AUDIO
  • Zapateado - Violin solo
  • Meditation - Violin & Orchestra
  • Violin concerto II Andante - Violin & Orchestra
  • Concerto Cadenza - Violin & Orchestra
  • Solo violin - mute
  • Lohengrin - Prelude
  • Chamber Violins performance
  • Violins performance

Open External Player
> INSTRUMENTOLOGY > STRINGS > Violin > Sound Production

Sound production

Sound is produced by moving the bow over the string or by plucking it with the right hand. Pitch alterations are achieved by pressing down the string with the fingertips of the left hand on the fingerboard. This shortens the vibrating portion of the string and raises the pitch.

Fingering

Change of string and change of position

Four strings with an interval of a fifth are available: C3 (4th string), G3 (3rd string), D4 (2nd string), A4 (1st string).

VI_sound-production_openstrings_en_430x113

During playing the left hand plays in various positions.
In 1st position the hand is at the uppermost end of the fingerboard in front of the top nut. No strings are fingered, since 1st position includes open strings.
In the 2nd position the forefinger is a diatonic degree nearer the bridge, i.e. a whole tone higher. By climbing one diatonic degree at a time toward the bridge the musician reaches the next position. 8th position is an octave higher than 1st.
Lower positions are much easier to play than higher ones. In each position each finger (the forefinger is the 1st, the middle finger the 2nd, the ring finger the 3rd and the little finger the 4th) covers one diatonic degree, that means that a partial scale of a fourth is playable on each string. Chromatic notes (raising or lowering the diatonic degree concerned) are played by the finger responsible for the corresponding diatonic degree.

VI_sound-production_Gstring_8pos_en_607x289

Positions 1–7 are regarded as the low positions, the positions 8–11 as the high ones. Playing in high positions is required particularly in virtuoso solo performance (up to 14th position). In the very highest registers the term position is no longer used.

The distance (spread) between adjacent notes steadily decreases upwards.
The further from the bridge the bow makes contact with the string the quieter the sound is (and the fewer overtones it contains).

An example of the same note played on two strings. The effect is one of reinforcing the sound.

VI_sound-production_double_stop_1note_111x51.png

A few examples for double stops:

VI_sound-production_double_stops_en_607x104

Playing position: the “Geminiani grip”
To put the left hand in the right position the so-called “Geminiani grip” is used. The hand takes hold of the fingerboard in first position so that each of the four fingers is touching a different string: forefinger (1st finger) = E string; middle finger (2nd finger) = A string, ring finger (3rd finger) = D string; little finger (4th finger) = G string.

VI_sound-production_geminiani_en_209x70

Bowing

The bow is held at the frog by all four fingers of the right hand. The thumb and middle finger are opposite each other. The pressure of the bow is regulated mainly by the forefinger. The wrist is the most active joint, the elbow and shoulder remain as still as possible. The bow touches the strings one centimeter above the bridge and is thicker at the frog than at the point. Short, rapid notes are generally played at the point. The speed of bowing must be altered to correspond to the pressure of the bow; a faster speed of bowing with higher bow pressure produces a louder sound.

All string players distinguish between two basic forms of bowstroke:

The upstroke, the stroke from the point to the frog. As a rule it is found on unaccented beats and has a crescendo tendency.
The downstroke, the stroke from the frog to the point. It is found on accented beats (the beginning of a measure, accent) and has a decrescendo tendency.

The types of bowing are the result of the music’s meaning (phrasing). The natural accents of a piece of music are emphasized by means of the strokes, especially in dance music. Sometimes they are explicitly called for by the composer at particular places.

In orchestral playing the strings’ bowing is synchronized.

AUDIO
  • Zapateado - Violin solo
  • Meditation - Violine & Orchester
  • Violinkonzert II Andante - Violine & Orchester
  • Concerto Cadenza - Violine & Orchester
  • Solovioline - con sordino
  • Lohengrin - Prelude
  • Chamber Violins performance
  • Violins performance

Open External Player

Violine - Tonerzeugung

Die Tonerzeugung erfolgt durch Streichen der Saite mit dem Bogen oder durch Zupfen (rechte Hand). Die Tonhöhenänderung durch Niederdrücken der Saite mit den Fingerspitzen der linken Hand. Dadurch wird der schwingende Teil der Saite verkürzt und der Ton erhöht.

