AUDIO
  • Heart's Ease - Viola & Piano
  • Lullaby - Viola & Piano
  • Swans first flight
  • Violas performance

Open External Player
> INSTRUMENTOLOGY > STRINGS > Viola > Sound Combinations

Sound combinations

Viola + string orchestra

Viola + viola
The sound of the violas as a group achieves an austere charm which is used for melodic tasks at dramatic turning points, especially in the opera orchestra.

Viola + violin
Produces a mellow and full sound which is dominated by the violins. Gives the impression that the sound is reinforced. Octave combinations of the 1st and 2nd violins with the violas produce a broad, expansive and carrying effect, although such combinations are generally too weak to supply a firm foundation unless they have the support of the cellos playing in unison. Double and triple octaves played by the 1st and 2nd violins with the violas and cellos are most effective when the orchestra reaches melodic high points. The viola never matches the projecting volume of the violin.

Viola + cello
The cello sounds more powerful and more intense. Played together the two instruments produce a full sound which is dominated by the cellos. In the upper register the viola takes away some of the cello’s brightness and the sound becomes more mellow. In the highest register the bright elements reinforce each other. In octaves an expansive and harmonious effect is produced for cantilenas in the tenor register.

Viola + double-bass
The violas can sound like a partial of the double-basses. It is particularly important to balance the respective dynamic levels.

Viola + harp
The strings’ pizzicato blends well with the harp. Pizzicato is often used as a “harp substitute”.

Viola + woodwinds

There is a great affinity between the strings and the woodwinds.
Generally speaking woodwinds provide the strings with more volume and power, while the strings make the woodwinds more mellow, especially when playing in unison. If the strings are playing with a single woodwind instrument in different registers the latter can assert itself.

In high registers and played forte or fortissimo the viola is perfectly capable of matching the woodwinds for intensity and acerbity of sound, an effect that is intensified when the groups play in combination. In piano passages, on the other hand, the viola lends the woodwinds a more mellow sound.

Viola + oboe
The high notes (A string) are to a certain extent related in timbre to the oboe.

Viola + brass wind instruments

The combination of violas and the majority of the brass produces a relatively homogeneous sound. Particularly harmonious effects are achieved by piano playing in octave combinations. As a rule though, the tonal blend with the woodwinds is better.

The blend is strongly influenced by the playing technique employed by the strings (pizzicato, col legno). The use of the mute on brass instruments makes them sound similar to the strings and improves the blend. If the two groups are joined by the woodwinds, particularly the clarinets, the blend between strings and woodwinds is improved.

Viola + trumpet
An interesting sound combination in piano passages and in octaves.

Viola + horn
The horn achieves the best blend of the brass section with the violins, especially in combination with the cellos.

Viola + trombone, tuba
Poor blend.

AUDIO
  • Heart's Ease - Viola & Piano
  • Schlaflied für Viola und Klavier
  • Swans first flight
  • Violas performance

Open External Player

Viola - Klangverbindungen

Viola + Streichorchester

Viola + Viola
Der Klang der Violen als Gruppe erreicht einen herben Charme, der besonders im Opernorchester für melodische Aufgaben an dramatischen Handlungspunkten genutzt wird.

Violen + Violinen
Ergibt einen weichen und vollen Klang, der von den Violinen dominiert wird – wirkt klangverstärkend. Von breiter, flächiger und tragender Wirkung sind Oktavkombinationen der Violinen 1 und 2 mit den Violen, wobei diese in der Regel ohne Unisono-Unterstützung der Violoncelli zu schwach sind, ein tragfähiges Fundament zu bilden. Doppel- und Dreifachoktaven der beiden Violinen mit den Bratschen und Violoncelli kommen vor allem an melodischen Orchesterhöhepunkten zu voller Wirkung. Der Klang der Viola erreicht nicht die tragfähige Klangkraft der Violine.

Violen + Violoncelli
Der Klang des Violoncello ist kräftiger und intensiver. In Kombination entsteht ein voller Klang, der von den Violoncelli dominiert wird. Im höheren Bereich nimmt die Viola dem Cello etwas an Helligkeit und der Klang wird weicher, im höchsten Bereich verstärken sich die hellen Komponenten gegenseitig. In Oktaven ergibt sich eine weittragende und einheitliche Klangwirkung für Kantilenen im Tenorbereich.

Violen + Kontrabässe
Die Violen können wie ein Teilton der Kontrabässe wirken. Die Balance der Dynamik ist besonders wichtig.

Violen + Harfe
Das Pizzicato der Streicher ergibt eine gute Klangverschmelzung mit der Harfe. Oft wirkt das Pizzicato wie ein „Harfenersatz“.

Viola + Holzblasinstrumente

Zwischen den Streichern und den Holzblasinstrumenten besteht eine besondere Affinität.
Grundsätzlich gewinnt der Klang der Streichinstrumente durch die Beimengung von Holzbläsern an Volumen und Stärke, während der Klang der Holzblasinstrumente durch den Zusatz von Streichern weicher wird, dies vor allem im Unisono. Bewegen sich Streicher und ein einzelnes Holzblasinstrument in verschiedenen Lagen, kann sich das Holzblasinstrument durchsetzen.

Die Viola, in hohen Lagen und im forte oder fortissimo, kann an Intensität und Klangschärfe mit den Holzbläsern durchaus aufnehmen. Diese Wirkung verstärkt sich in Kombination gegenseitig. Im Piano dagegen macht die Viola den Holzbläserklang weicher.

Viola + Oboe
Die hohen Töne (A-Saite) weisen eine gewisse Klangverwandtschaft mit der Oboe auf.

Violen + Blechblasinstrumente

Die Klangverbindung zwischen den Violen und den meisten Blechblasinstrumenten ist relativ homogen. Besonders Oktavkombinationen im Piano ergeben eine einheitliche Wirkung. Grundsätzlich ist der Verschmelzungsgrad mit den Holzbläsern höher.

Bedeutend für den Verschmelzungsgrad ist die Spieltechnik der Streicher (Pizzicato, Col legno). Die Verwendung von Dämpfern bei Blechblasinstrumenten macht deren Klang den Streichern ähnlicher und fördert die Verschmelzung. Durch die Vermittlung von Holzblasinstrumenten, besonders der Klarinetten, erhöht sich die Verschmelzung zwischen Streichern und Blechbläsern.

Violen + Trompete
Im Piano und oktavierend ergibt sich eine interessante Klangverbindung.

Violen + Horn
Das Horn ergibt die beste Verschmelzung mit den Streichern, besonders in Kombination mit den Violoncelli.

Violen + Posaune, Tuba
Ergibt einen geringen Verschmelzungsgrad.