolos to great crescendos, is possible. Combinations particularly with the brass and woodwind playing fat chords create a stately, festive and magnificent setting. In such cases the brass support the strike note with sforzando attack and the resonance with sustained notes.

To achieve a particularly powerful sound, tubular bells and plate bells are played simultaneously (often by the same musician).

AUDIO
  • Ring Christmas Bells
  • A Cencerros Moment

Open External Player

Röhrenglocken
ist enthalten in den Produkten:


Röhrenglocken - Klangverbindungen

Zwei Hauptaufgaben kennzeichnen die Verwendung von Röhrenglocken: Als Glockenersatz und als Klangfarbe. Die Verbindung mit Metallophonen aller Art ist von der Musik Ostasiens inspiriert worden und in die Orchestermusik des 20. Jahrhunderts übergegangen.

Die Verschmelzungsfähigkeit der Röhrenglocken mit anderen Orchesterinstrumenten ist abhängig vom Klangaufbau. Röhrenglocken werden so konstruiert, dass sie eine möglichst harmonische Teiltonreihe aufweisen, was die Verschmelzungsfähigkeit mit anderen Orchesterinstrumenten, deren Kennzeichen ein harmonischer Teiltonaufbau ist, erhöht. Unharmonische Teiltöne bleiben bei den Röhrenglocken jedoch erhalten, um den Glockencharakter, wo die unharmonischen Komponenten viel größer sind, zu erhalten.

Röhrenglocken und andere Orchesterinstrumente

Aufgrund dieser Eigenschaften ergibt sich eine Klangverschmelzung besonders mit den Idiophonen aus Metall mit einer bestimmten Tonhöhe: Glockenspiel, Vibraphon, Gong.

Darüber hinaus ergeben sich gute Klangverbindungen mit allen Instrumenten, deren Klang aus einem Anschlag und Nachklang zusammengesetzt ist: Becken, Tamtam, Pauke, Harfe, Klavier.

Der Klang sticht aufgrund seiner Klangfarbe, die sich von allen anderen Orchesterinstrumenten unterscheidet, hervor. Große dynamische Spannweiten, von leisesten Tremoli im pp bis zu großen Steigerungen sind möglich. Besonders im Zusammenhang mit dicken Akkorden der Holz- und Blechbläser entsteht eine feierliche, festliche, glänzende Stimmung. Die Blechbläser unterstützen dabei durch Sforzato-Einsatz den Schlagton und durch Haltetöne den Nachklang.

Für besonders mächtige Klänge werden Röhrenglocken und Plattenglocken gleichzeitig (oft von einem Spieler) gespielt.