AUDIO
  • Six Studies II - Andante (Tuba)
  • Six Studies VI - Allegro (Tuba)
  • The Tuba Express
  • Tuba Rhapsody

History 1 – baroque to 19th century

The term tuba is derived from the Latin word tuba (tuba) and in classical antiquity described a cylindrical lip-vibrated instrument (the Roman trumpet), which saw service principally as a signaling instrument. However the name, which found itself attached to a wide variety of instruments over the centuries, was the only thing this archaic instrument had in common with the modern tuba.

Baroque and classical music – the tuba’s distant relatives

The tuba curva, a brass instrument made in Paris in 1791 for the festivities following the French Revolution, was modeled on the Roman trumpet and is regarded as a forerunner of the modern tuba. This instrument had a very powerful sound, no valves or keys and a range limited to the lowest naturals.

Another distant relative of the tuba is the serpent, a conical, wooden instrument about 213 cm long with six finger-holes and a cup mouthpiece made of ivory or horn which appeared in the 17th century. It was placed beside the choir in French and English churches to support the voices in full passages, lending particular strength to the male voices. According to reports the serpent blended with the voices even more effectively than the organ did, although Berlioz was one who did not share this view. In his opinion the instrument’s sound blended only poorly with the choir and was not suitable for sensitive ears.

72_serpent_220x146.jpg

Serpent in C, presumably around 1970, Christopher Monk, Surrey, England (Musikinstrumentenmuseum Schloss Kremsegg, Austria, Streitwieser collection)

One of the serpent’s weaknesses was the fact that it was not possible to play any scale accurately because notes a step apart were played using the same fingering, pitch alterations being possible only by varying lip-tension – up to a fourth. Changes in volume also presented difficulties.

In 1825 a serpentone was in use at La Scala in Milan, which was nothing unusual in 19th century Italy. The premieres of Handel’s Fireworks Music (1749), Mendelssohn’s oratorium Paulus (1836) and Wagner’s Rienzi (1842) all featured the serpent. The instrument remained in use for around 250 years, until the 1890s.

The serpent was called for in symphony orchestras only very rarely, although it was a very common feature of oratorio festivals.

The 19th century – the century of the ophicleide

86_klappenhorn_220x146.jpg

Silver valve horn in F, E.G. Wright, Boston 1854 (Musikinstrumentenmuseum Schloss Kremsegg, Austria, Streitwieser collection)

271_Ophikleide_200x300.jpg

Ophicleide in C, J.H. Ebblewhite, London 1850–1854 (Musikinstrumentenmuseum Schloss Kremsegg, Austria, Streitwieser collection)

In 1810 the Irishman Joseph Halliday was granted a patent for a keyed bugle, the so-called Royal Kent Bugle. This conical instrument had copper tubing (125–135 cm long with a diameter of 12–25 mm), a very fast flare to a 15 cm wide bell and at least six keys.

This very agile instrument was used as a powerful soprano instrument for playing the melody line in brass bands, but was only seldom asked for in symphony orchestras (an exception is Rossini’s opera "Semiramide", 1823). In France this instrument was called the trompette cromatique or bugle à clefs, in Germany it was known as the Klappenhorn. Because of the virtuosity of this soprano instrument it was deemed necessary to make a bass counterpart: the century of the ophicleide began.

The ophicleide, which looked like a bassoon, had conical tubing made of brass (approx. 274 cm long, as on a Bb instrument, tube diameter 12.5–35.5 mm) with several keyed side-holes. By opening the holes the air column was shortened and the pitch increased; it worked on the same principle as woodwind instruments. A number of naturals could then be played from the fundamental tone thus produced.

The range, a maximum of around three octaves, depended on the ability of the player. Intonation was very uncertain because several fingerings were possible for each note. The mouthpiece was cup-shaped, with a flat rim, the bell faced upward and had a diameter of about 21 cm. The huge volume made great demands on the breathing and the round, euphonium-like sound – which was very rugged in the bass – was very effective with brass played en masse. It also blended very well with the choir.

