AUDIO
  • The Golden Age of the Xylophone
  • Xylo Excursions
  • Xylotino
  • Xylophone Tune

Open External Player

Products including
Xylophone:


Construction of the orchestra xylophone

Rather than describe the many different types of xylophone that have appeared all over the world in the course of history, we will restrict ourselves here to a detailed description of the modern orchestra xylophone only.

The frame on which the bars are mounted rests on a metal stand, which has wheels for ease of transport. This is necessary because percussion instruments often have to move to a different position.

Bars

xylophone_bar_150x53.png

The modern orchestra xylophone has chromatically tuned bars, which are arranged in two rows in the same way as the keys of a piano. The row of bars which corresponds to the piano’s black keys is slightly elevated. Nowadays the bars have holes drilled at their nodal points through which a string is threaded on which the bars are suspended. Each bar is separated from its neighbor by pegs, so that it hangs and can vibrate freely.

On older xylophones or other types of xylophone (trough xylophone, Orff Method xylophones) the bars rest on a pad of felt or rubber.

The number of bars varies according to the instrument’s range, which is virtually impossible to define. The average range of modern orchestra xylophones can lie anywhere between three (C5–C8), three and a half (F4–C8) and four octaves (C4–C8). Most orchestras use several xylophones, one of which has a range of four octaves. Five-octave instruments failed to gain acceptance due to the inferiority of the sound, although parts have been written for them.

The pitch of each bar is determined by its length, thickness and the density of the material; the width has no influence on pitch. The longer, thinner and denser the bar the lower the pitch. The shorter, thicker and less dense the bar, the higher the pitch. The bars can be tuned by adding or taking away material.

When tuning, the following rule applies: if material is filed off the ends of the bar, the pitch of the fundamental note is raised. If, on the other hand, material is carved out of the center of the bar (either from the top or the bottom), thus making it thinner, the pitch of the fundamental note is lowered. By removing material from different parts of the bar it is even possible to tune single partials. If it is necessary to improve the tuning quickly, the fundamental note can be raised by adding lumps of wax, a practice common on African xylophones.

Unlike vibrating strings, halving the length of a bar raises its pitch by two octaves. It is for this reason that the difference in length between the lowest and the highest bar is relatively small. A xylophone’s bars are between roughly 2.5 cm and 4.6 cm wide, between 1.5 cm and 2.5 cm thick and between roughly 38 cm (lowest note) and 13.5 cm (highest note) long.

Modern orchestra xylophones are generally tuned to 442 hertz equal temperament. However, xylophone makers produce instruments in various tunings, because of the differences in tuning pitch used by orchestras in different parts of the world.

Resonator tubes

Unlike earlier models, modern orchestra xylophones are equipped with resonator tubes on the underside. Each bar has its own resonator. The resonators serve to amplify the sound and soften the tone somewhat; xylophones with no resonators, common in the 19th and early 20th centuries in orchestral music, had a harder timbre.

Which wood should be used for the bars?

Every type of wood has a particular timbre; soft woods such as alder and poplar have a softer, more gentle sound.

Very hard woods such as maple, or exotic woods such as Honduras or Brazilian rosewood have a sound which is richer in partials and more resonant. They sound brighter than soft woods.

On modern orchestra xylophones very hard and usually exotic woods such as Honduras rosewood, Japanese birch or Burmese padouk are used. Softer woods are preferred on children’s instruments. When choosing wood for a musical instrument it is very important that it should be evenly matured, because it is only in wood with this quality that a sound rich in partials can develop. The sound is also influenced by the way the bars are finished; depending on how they are carved, which is usually on the underside, either the fundamental tone (= 1st partial) or a higher partial can be made more prominent.

Xylophone bars are often tuned in such a way that the 3rd partial (= octave + a fifth above the pitch of the fundamental) is more prominent, whereas on marimbas this is more often case for the 2nd partial (= octave above the fundamental). However, on xylophones it is also usual to enhance the 1st partial (= fundamental tone), which softens the timbre.

Wood is very susceptible to changes in the environment and is therefore less capable of maintaining a tuning than synthetic materials. The quality of its sound, however, is far superior. Touring musicians prefer to use synthetic bars. Instruments with synthetic bars are of course still called xylophones (= wood sounder).

AUDIO
  • The Golden Age of the Xylophone
  • Xylo Excursions
  • Xylotino
  • Xylophone Tune

Open External Player

Xylophon
ist enthalten in den Produkten:


Xylophon - Bauweise des Orchesterxylophons

Von den vielen Xylophonarten, die es die es im geschichtlichen und weltweiten Kontext gibt, wird hier das moderne Orchesterxylophon näher beschrieben.

Der Rahmen mit den Klangstäben ist auf einem Metallgestell montiert, das auf Rädchen steht. Dies erleichtert den Transport der Instrumente und ist notwendig, weil Schlaginstrumente oft ihren Platz wechseln müssen.

Klangstäbe

Xylophonstab

Das moderne Orchesterxylophon ist mit chromatisch gestimmten Klangstäben aus Holz – auch Platten genannt – bestückt, die wie beim Klavier in zwei Reihen angeordnet sind. Die Stabreihe, die den schwarzen Tasten des Klaviers entspricht, ist leicht erhöht. Die Klangstäbe sind heute der Breite nach an ihren Knotenpunkten durchbohrt und reihenweise an einer Schnur aufgehängt, wobei die einzelnen Klangstäbe durch Isolierstifte voneinander getrennt sind. Sie hängen also in der Luft, was ein freies Vibrieren der Klangstäbe garantiert.

