AUDIO
  • Tragic March - Wagner tubas
  • The Canvas Painter (Wagner tuba)
  • Monastery on the Mountain (Wagner tuba)
  • High Voltage - Wagner tubas
  • Solo for Wagner tuba

Open External Player

History

Richard Wagner’s vision of a new sound

Wagner tubas bear the name of the composer Richard Wagner, because it was at his instigation that they were made and in one of his works that they were first played. In 1851/52 Wagner was already composing his opera Rhinegold, the first part of his tetralogy The Ring of the Nibelung (UA 1869–1876), when he started looking for a new sound for which no instrument yet existed. His idea was to create a tone in keeping with the horns (middle register) and the low brass in the bass register, the bass and contrabass tubas. That an instrument of this kind would also bridge the gap in tone between the trombones was a welcome side effect.

At the same time Wagner intended a heroic, solemn and stately instrument as a contrast to the lyrical horn. In the end, he was able to realize his idea with the help of existing instruments.

Cornon

In 1844 Vaclav František Czerveny (1819–1896) from Hradec Králové (Königgratz) brought a tuba-like instrument with a horn mouthpiece onto the market. This was the cornon, and it became very popular in Austrian, German and Swiss military bands in which it often replaced the horn. There is much evidence to suggest that this instrument was known to Wagner.

Saxhorns in France

In October 1853 Wagner was staying in Paris, where he met the well-known instrument maker Adolphe Sax (1814–1894). In 1845 Sax had patented a type of bugle-horn he himself had conceived, the saxhorn. In 1846 he was awarded a patent for the saxophone. The saxhorns were a family of bugle-horns made in nine different tunings from soprano to contrabass, covering the entire spectrum. The idea behind the creation of this family was uniformity of timbre. The saxhorns possessed great precision, purity and ease of intonation and the narrow bore profile also gave them a thin timbre. All French wind instruments tend to have a narrower bore than their German counterparts. However, the saxhorns’ greatest advantage was the fact that they all shared the same fingering and timbre, making them an entirely homogeneous group. It was this that made them so successful.

A bit of everything

Although the principle of the horn mouthpiece was adopted from the cornon, its wide bore was not. On the other hand, the narrow bore of the saxhorns was adopted but not the deep, cup-shaped mouthpiece. The result was a new ”tuba”, which later became known as the Wagner tuba and was able to achieve the desired combination of the horn, tuba and trombone timbre. It was also said at the time that the new instrument ”refined” the tuba sound. What distinguished the Wagner tuba from the horn was its wider and more conical bore, while this bore was considerably narrower than the bass tuba’s.

Present day

Richard Wagner used two of each Wagner tuba in the orchestra, i.e., two tenor tubas in Bb (Eb in Siegfried) and two bass tubas in F. But it was not only Wagner who scored for them. In later scores the new instruments were described in various ways and employed in various combinations, e.g., as ”tenor tubas in Bb” and ”bass tubas in F” by Anton Bruckner in his 7th Symphony, or as a ”tenor tuba in Bb” and a ”tenor tuba in F” by Richard Strauss, Gustav Holst and Maurice Ravel.

In Don Quixote only one Wagner tuba is used (as a tenor tuba in Bb), playing an octave above the bass tuba or in combination with the horns and bassoons. Gustav Holst and Maurice Ravel use them singly, too.

Wagner tubas are made either by the Alexander brothers in Mainz or the firm of Mahillon in Brussels. Nowadays double instruments are used: the tenor Wagner tuba in (high) Bb/F and the bass Wagner tuba in F/(low) Bb. In film music Wagner tubas have often been used when a particularly heroic horn sound is required. This is still the case today. Overall the Wagner tubas’ timbre lies somewhere between the horn, the bass tuba and the trombone. Composers may assume that Wagner tubas (and hornists who can play them) are available in modern opera and symphony orchestras.

AUDIO
  • Tragic March - Wagner tubas
  • The Canvas Painter (Wagner tuba)
  • Monastery on the Mountain (Wagnertuba)
  • High Voltage - Wagner tubas
  • Solo for Wagner tuba

Open External Player

Wagnertuba - Geschichte

Richard Wagners Vision eines neuen Klanges

Die Wagnertuben tragen den Namen des Komponisten Richard Wagner, da sie auf seine Anregung hin gebaut wurden und zum ersten Mal in einem seiner Werke erklangen. Richard Wagner hatte 1851/52 mit der Komposition seiner Oper „Das Rheingold“, der ersten seiner Tetralogie „Der Ring des Nibelungen“ (UA 1869–1876), bereits begonnen, als er nach einem neuen Klang suchte, für den es noch kein Instrument gab. Dabei schwebte ihm die Idee vor, eine Klangeinheit zwischen den Hörnern (Mittellage) und den tiefen Bläsern in Basslage, den Bass- und Kontrabasstuben, herzustellen. Dass ein solches Instrument andererseits auch eine klangliche Brücke zu den Posaunen schlagen sollte, war ein willkommenes Nebenprodukt.