From 1821 until the end of the 19th century the ophicleide was widely used as a bass voice. It is called for by Mendelssohn (Midsummer Night’s Dream Music, 1843, Reformation Symphony)), Schumann, Meyerbeer (Robert the Devil), Verdi and Wagner (Rienzi). Hector Berlioz required several ophicleides in his Fantastic Symphony, but was one of the first composers to develop an enthusiasm for tubas, with which he proceeded to replace the ophicleides. Today all ophicleide parts are played by the bass tuba.

From the 1820s onward numerous bass instruments of similar construction but with different names were built; in 1829, for instance, W. Riedl made a valved instrument in Vienna which was modeled on the ophicleide and became known as the bombardon. This wide-bored instrument had a powerful tone and was still used in military bands after the advent of the tuba. The French counterpart of the bombardon was made by the industrious and well-known instrument maker Adolphe Sax (1814–1894), who in 1843 was granted a patent for a group of valved brass instruments which covered the entire tonal range: the usual names for these instruments were saxhorn, saxtromba and saxtuba and they were used mainly in military circles.

444_Tenorsaxhorn_k_100x150.jpg

Tenor saxhorn

AUDIO
  • Six Studies II - Andante (Tuba)
  • Six Studies VI - Allegro (Tuba)
  • The Tuba Express
  • Tuba Rhapsody

Open External Player

Basstuba - Geschichte 1 – Barock bis 19. Jahrhundert

Der Name Tuba geht auf das lateinische Wort tuba (Röhre) zurück und bezeichnete in der Antike ein zylindrisches Polsterzungeninstrument (römische Trompete), das vor allem als Signalinstrument diente. Mehr als den Namen, der im Laufe der Zeit für die unterschiedlichsten Instrumententypen Pate stand, hatte das alte Instrument mit der Tuba der Neuzeit allerdings nicht gemein.

Barock und Klassik – entfernte Vorläufer der Tuba

Die Tuba curva, ein Blechblasinstrument, das 1791 in Paris für die Revolutionsfeiern der Französischen Revolution nach römischem Vorbild nachgebaut wurde, gilt als einer der Vorläufer der modernen Tuba. Der sehr starke Klang dieses ventil- und klappenlosen Instrumentes war auf die tiefsten Naturtöne beschränkt.

Ein weiterer entfernter Vorläufer der Tuba ist der im 17. Jahrhundert entwickelte Serpent, ein konisches, ca. 213 cm langes Instrument aus Holz mit 6 Grifflöchern und Kesselmundstück aus Elfenbein oder Horn. Aufgestellt an den Seiten des Chores in französischen und englischen Kirchen unterstützte er den Chor im Vollgesang und verstärkte insbesondere die Männerstimmen. Laut Berichten soll sich sein Klang besser mit den Stimmen vermischt haben als der Klang der Orgel. Berlioz hingegen war der Meinung, dass sich sein Klang nur wenig mit den Chorstimmen mische und nichts für sensible Ohren sei.

Serpent

Serpent in C, vermutlich 1970er Jahre, Christopher Monk, Surrey, England (Musikinstrumentenmuseum Schloss Kremsegg, Austria, Sammlung Streitwieser)

Eine Schwäche des Serpent bestand darin, dass sich auf ihm keine genaue Skala spielen ließ, da benachbarte Töne mit ein- und derselben Griffweise erzeugt wurden und die Tonhöhe nur mit der Lippenspannung geändert werden konnte – bis zu einer Quart. Ebenso gab es Probleme in der Variation der Lautstärke.

Im Jahre 1825 war an der Mailänder Scala ein serpentone besetzt, im Italien des 19. Jahrhunderts keine Seltenheit. Die Uraufführung von Händels „Feuerwerksmusik“ (1749), von Mendelssohns Oratorium „Paulus“ (1836) und Wagners „Rienzi“ (1842) erfolgte mit Serpent. Der Serpent war ca. 250 Jahre in Gebrauch, bis in die 90er Jahre des 19. Jahrhunderts.

Im Symphonieorchester kam der Serpent sehr selten vor, wurde aber bei Oratorienfestivals sehr häufig besetzt.