Bei älteren Xylophonen oder anderen Xylophontypen (Trogxylophone, Xylophone des Orff-Schulwerkes) liegen sie auf einem Isolierkissen aus Filz oder Gummi.

Die Anzahl der Stäbe ist je nach Tonumfang verschieden. Es ist fast unmöglich, den Tonumfang des Xylophons festzulegen. Der durchschnittliche Tonumfang moderner Orchesterxylophone schwankt zwischen drei (c2–c5), dreieinhalb (f1–c5) und vier Oktaven (c1–c5). Die meisten Orchester haben mehrere Xylophone und eines davon mit vier Oktaven Umfang. Aus klanglichen Gründen konnten sich Instrumente mit fünf Oktaven nicht durchsetzen, obwohl Parts dafür komponiert wurden.

Die Tonhöhe jedes Stabes wird von der Länge, Dicke und Dichte des Materials bestimmt, die Breite hat auf die Tonhöhe keinen Einfluss. Je länger, dünner und dichter der Stab, desto tiefer ist die Tonhöhe. Je kürzer, dicker und weniger dicht der Stab, desto höher ist der Ton. Die Stäbe können durch das Wegnehmen oder Hinzufügen von Material gestimmt werden.

Dabei gilt folgende Regel: Wird Material von den Enden des Stabes abgefeilt, erhöht sich die Tonhöhe des Grundtones. Wird dagegen Material vom Mittelbereich des Stabes herausgeschnitzt (Ober- oder Unterseite), so dass der Stab dünner wird, vertieft sich die Grundtonhöhe. Durch die Entfernung von Material an verschiedenen Stellen des Stabes ist es sogar möglich, einzelne Teiltöne zu stimmen. Zur kurzfristigen Verbesserung der Stimmung gibt es auch die Möglichkeit, die Grundtonhöhe durch Hinzufügung von Wachsklumpen zu erhöhen, eine Praxis, die besonders auf afrikanischen Xylophonen geübt wird.

Anders als bei schwingenden Saiten bewirkt eine Verkürzung der Klangstäbe um die Hälfte (in der Länge) eine Erhöhung um zwei Oktaven. Aus diesem Grund ist der Längenunterschied zwischen dem tiefsten und höchsten Klangstab relativ gering. Die Klangstäbe des Xylophons sind etwa zwischen 2,5 und 4,6 cm breit, zwischen 1,5 cm und 2,5 dick und zwischen etwa 38 cm (tiefster Ton) und 13,5 cm lang (höchster Ton).

Moderne Orchesterxylophone sind in der Regel auf 442 Hertz temperiert gestimmt. Von den Herstellern werden aber mehrere Stimmungen angeboten, da sich die Orchester weltweit auf verschiedene Stimmtonhöhen berufen.

Resonanzröhren

Im Gegensatz zu älteren Modellen weisen moderne Orchesterxylophone an der Unterseite röhrenförmige Resonatoren (Resonanzröhren) auf, wobei jeder Klangstab einen eigenen Resonator hat. Resonatoren verstärken den Klang und machen ihn auch etwas weicher, weshalb Xylophone ohne Resonatoren – in der Orchestermusik des 19. und frühen 20. Jahrhunderts üblich – einen härteren Klang hatten.

Welches Holz ist für Klangstäbe geeignet?

Jede Holzart hat eine besondere Klangfarbe: Weiche Hölzer wie Erle oder Pappel haben einen weicheren, sanfteren Klang.

Sehr harte Hölzer wie Ahorn, Palisander oder exotische Hölzer wie Rosenholz haben einen teiltonreichen und länger nachwirkenden Klang. Sie klingen heller als weiche Hölzer.

Für moderne Orchesterxylophone werden sehr harte, meist exotische Hölzer verwendet – Rosenholz aus Honduras, japanische Birke, Padauk aus Burma. Für Kinderinstrumente werden weiche Hölzer bevorzugt. Ein wichtiges Kriterium für die Auswahl von Klanghölzern ist die Struktur, denn nur in gleichmäßig gewachsenen Hölzern können sich teiltonreiche Klänge entfalten. Beeinflusst wird der Klang auch durch die Bearbeitung der Klangstäbe: je nachdem, in welcher Form die Klangstäbe geschnitzt werden – meist an der Unterseite – kann entweder der Grundton (=1.Teilton) oder ein höherer Teilton verstärkt werden.

Die Klangstäbe von Xylophonen werden oft so gestimmt, dass der 3.Teilton (= Oktave + Quint über der Grundtonhöhe) verstärkt wird, während bei Marimbaphonen eher der 2. Teilton (= Oktave über der Grundtonhöhe) verstärkt wird. Eine Verstärkung des 1. Teiltones (= Grundton) bei Xylophonen ist jedoch auch üblich, der Klang wirkt weicher.

Hölzer reagieren empfindlich auf Umwelteinflüsse und halten die Stimmung weniger leicht als Kunststoffe, haben aber eine wesentlich bessere Klangqualität. Für Tourneen werden deshalb Klangstäbe aus Kunststoff bevorzugt. Natürlich werden auch Instrumente, die Kunststoff anstatt Holz als Klangstäbe verwenden, als Xylophone (= Holzklinger) bezeichnet.