AUDIO
  • Mysterious Jewels
  • Blues for Gilbert
  • Vibraphone Tune
  • Solo for Vibraphone

Open External Player

Products including
Vibraphone:


History

Vox humana: human vibrations

This young instrument developed entirely in the USA at the time of the First World War. In 1916 the instrument maker Hermann Winterhoff began working on the production of vibrato effects with the aid of a motor-driven mechanism for the firm of Leedy in Indianapolis. The aim was to create a vox humana sound, a kind of artificial human voice. He carried out his first experiments on a three-octave marimba with steel bars, a new instrument at the time that was being used in variety theaters. He installed a motor that was connected to the cover disks at the upper end of the resonators by means of a spindle. In this way he achieved the typical pulsing sound, the vibrato effect, which gave the instrument its (original) name: vibraphone. The sound was introduced to the general public via radio recordings in 1924, and musicians began to take an interest in the new instrument.

Vibraphone, vibraharp and vibes

In 1922 the Chicago firm of Deagan began marketing its own version of the vibraphone under the name vibraharp, which boasted several innovative features. Deagan had been making mallet instruments and organs with percussion for half a century, and had been responsible for the production of Leedy’s modified steel marimba. The so-called “Model 145” already possessed all the properties of a fully developed vibraphone: its 1.2 cm thick aluminum bars were held in place by a thread, tuned to equal temperament and had a range of F3–F6; it had a damper pedal and adjustable vibration speed. This model served as the blueprint for all subsequent instruments. The basic features of the vibraphone have remained unchanged since about 1927; any modifications have been principally of the size and weight. Different sized instruments were constructed, for example smaller models which were easier to transport. The new instrument rapidly gained popularity; band leaders and percussionists used it increasingly as the lead voice in their ensembles.

While Leedy continued to make vibraphones, other firms began producing instruments which were virtually identical but marketed under different names: vibraphone and vibraharp. This caused some confusion, until the terms vibes for the instrument and vibist for the player became common among professional musicians. To ensure that the instruments could perform a variety of different tasks, all sorts of models were produced, with ranges of three, three and a half or four octaves. At the same time luxury models and portable versions were also made. This variety was also reflected in the choice of alloy for the bars: aluminum, brass, lacquer and gold were all available. Whether this variety was the result of the search for a better sound or a more attractive appearance is hard to say; it is probable that both considerations played a role.

Electronic vibrations

In the sixties experiments with electronic amplification systems were carried out with the double aim of improving the resonators’ function and replacing the vibration mechanism. A microphone was installed inside each resonator, which was later joined by a magnetic strip. The difficulty was achieving a pure sound that could be amplified with no restrictions. Today the situation has been improved by means of a purely electronic system that uses a piezoelectric chip attached to the underside of each bar and connected to a control and amplification unit. Whenever pressure is exerted on a bar an electronic signal is sent to the control unit, enabling the musician to regulate the volume and speed of the vibrato.

Jazz

Lionel Hampton (1909–2002) began playing the vibraharp in a band in California at an early age, and was soon heard by the great Louis Armstrong (1898–1971), who was impressed by the instrument’s sound. This enthusiasm led to a joint recording session in 1931, which was probably the first recording session to feature the vibraphone genius Lionel Hampton. The vibraphone’s sweeping success in jazz circles next reached the band leader Benny Goodman (1909–1986), who immediately added its vibrato sounds to his orchestra. Orchestras, big bands, jazz sextets and jazz quartets in every conceivable constellation were being enriched by the new instrument’s sensitive melody lines and resonant harmonies. The vibraphone is hugely important in jazz not only as a solo instrument (Lionel Hampton, Garry Burton) but also as an integral part of band and big band music.

In the orchestra

The vibraphone was first scored for the orchestra from about 1933, albeit rarely. It began to be used more often from 1945, especially by composers of film and theater music, who were therefore the first to include the new sound in the orchestra. The vibraphone became part of the essential equipment of the recording studio. In modern ensemble and orchestra music it became more and more important, although it never achieved the status of other mallet instruments such as the xylophone, glockenspiel or marimba. Since the sixties it has been scored more often in ensembles than in the orchestra.

AUDIO
  • Mysterious Jewels
  • Blues for Gilbert
  • Vibraphone Tune
  • Solo for Vibraphone

Open External Player

Vibraphon
ist enthalten in den Produkten:


Vibraphon - Geschichte

Vox humana: Menschliche Vibrationen

Die Entstehungsgeschichte dieses jungen Instrumentes spielte sich zur Gänze in den USA ab, und zwar zur Zeit des Ersten Weltkrieges. 1916 begann der Instrumentenbauer Hermann Winterhoff im Auftrag der Firma Leedy in Indianapolis, Vibrato-Effekte mit Hilfe einer motorbetriebenen Mechanik zu erzielen. Die Absicht dahinter war, einen vox humana-Klang zu erreichen, eine Art menschliche Stimme. Seine ersten Experimente vollzog er an einem dreioktavigen Marimbaphon mit Klangstäben aus Stahl, einem damals neuen Instrument, das in Varieté-Theatern verwendet wurde. Er baute einen Motor ein, der über eine Welle mit den Deckscheiben verbunden war, die sich am oberen Rand der Resonatoren befanden. Damit gelang es ihm bereits, das typische Pulsieren des Tones zu erzeugen, den Vibrato-Effekt, der dem Instrument den Namen Vibraphon einbrachte – vorerst. Erste Radioaufnahmen ab 1924 brachten den Sound unter die Leute, Musiker begannen sich für das neue Instrument zu interessieren.

