AUDIO
  • Tragic March - Wagner tubas
  • The Canvas Painter (Wagner tuba)
  • Monastery on the Mountain (Wagner tuba)
  • High Voltage - Wagner tubas
  • Solo for Wagner tuba

Open External Player

Sound production

Playing technique and position underscore the fact that the Wagner tuba is molded entirely on the French horn. Wagner tubas are played by hornists because both instruments use a horn mouthpiece. The four valves are operated with the left hand, and not, as on all other tubas, with the right. Unlike the horn, however, the bell faces upward, while the instrument rests on the musician's lap.

Generally notes from the 1st to the 12th natural are used (notes up to the 16th natural are possible but very difficult to play and are not asked for). On both instruments (Bb and F) pedal tones (1st naturals) are used up to Eb1 only.

The entire chromatic scale can be played throughout the whole compass. This means that Wagner tubas are whole-tube instruments (instruments with four valves that make it possible to lower the pitch of the 2nd natural eleven times so that the gap to the first natural of the fundamental pitch can be bridged).

As on all bugle-horns, attack and speech is very easy and soft.

Wagner tuba in Bb

The four valves mean that the natural harmonic series of the fundamental Bb can be lowered by eleven steps. The compass therefore consists of the following natural harmonic series:

Natural harmonic series from Bb1: From the 1st–12th natural (13th–16th are very hard to play).
Natural harmonic series from A1 down to Eb1: From the 1st–12th natural (lowest note Eb1).
Natural harmonic series from D2 down to B1: From the 2nd–12th natural.

WTU_sound-production_01_en_607x89
WTU_sound-production_02_en_603x152

1st valve: whole tone lower
2nd valve: half tone lower
3rd valve: minor third lower
4th valve: fourth lower

All notes down to Bb1 can be played at every dynamic level (also ff). Lower notes are played by the Wagner tuba in F, on which they can be played ff, even though they can still be played on the Bb instrument.

Wagner tuba in F

The four valves mean that the natural harmonic series of the fundamental F can be lowered by eleven steps. The compass therefore consists of the following natural harmonic series:

Natural harmonic series from F1: From the 1st–12th natural (13th–16th are very hard to play).
Natural harmonic series from E1 down to Eb1: From the 1st–12th natural.
Natural harmonic series from D2 down to Gb1: From the 2nd–12th natural.

The Wagner tuba makes great demands on the musician because intonation is more problematical and the embouchure less stable than on the horn. The notes respond consistently and smoothly, and the horn mouthpiece makes them similar to the notes of the horn, so that good tonal balance is achieved between the two instruments. The wider bore profile means that the embouchure is less sharply defined and precise than on the horn, but the notes can be blown more freely. Wagner tubas are best suited for the evocation of solemn, stately and heroic moods and their timbre bridges the gap between the horns and the low brass as well as between the bass tuba and the trombones.

AUDIO
  • Tragic March - Wagner tubas
  • The Canvas Painter (Wagner tuba)
  • Monastery on the Mountain (Wagnertuba)
  • High Voltage - Wagner tubas
  • Solo for Wagner tuba

Open External Player

Wagnertuba - Tonerzeugung

Spielweise und Haltung bestätigen den ganz vom Horn bestimmten Charakter. Die Wagnertuben werden von Hornisten gespielt, da auf beiden Instrumenten ein Hornmundstück verwendet wird. Die vier Ventile werden mit der linken Hand (wie beim Horn) und nicht wie bei den sonstigen Tuben mit der rechten Hand gespielt. Im Gegensatz zum Horn zeigt das Schallstück beim Spielen nach oben, während das Instrument am Schoß des Spielers aufliegt.

In der Regel werden die Töne vom 1. bis zum 12. Naturton verwendet (Töne bis zum 16. Naturton sind möglich, aber sehr schwer zu spielen und werden nicht verlangt). Die Pedaltöne (= 1. Naturtöne) werden bei beiden Instrumenten (in B und F) nur bis zum Es1 verwendet.

Die chromatische Skala ist über den ganzen Tonumfang lückenlos spielbar. Somit zählen die Wagnertuben zu den Ganzinstrumenten (Instrumente, die durch vier Ventile den 2. Naturton elf mal vertiefen können, so dass sich die Lücke zum 1. Naturton der Grundstimmung schließt).

Der Ansatz und die Ansprache des Klanges ist wie bei allen Bügelhörnern sehr leicht und weich.

Wagnertuba in B

Durch die 4 Ventile lässt sich die Naturtonreihe des Grundtones B um 11 Stufen vertiefen, somit stehen folgende Naturtonreihen als Tonumfang zur Verfügung:

Naturtonreihe auf B1: Vom 1.–12. Naturton (13.–16. sehr schwer zu spielen).
Naturtonreihen von A1 abwärts bis Es1: Vom 1.–12. Naturton (Es1 = tiefster Ton).
Naturtonreihen von D abwärts bis H1: Vom 2.–12. Naturton.

WTU_sound-production_01_de_607x89
WTU_sound-production_02_de_603x152

Ventil 1: Erniedrigung um einen Ganzton
Ventil 2: Erniedrigung um einen Halbton
Ventil 3: Erniedrigung um eine kleine Terz
Ventil 4: Erniedrigung um eine Quart

Bis B1 sind die Töne voll verwertbar (auch im ff). Tiefere werden, obwohl sie noch auf der B-Wagnertuba spielbar sind, von der F-Wagnertuba übernommen, wo sie auch im ff spielbar sind.

Wagnertuba in F

Durch die 4 Ventile lässt sich die Naturtonreihe des Grundtones F um 11 Stufen vertiefen, somit stehen folgende Naturtonreihen als Tonumfang zur Verfügung:

Naturtonreihe auf F1: Vom 1.–12. Naturton (13.–16. sehr schwer zu spielen).
Naturtonreihen von E1 abwärts bis Es1: Vom 1.–12. Naturton.
Naturtonreihen von D abwärts bis Ges1: Vom 2.–12. Naturton.

Die Wagnertuba ist ein sehr anspruchsvolles Instrument, da die Intonation schwieriger, der Ansatz labiler ist als beim Horn. Die Ansprache der Töne ist homogen und gleichmäßig, Das Hornmundstück macht die Töne dem Horn ähnlich, so dass eine gute Klangbalance zwischen beiden Instrumenten entsteht. Die weitere Bohrung macht den Ansatz weniger entschieden, schneidend, prägnant als beim Horn, die Töne sind aber freier zu blasen als beim Horn. Wagnertuben sind für feierliche, getragene, würdevolle und heroische Stimmungen geeignet, ihr Klang vermittelt zwischen den Hörnern und den tiefen Blechbläsern wie der Basstuba und den Posaunen.