AUDIO
  • Mountain Nights No. 1
  • Magic Tunnel
  • Aurora
  • Venire a Vita
  • Fourishes
  • The Hidden Gem - Soprano
  • Ave Maria - Duet for Soprano and Tenor
  • Liebe und Verzweiflung - Soprano & Baritone
  • Spiritual Prayer - Alto
  • The King's Desperation - Base

Open External Player

ROOMPACK 5 Pernegg Monastery

MIR Venues


List Price
€ 115
30 Days Demo
€ 0

ROOMPACK 5 Pernegg Monastery is part of
Related Products

Vienna MIR RoomPack 5 – Pernegg Monastery

RoomPack 5 features spatial models of the historic monastery church of Pernegg, a small village situated in the north of the “Waldviertel” region (Forest Quarter) of Lower Austria, near the Czech border. The history of Pernegg’s monastery dates back to the second half of the 12th century when Premonstratensian nuns resided there. Its well-fortified “Saint Andrew” church was built between 1500 and 1520 at the center of this complex, as excavations and the uncovering of frescos proved during the building’s first restoration in the 1960s (after being heavily damaged in the last months of World War II). The organ by Michael Prackh was installed in 1654 and is still in use today.

The open-form type of this late gothic pilaster church is rarely found in this part of Europe. The five-sided choir apse and nave are unencumbered by pillars and contribute to the extraordinary acoustics of this architectural rarity. Its secluded location and the very balanced, clearly defined, but never overbearing acoustics make it an ideal environment for musical performances and recordings. Uniquely situated in a deep forest, the absence of surrounding noise is a rare feature, for which many artists gladly endure the long journey through the dark woods of this old borderland. For example, the British label Hyperion has published a series of recordings in the Pernegg monastery church with the vocal ensemble Cinquecento, and Austrian violin virtuoso Julian Rachlin and his friends play concerts here on a regular basis.

We’ve captured the acoustics of this church for Vienna MIR PRO / MIR PRO 24 from four different microphone positions; microphone 1 is positioned near the center of the altar, microphone 2 in front of it, and microphone 3 in the middle of the nave. Microphone 4 is positioned very near the choir gallery in the back of the nave, at a height of approximately six meters (20 ft). To get an idea of possible “stage areas” please have a look at the Venue Maps! It is also worth mentioning that there are two balconies in this nave – the lower one with the choir stalls, and the upper one housing the organ. Both are provided in Vienna MIR PRO. The possibilities of placing instruments are expanded further by two additional HotSpots in the cloisters on the left and right sides of the choir.

All in all, nearly 5,000 Impulse Responses have been gathered to virtually recreate the acoustics of this building. The average length of the impulse responses is about 6 seconds, with the average reverb time about 3.8 seconds.

AUDIO
  • Mountain Nights No. 1
  • Magic Tunnel
  • Aurora
  • Venire a Vita
  • Fourishes
  • The Hidden Gem - Soprano
  • Ave Maria - Duet for Soprano and Tenor
  • Liebe und Verzweiflung - Soprano & Baritone
  • Spiritual Prayer - Alto
  • The King's Desperation - Base

Open External Player
EmbNav_RoomPack5_b_1440x600

Vienna MIR RoomPack 5 – Pernegg Monastery

RoomPack 5 enthält Impulsaufnahmen der historischen Klosterkirche in Pernegg, einer kleinen Ortschaft im nördlichen Niederösterreich, dem sogenannten „Waldviertel“, nahe der Grenze zu Tschechien. Die Geschichte des ursprünglich von Chorfrauen des Prämonstratenser-Ordens besiedelten Klosters reicht bis in die zweite Hälfte des 12. Jahrhunderts zurück. Die Stiftskirche „Zum heiligen Andreas” wurde zwischen 1500 und 1520 im Zentrum dieses Komplexes errichtet, was durch Ausgrabungen und der Freilegung von Fresken im Zuge der ersten großen Restaurierung in den 1960er Jahren belegt werden konnte (die Kirche wurde insbesondere in den letzten Monaten des 2. Weltkriegs stark beschädigt). Die Orgel von Michael Prackh wurde 1654 eingebaut und ist auch heute noch in Verwendung.

Die offene Form dieser spätgotischen Klosterkirche ist in diesen Breiten nur selten anzutreffen. Der Fünfachtel-Chorschluss sowie das Hauptschiff, welches keine Stützpfeiler aufweist, sind maßgeblich für die außergewöhnliche Akustik dieser architektonischen Rarität. Die abgeschiedene Lage sowie die ausgewogene, klar definierte, aber dennoch nie aufdringliche Akustik machen die Kirche auch zu einem idealen Austragungsort für musikalische Aufführungen sowie Aufnahmen. Da es zudem keinerlei störende Umgebungsgeräusche gibt, nehmen viele Künstler die mitunter mühevolle Reise durch die dunklen Wälder dieser Grenzregion gerne auf sich. So veröffentlichte beispielsweise das Britische Label Hyperion eine ganze Reihe von Aufnahmen aus der Klosterkirche Pernegg mit dem Vokalensemble Cinquecento. Auch der österreichische Geiger Julian Rachlin lädt mit seinen Freunden regelmäßig zu kammermusikalischen Konzerten nach Pernegg.

Für Vienna MIR PRO / MIR PRO 24 haben wir diesen sakralen Raum von vier unterschiedlichen Mikrofonpositionen aufgenommen: Mikrofon 1 wurde in der Mitte des Altars aufgestellt, Mikrofon 2 vor dem Altar, Mikrofon 3 in der Mitte des Hauptschiffs, sowie Mikrofon 4 auf ca. 6 Meter Höhe bei der hinteren Orgelempore. Sehen Sie anhand der Venue Maps, welche möglichen „Bühnen“ sich daraus ergeben. Erwähnenswert sind auch die zwei Balkone im Hauptschiff. Am unteren Balkon befindet sich der Chorstuhl, am oberen die Orgel. Beide Balkone wurden für die Verwendung in Vienna MIR PRO / MIR PRO 24 eingefangen. Weitere Möglichkeiten der Platzierung von Instrumenten ergeben sich durch die zwei zusätzlichen HotSpots in den Kreuzgängen links und rechts des Chors.

Insgesamt stehen fast 5.000 Impulsantworten zur Verfügung, um die Akustik des Gebäudes so authentisch wie möglich zu reproduzieren. Die durchschnittliche Länge der Impulsantworten beträgt ca. 6 Sekunden, die durchschnittliche Nachhallzeit liegt bei 3,8 Sekunden.