Vibraphon, Vibraharp und Vibes

1922 begann in Chicago die Firma Deagan ihre Version des Vibraphons unter dem Namen Vibraharp und versehen mit den Attributen einer Neuentwicklung zu vermarkten. Deagan baute bereits seit einem halben Jahrhundert Stabspiele sowie Orgelinstrumente mit Schlagwerk und war auch der Erbauer des von der Firma Leedy zuvor umgebauten Stahl-Marimbaphons. Das sogenannte „Modell 145“ – mit 1,2 cm dicken Klangplatten aus Aluminium, die von einer Schnur gehalten wurden, mit temperierter Stimmung und einem Umfang von f–f3, mit Dämpferpedal und veränderbarer Vibrationsgeschwindigkeit – bot bereits alle Eigenschaften eines voll ausgereiften Vibraphons und wurde Vorbild für alle späteren Instrumente. Die wesentlichen Merkmale des Vibraphons haben sich seit etwa 1927 nicht geändert, Adaptionen betrafen eher die Größe und das Gewicht der Instrumente. Verschieden große Typen wurden angeboten, kleinere wegen der leichteren Transportierbarkeit. Rasch verbreitete sich das neue Instrument, das von Bandleadern und Schlagzeugern immer öfter als führende Stimme in ihren Ensembles eingesetzt wurde.

Nachdem die Firma Leedy mit dem Bau von Vibraphonen fortfuhr, gab es beinahe identische Instrumente mit verschiedenen Namen auf dem Markt: Vibraphone und Vibraharp, was zu einiger Verwirrung führte. Schließlich war unter professionellen Musikern auch der Name Vibes für das Instrument und Vibist für den Spieler geläufig. Damit die Instrumente für verschiedene Aufgaben geeignet waren, entstanden allerlei Typen mit drei, dreieinhalb und vier Oktaven Umfang. Gleichzeitig wurden Luxusmodelle und portable Modelle angeboten. Die Vielfalt des Angebots bezog sich auch auf die Metalllegierungen der Klangstäbe: Aluminium, Messing, Lack und Gold waren zu finden. Ob diese Vielfalt eher klanglichen oder optischen Gründen zu verdanken war, ist schwer festzustellen, es dürfte beides zutreffen.

Elektronische Vibrationen

In den 60er Jahren begann man mit elektronischen Verstärkersystemen zu experimentieren, die sowohl die Funktion der Resonanzröhren verbessern und als den Vibrationsmechanismus ersetzen sollten. Zu diesem Zweck wurden Mikrophone in jeden Resonator installiert, später auch Magnetstreifen. Das Problem bestand darin, einen reinen Klang, der beliebig zu verstärken war, herauszubekommen. Heute ist noch eine verbesserte Weiterentwicklung auf rein elektronischer Basis zu finden, die einen piezoelektrischen Chip verwendet, der an der Unterseite jedes Klangstabes befestigt ist und mit einer Kontroll- und Verstärkereinheit verbunden ist. Jeder Druck auf den Klangstab wird als elektrisches Signal an die Kontrolleinheit übertragen, wo der Spieler das Volumen und die Geschwindigkeit des Vibrato regeln kann.

Jazz

Schon sehr früh war der 1909 geborene Lionel Hampton in Kalifornien als junger Schlagzeuger einer Band mit einer Vibraharp unterwegs, als ihn der große Louis Armstrong (1898–1971) hörte und vom Klang des Instruments begeistert war. Diese  Begeisterung mündete in einer gemeinsamen Aufnahme 1931, vermutlich die erste Aufnahme des Ausnahmevibraphonisten Lionel Hampton. Der Siegeszug des Vibraphons in der Jazzmusik führte weiter zum Bandleader Benny Goodmann (1909–1986), der den Sound seines Orchesters sogleich mit den vibrierenden Klängen des Vibraphons bereicherte. Orchester, Big-bands, Jazzsextette, Jazzquartette, in allen Besetzungen zog das neue Instrument seine sensitiven melodischen Linien und seine nachklingenden Harmonien. Das Vibraphon hat im Jazz als Soloinstrument (Lionel Hampton, Gary Burton) sowie als Band- oder Bigbandinstrument enorme Bedeutung.

Im Orchester

Seit ca. 1933 wird das Vibraphon, wenn auch selten, im Orchester vorgeschrieben, seit 1945 häufiger. Film- und Theaterkomponisten waren die ersten, die den neuen Sound in das Orchester aufnahmen. In Aufnahmestudios gehörte das Vibraphon zur Grundausstattung. In der modernen Ensemble- und Orchestermusik gewann das Vibraphon ständig an Bedeutung, erreichte aber nie den Rang anderer Stabspiele wie Xylophon, Glockenspiel oder Marimbaphon. In Ensembles wird es seit den 60er Jahren öfter vorgeschrieben als im Orchester.