AUDIO
  • Zapateado - Violin solo
  • Meditation - Violin & Orchestra
  • Violin concerto II Andante - Violin & Orchestra
  • Concerto Cadenza - Violin & Orchestra
  • Solo violin - mute
  • Lohengrin - Prelude
  • Chamber Violins performance
  • Violins performance

Open External Player

The bow

The bow is an inwardly curved wooden rod with horsehair (approx. 150–250 hairs) stretched between the two ends, the point and the frog. The tension of the hairs can be adjusted with a screw on the frog. The center of gravity is about 25 cm above the frog. The bow is 74 cm long, the length of the bowstroke somewhat shorter.

Vibrations are produced by the bowing movement of the bow’s horsehair on the strings. This friction increases the temperature of the rosin applied to the horsehair, which ensures that the bow remains in contact with the string until the string’s elasticity causes it to spring back, whereupon the bow intercepts the motion and exerts new force on the string. The repeated back-and-forth movement of the bow provides the energy necessary for the vibration of the string.

The ideal bow pressure depends on the speed of bowing; too little pressure results in a weak fundamental note with whistling partials, too much causes rasping partials. Greater bow pressure naturally results in a louder volume. The point at which the bow makes contact with the string varies between the bridge and the fingerboard: the sound is loudest at the bridge and decreases in volume the further away from the bridge the bow moves.

AUDIO
  • Zapateado - Violin solo
  • Meditation - Violine & Orchester
  • Violinkonzert II Andante - Violine & Orchester
  • Concerto Cadenza - Violine & Orchester
  • Solovioline - con sordino
  • Lohengrin - Prelude
  • Chamber Violins performance
  • Violins performance

Open External Player

Violine - Der Bogen

Der Bogen ist eine konkav gebogene Holzstange, die zwischen beiden Enden – Spitze und Frosch – mit Rosshaar (ca. 150–250 Haare) bespannt ist. Mit Hilfe einer Stellschraube am Frosch lässt sich die Spannung der Haare regulieren. Der Schwerpunkt liegt etwa 25 cm oberhalb des Frosches. Der Bogen ist 74 cm lang, die Strichlänge etwas kürzer.

Die Streichbewegung zwischen den Rosshaaren des Bogens und Saiten erzeugt die Schwingungen. Das auf die Rosshaare gestrichene Kolophonium (Harz) erwärmt sich durch die Reibung und sorgt dafür, dass der Bogen an der Saite haften bleibt; und zwar so lange, bis die Spannkraft die Saite wieder zurückschnellen lässt, die erneut vom Bogen aufgefangen und mitgenommen wird. Die Wiederholung dieser Zick-Zack-Bewegung nährt die Saitenschwingung.

Der ideale Bogendruck ist von der Bogengeschwindigkeit abhängig: Zu wenig Druck erzeugt einen schwachen Grundton mit pfeifenden Teiltönen, ein zu starker Druck erzeugt krächzende Teiltöne. Ein stärkerer Bogendruck ergibt naturgemäß einen lauteren Klang. Die Berührungsstelle variiert zwischen Steg und Griffbrett: Je weiter vom Steg entfernt der Bogen die Saite berührt, desto leiser wird der Klang.