AUDIO
  • Heart's Ease - Viola & Piano
  • Lullaby - Viola & Piano
  • Swans first flight
  • Violas performance

Open External Player

History

The desire for a “dark” timbre

The history of the viola is closely linked to the development of the other instruments in the violin family, which were first made in northern Italy between 1530 and 1550. It may be assumed that the alto, tenor and bass versions emerged soon after the soprano instrument. Illustrious names such as Andrea and Nicola Amati, Gasparo da Salò, Andrea Guarnieri and Antonio Stradivari were already associated with cities such as Milan, Brescia, Cremona and Venice at this time.

The names of all stringed instruments are derived from the term “viola”; in the 16th and 17th centuries it described two families of stringed instruments, the viola da braccio and the viola da gamba. The appellations da braccio and da gamba have two meanings; on the one hand they describe the playing position. Da braccio is Italian for “played on the arm” and refers to the horizontal playing position. Da gamba means “played at the leg” and refers to the vertical playing position.

On the other hand they also describe the two instruments’ characteristic construction: The viola da braccio, the forerunner of the instruments of the violin family, had low ribs, a rounded back, F-shaped sound holes, a fretless fingerboard, a neck raised from the body with a scroll and four strings across a curved bridge, which meant that they could be bowed individually. The viola da gamba had high ribs, a vaulted belly, a flat back and C or F-shaped sound holes. The body extended upwards toward the neck, the fingerboard had seven frets and the five to seven strings lay across a rather flat bridge which meant that the bow could play more than two adjacent strings at once.

In terms of construction and sound the violoncello also belongs to the violin family but is played da gamba.

The splitting of the middle register

In the 16th century it was customary for alto and tenor instruments to be made in different sizes but with exactly the same tuning. The alto and tenor versions of the viola were generally tuned as follows: C3, G3, D4, A4, in other words,  the same tuning as the modern viola. This tuning was a fifth lower than the soprano tuning (G3, D4, A4, E5) and two fifths higher than the bass tuning (Bb1, F2, C3, G3). Because the alto and tenor tunings were so far apart from the bass tuning, larger instruments in the true tenor tuning (F2, C3, G3, D4) began to be made. Tenor violas in the “alto tuning” remained in use, however.

In 16th and 17th century France five-part string ensembles were the norm. The middle register was played by three violas in the same tuning but of various sizes (cinquième, haute-contre, taille). The court string ensemble called the 24 “violins du roi” laid the foundation for the five-part string orchestra.

There were, therefore, three types of instrument: the alto violas in the alto tuning, whose body (40–42 cm) corresponded to that of today’s standard; the tenor violas, 42–45 cm long, with a relatively short neck and in the same tuning; and the “genuine” tenor instruments tuned to F. The overlapping in the middle register was one of the most distinctive features of the string orchestra of that time and led to a reallocation of tasks in the period that followed.

Roles are clearly defined

The 17th century saw a shift in the requirements made of stringed instruments. The growing popularity of baroque opera also had consequences for the development of the orchestra: The need to project the splendor of baroque music and fill large rooms with it meant that the powerful and brilliant da braccio violins finally gained predominance over the softer and more mellow-sounding da gambas.

The composition of the string ensemble also changed, abandoning the five-part ensemble in favor of the four-part with two violins, an alto viola and a violoncello as bass. This development, which was completed in around 1750, signaled the death-knell of the tenor viola, which, although full-sounding, was not particularly agile. From the middle of the 18th century the violoncello, which was actually the violin family’s bass instrument, emerged to take on the role of playing the lower middle (tenor) register. The thumb position enabled the cello to rise high into the tenor (and even alto) range and bridge the gap left by the tenor viola. This new allocation of roles in the middle register contained the area of overlapping which has remained obligatory to this day.

The first instructional works for the viola began to appear in around 1780 and were written for experienced violinists, which demonstrates the great similarity of the two instruments’ playing techniques.

Modernization around 1800

Because music was now being performed more often in concert halls, and also because François Tourte (1747–1835) had strengthened the bow, a succession of changes to the construction of the instruments in the violin family, including the viola, were made at the turn of the 19th century. The strings were made heavier and their tension increased to improve projection; the neck was set at a slight backward angle to the body and was now longer, retaining the same circumference along its whole length to make it easier for the left hand to slide up and down to different positions. At the same time the body, bridge and bass bar were reinforced.