Griffsystem

Saitenwechsel und Lagenwechsel

4 Saiten im Quintabstand stehen zur Verfügung: g (4.Saite), d1(3.Saite), a1 (2.Saite), e2 (1.Saite).

VI_sound-production_openstrings_de_430x113

Die linke Hand nimmt während des Spielens verschiedene Positionen auf dem Griffbrett ein. Diese Positionen werden als Lagen bezeichnet.
Bei der 1. Lage befindet sich die Hand am obersten Rand des Griffbretts – vor dem Obersattel. Die Finger drücken noch keine Seiten nieder – diese Lage schließt die leeren Saiten mit ein.
Bei der 2. Lage befindet sich der Zeigefinger eine diatonische Stufe weiter zum Steg hin, d.h. einen Ganzton höher. Durch Verschieben um jeweils eine diatonische Stufe in Richtung Steg gelangt der/die SpielerIn in die nächsthöhere Lage. Die 8. Lage klingt eine Oktave höher als die erste.
Tiefere Lagen sind wesentlich leichter zu spielen als höhere. Innerhalb einer Lage deckt jeder Spielfinger (der Zeigefinger ist der 1., der Mittelfinger der 2., der Ringfinger der 3. und der kleine Finger der 4. Finger) eine diatonische Stufe ab, das bedeutet, ein Skalenausschnitt von einer Quart ist ohne Lagenwechsel auf einer Saite spielbar. Chromatische Töne (Erniedrigungen oder Erhöhungen der jeweiligen diatonischen Stufe) werden von jenem Finger übernommen, der für die entsprechende diatonische Stufe zuständig ist.

VI_sound-production_Gstring_8pos_de_607x289

Die Lagen 1–7 gelten als die tiefen Lagen, die Lagen 8–11 als die hohen Lagen. Das Spiel in den hohen Lagen wird vor allem in virtuoser Solomusik verlangt (bis zur 14. Lage). Im extrem hohen Bereich spricht man nicht mehr von Lagen.

Die Greifabstände zwischen den benachbarten Tönen werden mit jeder Oktave in höheren Lagen enger.
Je weiter vom Steg entfernt der Bogen die Saite berührt, desto leiser ist der Klang (und obertonärmer).

Beispiel: selber Ton auf zwei Saiten gegriffen – Effekt der Klangverstärkung:

VI_sound-production_double_stop_1note_111x51

Beispiele für Doppelgriffe:

VI_sound-production_double_stops_de_607x104

Der Geminiani-Griff für die Spielhaltung
Um die linke Hand in die richtige Position zu bringen, wird der sogenannte „Geminiani-Griff“ verwendet. Dabei wird die Hand in der ersten Lage so an das Griffbrett angelegt, dass jeder der vier Greiffinger eine Saite greift: Zeigefinger (1.Finger) = e2-Saite, Mittelfinger (2.Finger) = a1-Saite, Ringfinger (3.Finger)= d1-Saite, kleiner Finger (4.Finger) = g-Saite.

VI_sound-production_geminiani_de_209x70

Bogenführung

Der Bogen wird mit allen Fingern der rechten Hand gehalten, und zwar am Frosch. Der Daumen und der Mittelfinger stehen sich dabei gegenüber. Vor allem mit dem Zeigefinger wird der Bogendruck reguliert. Das Handgelenk bewegt sich beim Spiel am meisten, der Arm und die Schulter bleiben sehr ruhig. Der Bogen berührt die Saiten einen Zentimeter breit vom Steg. Am Frosch ist der Bogen stärker als an der Spitze. Schnelle kurze Noten werden eher an der Spitze gespielt. Die Bogengeschwindigkeit wird auf den Bogendruck abgestimmt: Eine höhere Bogengeschwindigkeit mit höherem Bogendruck erzeugen einen stärkeren Klang.

Zwei Grundstricharten werden unterschieden:

Der Aufstrich, der Strich von der Spitze zum Frosch. Er steht in der Regel auf unbetonten Taktteilen (leichte Zeiten) und hat Crescendo-Tendenz.
Der Abstrich, der Strich vom Frosch zur Spitze. Er steht auf betontem Taktteil (Taktbeginn, Akzent).und hat eine Decrescendo-Tendenz.

 

Die Stricharten ergeben sich aus dem Sinn der Musik (Phrasierung), besonders in Tanzmusik werden mit den Stricharten die natürlichen Akzente der Musik betont. Manchmal werden sie vom Komponisten an bestimmten Stellen vorgeschrieben.

Im chorischen Zusammenspiel der Streicher wird die Bogenführung synchronisiert.