AUDIO
  • Mysterious Jewels
  • Blues for Gilbert
  • Vibraphone Tune
  • Solo for Vibraphone

Open External Player

Products including
Vibraphone:


Sound combinations

The vibraphone is one of the melody instruments in the percussion group. This is true of all mallet instruments (glockenspiel, xylophone, marimba, lithophone) as well. The tasks performed by the mallet instruments in the orchestra are determined by their sound characteristics and are consequently many and varied:

Vibraphone: mellow sound, great resonance. Used to prolong notes or chords. In the lower register it tends to be drowned by other instruments, in the middle and upper registers it can assert itself better. Inaudible in tutti passages. Performs both harmonic and solo tasks, especially in smaller ensembles.

Vibraphone + woodwinds
Similarity with clarinets played with a soft embouchure. A good blend is also achieved with the saxophones.

Other mallet instruments

Glockenspiel
The extremely bright and high sound adds brilliance to melody lines and doubles them an octave higher. Thanks to the increased brightness provided by the glockenspiel the melody line becomes more prominent. In smaller ensembles the glockenspiel also performs solo tasks.

Xylophone
Thanks to the short and very high-pitched sound of the xylophone, note sequences become more sharply defined and can be distinguished even in an orchestra tutti. The sound of the xylophone is audible in every combination of instruments. The xylophone’s specialty in the orchestra is the precise definition of immediately recognizable contours and not the blending in with other sounds.

Marimba
Unlike the xylophone the mellow, warm and gentle sound of the marimba is very well suited for tonal blends with other instruments. It performs chiefly harmonic tasks in keeping with its low register. Its ability to assert itself is limited.

AUDIO
  • Mysterious Jewels
  • Blues for Gilbert
  • Vibraphone Tune
  • Solo for Vibraphone

Open External Player

Vibraphon
ist enthalten in den Produkten:


Vibraphon - Klangverbindungen

Das Vibraphon gehört zu den melodieführenden Instrumenten innerhalb der Schlaginstrumente. Dies gilt für alle Stabspiele (Mallets): Glockenspiel, Xylophon, Marimbaphon, Lithophon. Die orchestralen Aufgaben der Stabspiele, die aus ihren Klangeigenschaften resultieren, sind unterschiedlicher Natur.

Vibraphon: Weicher Klang, langer Nachklang, dient der Verlängerung von Klängen oder Akkorden. In der tiefen Lage schwache, in der mittleren und hohen Lage stärkere Durchsetzungskraft gegenüber anderen Instrumenten. Kann sich gegen ein Orchestertutti nicht durchsetzen. Die Aufgaben sind gleichwohl harmonischer sowie solistischer Natur, besonders im Kontext kleinerer Besetzungen.

Vibraphon + Holzblasinstrumente
Ähnlichkeit mit einem mit weichem Ansatz gespielten Klarinettenton. Eine gute Klangverbindung ergibt sich auch mit den Saxophonen.

Weitere Stabspiele

Glockenspiel
Der äußerst helle und hohe Klang versilbert melodische Linien, oktaviert melodische Linien in der höchsten Spitzenlage, verhilft ihnen zu mehr Durchsetzungskraft durch eine Aufhellung des Gesamtklanges. Im Kontext kleinerer Besetzungen erfüllt das Glockenspiel auch solistische Aufgaben.

Xylophon
Mit Hilfe des kurzen und sehr hohen Xylophonklanges erreichen Tonfolgen ein scharfes Profil, das sich gegenüber einem Orchestertutti durchsetzen kann. Der Xylophonklang sticht aus jeder instrumentalen Klangverbindung heraus. Die Fähigkeit des Xylophons im Orchester ist die Zeichnung von Konturen, die sofort auffällt, und nicht die Verschmelzung mit anderen Klängen.

Marimbaphon
Im Gegensatz zum Xylophon ist der weiche, warme, sanfte Klang des Marimbaphons in hohem Maße zu Klangverschmelzung mit anderen Instrumenten fähig. Seine Aufgaben sind vor allem harmonischer Natur, was auch seiner tiefen Lage entspricht. Die klangliche Durchsetzungsfähigkeit ist begrenzt.