Absolute equality

It was not until the end of the 19th century that the viola gained the same status as the violin. The great difficulty was to find the perfect balance between size and ease of playing, as is shown by several attempts to improve the instrument’s construction which led to the development of various different types of viola in the first half of the 20th century. Smaller instruments are easier to play, but their sound is too soft; larger instruments produce the desired volume but are harder to play. In 1875 Hermann Ritter made a so-called viola alta which had a body 48 cm long. Although Richard Wagner and Richard Strauss appreciated its powerful sound and made use of it in the orchestra, it presented the musicians with considerable difficulties – which were even detrimental to their health. In the 1930s the Englishman Lionel Tertis made a model with a 43 cm long body, which successfully combined size (= volume) and ease of playing. Its full, deep and warm sound was impressive. As a rule larger instruments (approx. 43 cm) are used by professional musicians, while smaller models (approx. 40 cm) are intended for amateurs.

AUDIO
  • Heart's Ease - Viola & Piano
  • Schlaflied für Viola und Klavier
  • Swans first flight
  • Violas performance

Open External Player

Viola - Geschichte

Die Idee vom „dunklen“ Klang

Die Geschichte der Viola ist eng an die Entwicklung der übrigen Instrumente der Violinfamilie gebunden. Zwischen 1530 und 1550 wurden in Norditalien die ersten Instrumente der Violinfamilie gebaut. Es kann angenommen werden, dass sowohl das Alt-/Tenor- als auch das Bassinstrument nur kurz nach dem Sopraninstrument entwickelt wurden. Städte wie Mailand, Brescia, Cremona und Venedig wurden schon damals mit „klingenden“ Namen wie Andrea und Nicola Amati, Gasparo da Salò, Andrea Guarnieri und Antonio Stradivari in Verbindung gebracht.

Die Viola ist das namengebende Instrument aller Streichinstrumente und begründete im 16. und 17. Jahrhundert zwei Familien von Streichinstrumenten: die viole da braccio und die viole da gamba. Mit den Bezeichnungen da braccio und da gamba sind zwei Bedeutungen verknüpft. Auf der einen Seite wird damit die Spielhaltung beschrieben: Da braccio bedeutet im Italienischen „auf dem Arm gespielt“ und meint die horizontale Spielhaltung. Da gamba bedeutet „am Bein gespielt“ und meint die vertikale Spielhaltung.

Auf der anderen Seite werden damit auch die bautechnischen Besonderheiten der beiden Instrumentenfamilien beschrieben: Die viole da braccio, aus denen sich die Mitglieder der Violinfamilie entwickelten, hatten niedrige Zargen, einen gewölbten Boden, Schalllöcher in F-Form, ein Griffbrett ohne Bünde, einen vom Korpus abgesetzten Hals mit Schnecke und 4 Saiten, die auf einem gewölbten Steg lagen, so dass sie einzeln gestrichen werden konnten. Die viole da gamba, die Gamben, hatten hohe Zargen, eine gewölbte Decke, einen flachen Boden und Schalllöcher in C- oder F-Form. Der Korpus war zum Hals hinaufgestreckt, das Griffbrett mit 7 Bünden versehen, und die 5 bis 7 Saiten lagen auf einem flachen Steg auf, so dass der Bogen gleichzeitig mehr als zwei benachbarte Saiten erfassen konnte.
Das Violoncello gehört bautechnisch und klanglich zur Violinfamilie, wird aber da gamba gespielt.

Die Aufspaltung der Mittellage

Im 16. Jahrhundert war es üblich, dass Alt- und Tenorinstrumente mit unterschiedlicher Größe, aber identischer Stimmung gebaut wurden. In der Regel galt für die Alt- und die Tenorviola folgende Stimmung: c, g, d1, a1 – was der Stimmung der heutigen Viola entspricht. Diese Stimmung war eine Quint tiefer als die Sopranstimmung (g, d1, a1, e2) und eine Doppelquint höher als die Bassstimmung (B1, F, c, g). Der große Abstand zwischen der Alt-/Tenorstimmung und der Bassstimmung führte in der Folge zur Konstruktion größerer Instrumente in wirklicher Tenorstimmung (F, c, g, d1). Gleichzeitig wurden die Tenorviolen in „Altstimmung“ weiter verwendet.

Im Frankreich des 16. und 17. Jahrhunderts war der fünfstimmige Streichersatz die Norm. Die Mittellage wurde von drei Violas gleicher Stimmung, aber unterschiedlicher Größe realisiert (cinquième, haute-contre, taille). Die 24 Violons du roi begründeten den fünfstimmigen Streichersatz.

