Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Forum Jump  
System Resources & MIR
Last post Sat, Dec 03 2011 by Dietz, 10 replies.
Options
Go to last post
Posted on Thu, Dec 01 2011 04:56
by seanbeeson
Joined on Tue, Jan 10 2006, Posts 12

I am looking to purchase MIR (I am soooo close to doing it) as it is probably the best reverb I have ever heard. But I am wondering if I can run int on my PC without too many problems and ran out of time/open instances on the trial to fully test it. So hopefully someone can at least shed some light on it for me.

I would be running in on the same PC alongside my template, which is currently using 16gb of my total 32gb of ram. I have a hexacore Sandybridge running at 3.4 ghz, but could OC it to 4.5 if needed. 

I am simply hoping to have an impulse for each instrument group, violins, violas, celli, basses, flutes, clarinets, oboe/english horn, bassoon, bass clarinets, trumpets, trombones, horns, tuba, percussion, choirs, and probably a few more. At what point is loading too many impulses going to kill my machine?

I do have another PC here (a 980x Hexacore with 24gb of RAM) that I am not using, but couldn't figure out how to get it setup where all that machine would do is process the audio from my workstation, and I ran out of trial time! Thanks in advance!

Posted on Thu, Dec 01 2011 09:09
by Dietz
Joined on Tue, Aug 06 2002, Vienna / Europe, Posts 7868

Thanks for your interest in MIR Pro!

seanbeeson_19105 wrote:
[...] couldn't figure out how to get it setup where all that machine would do is process the audio from my workstation, and I ran out of trial time! Thanks in advance!

Sean, the trial license is valid for 30 day, no way that you ran out of time already (... we released about two weeks ago, didn't we ...? 8-) ...)

If you ran out of _starts_ you can simply "refill" them as often as you want within those 30 days. This is done inline on behalf of the eLicenser Control Center application.

Apart from that, your specs seem to be pretty reasonable! Keep in mind that you will also need a good video card (we suggest ATI) and audio hardware with professional ASIO drivers.

-> MIR Pro System Requirements

HTH,

/Dietz - Vienna Symphonic Library
Posted on Thu, Dec 01 2011 12:51
by seanbeeson
Joined on Tue, Jan 10 2006, Posts 12

Oh ok, awesome :-) I will be playing with it more then! I was able to run about half of what I thought I need to run with no issues whatsoever, so I am thinking I should be fine with my current system as I do have a high end audio/video card as well as the ability to use less ram in my template since I am all SSD based!

Thanks again. This is a mind-blowingly great product. Truly is.

Posted on Sat, Dec 03 2011 16:42
by clemenshaas
Joined on Sat, Dec 01 2007, Cologne, Germany, Posts 119

Hi Sean,

could you tell us the results of your testing? I would highly appreciate that.

Thanks in advance,

Clemens

Posted on Sat, Dec 03 2011 16:48
by Dietz
Joined on Tue, Aug 06 2002, Vienna / Europe, Posts 7868

Clemens, I just sent you an e-Mail a few minutes ago. :-)

Kind regards,

/Dietz - Vienna Symphonic Library
Posted on Sat, Dec 03 2011 17:19
by clemenshaas
Joined on Sat, Dec 01 2007, Cologne, Germany, Posts 119

Dietz, so did I. :)

Folks, now this is what I call customer support.

Try to get anyone from East-We... ummm, the company-that-must-not-be-named.

Posted on Sat, Dec 03 2011 17:33
by seanbeeson
Joined on Tue, Jan 10 2006, Posts 12

I actually have about 25 impulses loaded for various instruments, and I am using a little more than a gb of ram for those IRs and about 25% CPU. I have a hexacore 3650 (I think that is the model?) running at 3.4 ghz. I am trying to figure out how to add another mic position at the moment.

Honestly, I am quite pleasantly surprised at how efficient the engine is for how good it sounds. It was the reason I dropped the money for MIR. For that price, the sound cannot be beat...

Posted on Sat, Dec 03 2011 18:20
by Dietz
Joined on Tue, Aug 06 2002, Vienna / Europe, Posts 7868

Sean,

adding a secondary microphone (e.g. back in the hall, aimed to the rear) is the top-most item on our to-do list. 

We had high hopes that this feature would make it into the initial release of MIR Pro already, but there were more things to consider (and to test) than we thought.

Thanks for your patience! 

/Dietz - Vienna Symphonic Library
Posted on Sat, Dec 03 2011 18:49
by clemenshaas
Joined on Sat, Dec 01 2007, Cologne, Germany, Posts 119

Thanks for sharing, Sean.

Yes, top value for money. I have L480 and TC6000, but for the purpose of mixing VIs, MIR is superior, and so much faster and easier to use.

More things to come, I hope.

Posted on Sat, Dec 03 2011 19:17
by Dietz
Joined on Tue, Aug 06 2002, Vienna / Europe, Posts 7868

Those classic algorithmic reverbs are great for some additional "wow-factor", like it is done with actual recordings from sound-stages or orchestral halls. - This is what MIRacle is meant to be used for, too (because not everybody has one of these "goodies" at hand ;-) ...).

Kind regards,

/Dietz - Vienna Symphonic Library
You cannot post new threads in this forum.
You cannot reply to threads in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.