19. Jahrhundert – das Jahrhundert der Ophikleide

Klappenhorn

Klappenhorn in F aus Silber, E.G. Wright, Boston 1854 (Musikinstrumentenmuseum Schloss Kremsegg, Austria, Sammlung Streitwieser)

Ophikleide

Ophikleide in C, J.H. Ebblewhite, London 1850–1854 (Musikinstrumentenmuseum Schloss Kremsegg, Austria, Sammlung Streitwieser)

Im Jahre 1810 erwarb der Ire Joseph Halliday ein Patent für ein mit Klappen versehenes Bügelhorn, das sogenannte Royal Kent Bugle, ein konisches Instrument mit einem Kupferrohr (125–135 cm lang, Rohrdurchmesser 12–25 mm), mit einer abrupten Erweiterung zu einer 15 cm breiten Stürze und mindestens 6 Klappen.

Dieses sehr agile Instrument kam als starkes Sopraninstrument mit melodischer Funktion in brass bands zum Einsatz, wurde aber selten im Symphonieorchester besetzt (z. B. in Rossinis Oper „Semiramide“, 1823). In Frankreich trug dieses Instrument die Namen trompette cromatique oder bugle à clefs, in Deutschland Klappenhorn. Die Virtuosität dieses Sopraninstrumentes ließ die Entwicklung eines entsprechenden Bassinstruments als notwendig erscheinen: das Jahrhundert der Ophikleide begann.

Die Ophikleide – eine Erfindung des Franzosen Halary – sah aus wie ein Fagott und hatte ein konisches Rohr aus Messing (ca. 274 cm lang, wie bei einem B-Instrument, Rohrdurchmesser 12,5–35,5 mm), das mehrere Seitenlöcher mit Klappen aufwies. Durch die Öffnung der Löcher wurde die schwingende Luftsäule verkürzt, was eine Tonerhöhung bewirkte, nach demselben Prinzip wie bei den Holzbläsern. Von jedem auf diese Weise erreichten Grundton konnten einige Naturtöne gespielt werden.

Der Tonumfang war abhängig vom Können des Spielers und betrug etwa drei Oktaven. Die Intonation war deswegen sehr unsicher, da sie mehrere Griffweisen pro Ton erlaubte. Das Mundstück war kesselförmig, mit weicher Innenkante, das Schallstück war nach oben gerichtet und hatte einen Durchmesser von ca. 21 cm. Das riesige Klangvolumen erforderte einen großen Atemverbrauch und der runde, Euphonium-ähnliche Klang – der in der Tiefe sehr rau war – hatte eine gute Wirkung in einer Masse von Bläsern. Überdies verband er sich gut mit den Stimmen.

Von 1821 bis Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts war die Ophikleide allgemein üblich zur Ausführung von Bassstimmen. So wird sie bei Mendelssohn („Ein Sommernachtstraum“, 1843, „Reformationssymphonie“, 1832), Schumann, Meyerbeer („Robert der Teufel“, 1831), Verdi, Wagner („Rienzi“, 1842) vorgeschrieben. Hector Berlioz setzte in seiner „Symphonie Fantastique“ (1830) mehrere Ophikleiden ein, war aber einer der ersten Tuba-begeisterten Komponisten und hat die Ophikleiden durch Tubas ersetzt. Heute werden alle Ophikleiden-Stimmen von der Basstuba ausgeführt.

Ab den 20er Jahren des 19. Jahrhunderts wurden zahlreiche Bassinstrumente mit ähnlichen Formen und mit verschiedenen Bezeichnungen gebaut. So entwickelte W. Riedl 1829 in Wien ein Ventilinstrument nach dem Vorbild der Ophikleide, das unter dem Namen Bombardon im deutschen Sprachraum bekannt war. Dieses weit mensurierte Instrument war mit seinem kräftigen Klang auch nach der Entwicklung der Tuba in der Militärmusik in Gebrauch. Das französische Gegenstück dazu baute der umtriebige und bekannte Instrumentenbauer Adolphe Sax (1814–1894), als er 1843 ein Patent auf Ventilblechblasinstrumente erwarb, die den gesamten Tonbereich abdeckten: Saxhorn, Saxtromba und Saxtuba waren die geläufigen Bezeichnungen dafür. Diese Instrumente wurden hauptsächlich in der Militärmusik verwendet.

Tenorsaxhorn

Tenorsaxhorn