Es gab also drei Arten von Instrumenten: Die Altiviolas in Altstimmung mit einer Korpuslänge von 40–42 cm, was der heutigen Norm entspricht. Die gleich gestimmten Tenorviolas mit 42–45 cm Länge und relativ kurzem Hals sowie die in F gestimmten „echten“ Tenorinstrumente. Die Überlappung im Mittelbereich bleibt ein besonderes Kennzeichen des damaligen Streichorchesterklanges und hat in der folgenden Epoche zu einer anderen Aufteilung der Kompetenzen geführt.

Die Klärung der Kompetenzen

Im Laufe des 17. Jahrhunderts änderten sich die Anforderungen an die Klangeigenschaften der Streichinstrumente. Die Ausbreitung der Barockoper blieb nicht ohne Konsequenzen für die Entwicklung des Orchesters: Die Entfaltung barocker Klangpracht in größeren Räumen ließ die klangkräftigen und brillanten Violininstrumente gegenüber den weicheren und leiseren Gamben endgültig als Sieger hervorgehen.

Die Satzweise entwickelte sich von der Fünfstimmigkeit zum vierstimmigen Standardsatz mit zwei Violinen, Alt-Viola und Violoncello als Bassinstrument. Diese Entwicklung, die um 1750 abgeschlossen war, ließ die Tenor-Viola, die zwar einen vollen Klang hatte, aber nicht sehr beweglich war, endgültig von der Bühne der Musikgeschichte abtreten. Als neuer Akteur im unteren Mittelbereich (Tenorbereich) etablierte sich Mitte des 18. Jahrhunderts das eigentliche Bassinstrument der Violinfamilie, das Violoncello. Durch die Technik des Daumenaufsatzes gelang es dem Violoncello, weit in die Tenorlage (sogar in die Altlage) vorzudringen und somit die „Lücke“, die die Tenor-Viola hinterlassen hatte, zu schließen. Die neu aufgeteilte Mittellage erhält ihren bis in die Gegenwart verbindlichen Überlappungsbereich.

Ab 1780 erschienen die ersten Lehrwerke für Viola, die für geübte Geiger geschrieben wurden, was die spieltechnische Nähe beider Instrumente zueinander demonstriert.

Modernisierung um 1800

Durch die Verlagerung der Musikaufführungen in Konzerthallen sowie durch die Verstärkung des Bogens durch François Tourte (1747–1835) wurden die Instrumente der Violinfamilie – und mit ihnen die Viola – zu Beginn des 19. Jahrhunderts einer Reihe von bautechnischen Veränderungen unterzogen: Die Saiten wurden schwerer und die Saitenspannung erhöht, um einen tragfähigeren Ton zu erzeugen, der Winkel des Halses zum Korpus leicht nach hinten gekippt, der verlängerte Hals gleichmäßig dick gebaut, um das Lagenspiel der linken Hand zu erleichtern. Gleichzeitig wurden Korpus, Steg und Bassbalken verstärkt.

Volle Gleichberechtigung

Erst Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts erlangte die Viola volle Gleichberechtigung gegenüber der Violine. Die Problematik  um Größe und Spielbarkeit der Viola – kleinere Instrumente sind leichter spielbar, aber ihr Klang ist schwächer, größere Instrumente klingen zwar stärker, sind aber schwer zu spielen – zeigen einige Konstruktionsversuche, die in der ersten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts zum Bau verschiedener Typen führte. Das Motiv war, möglichst klangstarke Instrumente zu bekommen. 1875 baute Hermann Ritter ein Viola alta genanntes Instrument mit 48 cm langem Korpus, das zwar von Richard Wagner und Richard Strauss seines kräftigen Klanges wegen im Orchester geschätzt wurde, das aber Musiker wegen seiner Größe vor spieltechnische Probleme stellte – mit negativen Folgen für deren Gesundheit. Mitte der 1930er Jahre konstruierte der Engländer Lionel Tertis ein Modell mit 43 cm Korpuslänge, das einen gelungenen Kompromiss zwischen Größe (= Klangstärke) und Spielbarkeit darstellte. Sein voller, tiefer und warmer Ton war beeindruckend. Grundsätzlich werden größere Instrumente (ca. 43 cm) von professionellen Musikern verwendet, während kleinere Modelle (ca. 40 cm) für Amateurmusiker gedacht sind.