Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Forum Jump  
USB Hub Recommendation?
Last post Fri, Mar 26 2010 by Roberto D., 9 replies.
Options
Go to last post
Posted on Fri, Mar 26 2010 11:02
by santamorphic
Joined on Wed, Jun 04 2008, Posts 182

Hi -

Can anyone recommend a USB hub that they use and works well with the Vienna Key, please? 

I have a D-Link hub (powered by an adapter, not just the bus) which works fine with iLok dongles but not the Vienna eLicenser.

Many thanks,

G

DAW Client: Cubase 12, Nuendo 12, Ableton Live 11, iMac Pro 10/20 Core, 64GB RAM
VEPro Server: Windows 10 Pro x64, 4/8 core, 256GB RAM, SSDs
Posted on Fri, Mar 26 2010 11:07
by santamorphic
Joined on Wed, Jun 04 2008, Posts 182

I should say I'm on Intel Macs, Leopard & Snow Leopard.

Cheers,

G

DAW Client: Cubase 12, Nuendo 12, Ableton Live 11, iMac Pro 10/20 Core, 64GB RAM
VEPro Server: Windows 10 Pro x64, 4/8 core, 256GB RAM, SSDs
Posted on Fri, Mar 26 2010 13:32
by Luchs
Joined on Mon, Mar 08 2010, Switzerland, Posts 8
I'm using Windows 7 here, and have the ViennaKey connected to a Digitus 4-Port USB Hub.



I have two of those connected to my system, and even two audio interfaces on one of them; I never had any issues, and they come with an (optional) external power supply for stabilization, too.
Posted on Fri, Mar 26 2010 14:05
by kamczak
Joined on Fri, Jun 26 2009, Posts 22

Strange. I use Windows 7 64-bit and I also have D-Link active hub DUB-H7 -  7 ports. All of them are in constant use (mouse, keyboard, 2 sound cards, pendrive, syncrosoft licenser and midi cable) and never had any problems with that.

Posted on Fri, Mar 26 2010 14:07
by santamorphic
Joined on Wed, Jun 04 2008, Posts 182

Cool - many thanks Luchs.

Cheers,

G

DAW Client: Cubase 12, Nuendo 12, Ableton Live 11, iMac Pro 10/20 Core, 64GB RAM
VEPro Server: Windows 10 Pro x64, 4/8 core, 256GB RAM, SSDs
Posted on Fri, Mar 26 2010 14:09
by santamorphic
Joined on Wed, Jun 04 2008, Posts 182

Hi kamczak - 

Yes - that's exactly the hub I've tried. Maybe it's the combination of that and the Mac OS - or maybe a bad unit. 

Thanks anyway,

G

DAW Client: Cubase 12, Nuendo 12, Ableton Live 11, iMac Pro 10/20 Core, 64GB RAM
VEPro Server: Windows 10 Pro x64, 4/8 core, 256GB RAM, SSDs
Posted on Fri, Mar 26 2010 14:31
by cgernaey
Joined on Mon, Apr 04 2005, Detroit-Michigan, Posts 1062

I think it has more to do with OS X.  I for a long time used a USB hub, and then one day (update 10.5.6 i think) boom.  It never worked right ever again.  I have had to directly plug it into my USB port ever since (even after rebuilds etc).

Maestro2be

Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 128GB RAM, AMD 3970X 32-core
Gigabyte TRX40 Aorus Xtreme, Radeon RX 5500 XT
Studio One 5.1.1, Cubase 10.5, Nuendo 10
RME Multiface 2, All NVMe SSD Drives (OS & Samples)
Posted on Fri, Mar 26 2010 14:47
by santamorphic
Joined on Wed, Jun 04 2008, Posts 182

Thanks Maestro2be. Nice work Apple, huh.

G

DAW Client: Cubase 12, Nuendo 12, Ableton Live 11, iMac Pro 10/20 Core, 64GB RAM
VEPro Server: Windows 10 Pro x64, 4/8 core, 256GB RAM, SSDs
Posted on Fri, Mar 26 2010 16:58
by Roberto D.
Joined on Thu, Dec 02 2004, Posts 182

I use a Hamlet eXagerate 7-ports USB hub (with external power).

It works fine with all peripherals (including iLok), but the Vienna Key + eLicenser becomes sometimes a nightmare...

You cannot post new threads in this forum.
You cannot reply to threads in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.