Gleichzeitig hatte Wagner auch ein heroisches, feierliches und würdevolles Instrument im Sinn, das einen Gegensatz zum lyrischen Horn bilden sollte. Bereits vorhandene Instrumente halfen Wagner schließlich bei der Verwirklichung seiner Idee.

Cornon

Im Jahre 1844 hatte der aus Königgrätz stammende Vaclav František Czerveny (1819–1896) ein tubaähnliches Instrument mit Hornmundstück namens Cornon in den Handel gebracht. Dieses Cornon war in österreichischen, deutschen und schweizerischen Militärkapellen sehr verbreitet, wo es oft das Horn zu ersetzen hatte. Viele Belege weisen darauf hin, dass Wagner dieses Instrument und dessen Klang kannte.

Saxhörner in Frankreich

Im Oktober 1853 hielt sich Wagner in Paris auf und traf den berühmten Instrumentenbauer Adolphe Sax (1814–1894), der seit 1845 das Patent auf die von ihm konstruierten Bügelhörner namens Saxhörner besaß. 1846 erwarb er das Patent für die Saxophone. Die Saxhörner waren eine Familie aus Bügelhörnern, die in neun verschiedenen Stimmungen gebaut wurden und vom Sopran bis zur Kontrabasslage das gesamte Spektrum ausfüllten. Klangeinheit war das Motiv für diese Entwicklung. Die Saxhörner zeichneten sich durch Präzision, Reinheit und Leichtigkeit in der Ansprache aus, darüber hinaus besaßen sie aufgrund ihrer engen Mensur einen schlanken Ton. Alle französischen Blasinstrumente haben tendenziell eine engere Mensur als die deutschen. Der größte Vorteil der Saxhörner bestand aber darin, dass sie aufgrund ihrer Applikatur und ihres Klanges eine einheitliche Gruppe darstellten. Diesem Umstand hatten  sie auch ihren Erfolg und ihre weite Verbreitung zu verdanken.

Von jedem etwas

Vom Cornon wurde nun das Prinzip des Hornmundstückes übernommen, jedoch nicht seine weite Mensur. Von den Saxhörnern wurde die enge Mensur übernommen, nicht aber das tiefe becherförmige Kesselmundstück. Daraus ergab sich die neue „Tuba“ (später Wagnertuba genannt), die die gewünschte Kombination aus Horn-, Tuba- und Posaunenklang hervorbringen konnte. Es wurde auch schon von „Veredelung“ des Tubaklanges gesprochen. Vom Horn unterschied die Wagnertuba die etwas weitere und konischere Mensur, von der Basstuba die bedeutend engere Mensur.

Gegenwart

Richard Wagner besetzte die Wagnertuben jeweils doppelt: d.h. 2 Tenortuben in B (in „Siegfried“ in Es) und 2 Basstuben in F. Ihre Verwendung blieb nicht auf Wagner beschränkt. In den Partituren nach Wagner wurden die neuen Instrumente in verschiedener Weise bezeichnet und besetzt: als „Tenortuben in B“ und „Basstuben in F“ (von Anton Bruckner: 7. Symphonie) oder als „Tenortuba in B“ und „Tenortuba in F“ (von Richard Strauss, Gustav Holst und Maurice Ravel).

Im „Don Quixote“ wird die Wagnertuba (als Tenortuba in B) einzeln eingesetzt, als Oberoktave zur Basstuba oder in Kombination mit den Hörnern und den Fagotten. Auch Gustav Holst und Maurice Ravel verwenden sie einzeln.

Wagnertuben wurden durch die Gebrüder Alexander (Mainz) oder die Firma Mahillon (Brüssel) hergestellt. Heute werden Doppelinstrumente verwendet: die Tenor-Wagnertuba in (hoch) B/F und die Bass-Wagnertuba in F/(tief)B. In der Filmmusik wurden Wagnertuben häufig dann eingesetzt, wenn ein besonders heroischer Hornklang gefragt war. Dies ist auch heute noch so. Insgesamt liegt der Klang der Wagnertuben zwischen dem Klang des Horns, der Basstuba und der Posaune. KomponistInnen können damit rechnen, dass in modernen Opern- und Symphonieorchestern Wagnertuben (und Hornisten, die darauf spielen können) vorhanden sind.