AUDIO
  • Rococo Variations - Cello & Orchestra
  • Prayer - Cello & Piano
  • Mourning - Cello & Orchestra
  • Venturesome Cello Road

Open External Player
> INSTRUMENTOLOGY > STRINGS > Cello > Sound Production

Sound production

Sound is produced by moving the bow over the string or by plucking it with the right hand. Pitch alterations are achieved by pressing down the string with the fingertips of the left hand on the fingerboard. This shortens the vibrating portion of the string and raises the pitch.

The cello is held upright between the legs with the tail-pin resting on the ground. This position is so stable that no additional support is necessary from the left hand, all the fingers of which including the thumb are free for fingering.

The thumb position has been in widespread use since 1740, chiefly for the high positions of the A and D strings as well as for double stops (in octaves) and artificial harmonics.

Fingering

Change of string and change of position

The cello has four strings tuned to intervals of a fifth: C2 (4th string), G2 (3rd string), D3 (2nd string), A3 (1st string). The strings are an octave lower than the viola’s. The bottom string is closest to the bowing hand.

VC_sound-production_openstrings_en_430x99

In principle there is no difference between sound production on the cello and on the smaller bowed instruments. But because the strings are twice as long as the violin’s the distance between whole and half notes on the fingerboard is greater. The result is a special fingering system.

The fingering is chromatic: each finger plays a semitone, except the 1st and 2nd fingers, which can play whole notes even in the lowest positions. This means that the 2nd, 3rd and 4th fingers each cover a chromatic degree, while the 1st and 2nd fingers can reach over a whole note. The widest interval that can be fingered on one string without changing positions is therefore a major third, occasionally even a fourth.

The fingering described above is valid up to the 6th position. The greatest differences in playing techniques compared to the smaller instruments are therefore between the 1st and 6th positions.

The thumb position is used from 7th position.

VC_sound-production_Cstring_6pos_en_607x285

Up to 6th position the thumb can slide freely up and down the back of the neck. But from the 7th position the body prevents the thumb rising any higher, so it is used for fingering. From the 7th position diatonic fingering is used, as on the violin, since the distances are smaller.

VC_sound-production_thumb_position_en_212x108

From 8th to 14th position, only the A string is used. Without the use of the thumb position octave fingerings cannot be played by cellists with smaller hands.

Natural harmonics are played by touching the open string lightly with the finger at the desired point. These respond very well on the cello and are used up to the 8th partial. On the string they can be played up to the 16th partial.

Artificial harmonics are usually produced by touching the string at a fourth.

To improve the timbre high positions on the bottom strings are avoided. Articulation is nowadays achieved by energetic fingering (percussion).

Bowing

The bow is held at the frog by all four fingers of the right hand. The thumb and middle finger are opposite each other. The pressure of the bow is regulated mainly by the forefinger. The wrist is the most active joint, the elbow and shoulder remain as still as possible.

The entire length of the bow must be held at right angles to the string. This produces the purest notes.

The bow is thicker at the frog than at the point. Short, rapid notes are generally played at the point. The speed of bowing must be altered to correspond to the pressure of the bow; a faster speed of bowing with higher bow pressure produces a louder sound.

All string players distinguish between two basic forms of bowstroke:

The upstroke, the stroke from the point to the frog. As a rule it is found on unaccented beats and has a crescendo tendency.
The downstroke, the stroke from the frog to the point. It is found on accented beats (the beginning of a measure, accent) and has a decrescendo tendency.

AUDIO
  • Rococo Variationen - Cello & Orchester
  • Prayer - Cello & Piano
  • Mourning - Cello & Orchester
  • Venturesome Cello Road

Open External Player

Violoncello - Tonerzeugung

Die Tonerzeugung erfolgt durch Streichen der Saite mit dem Bogen oder durch Zupfen (rechte Hand). Die Tonhöhenänderung durch Niederdrücken der Saite mit den Fingerspitzen der linken Hand, wodurch der schwingende Teil der Saite verkürzt und der Ton erhöht wird.

Das Violoncello wird längs zwischen den Beinen gehalten und mit dem Stachel am Boden aufgesetzt. Durch diese stabile Haltung ist keine zusätzliche Fixierung mit der linken Hand nötig. So können die CellistInnen den Daumen der linken Hand zum Greifen verwenden.

Der Daumenaufsatz ist seit 1740 üblich und wird vor allem für die D- und die A-Saite in den höheren Lagen benutzt, sowie für Doppelgriffe (Oktaven) und künstliche Flageolett-Töne.

Griffsystem

Saitenwechsel und Lagenwechsel

4 Saiten im Quintabstand stehen zur Verfügung: C (4. Saite), G (3. Saite), d (2. Saite), a (1. Saite). Die Saiten sind eine Oktave tiefer als die der Viola. Die tiefste Saite liegt der bogenführenden Hand am nächsten.

VC_sound-production_openstrings_de_430x99

Das Violoncello unterscheidet sich in der Tonerzeugung im Prinzip nicht von den kleineren Streichinstrumenten. Da die Saiten aber etwa doppelt so lang sind wie bei der Violine, erweitern sich auch die Griffabstände für Ganz- und Halbtöne. Daraus resultiert ein besonderes Fingersatzsystem.

Der Fingersatz ist chromatisch: jeder Finger greift einen Halbton, mit Ausnahme des 1. und 2. Fingers, die auch in den unteren Lagen einen Ganzton greifen können. Das bedeutet, innerhalb einer Lage decken die Finger 2, 3 und 4 jeweils eine chromatische Stufe ab, während Finger 1 und 2 einen Ganzton bewältigen können. Das weiteste Intervall, das auf einer Saite ohne Lagenwechsel gegriffen werden kann, ist somit eine große Terz, mitunter sogar eine Quart.

Die oben beschriebene Griffweise gilt bis in die 6. Lage. Die spieltechnischen Unterschiede zu den kleineren Streichinstrumenten sind also zwischen der 1. und der 6. Lage am größten.

Ab der 7. Lage wird der Daumenaufsatz angewandt.

VC_sound-production_Cstring_6pos_de_607x285

Bis in die 6. Lage kann der Daumen an der Unterseite des Halses ungehindert entlang gleiten. Ab der 7. Lage behindert der Korpus ein Weiterführen der Hand in dieser Stellung. Daher wird der Daumen als Grifffinger verwendet. Ab der 7. Lage wird das diatonische Griffsystem angewandt (wie bei der Violine), da sich die Griffabstände verkürzt haben.

VC_sound-production_thumb_position_de_212x108

Die 8. bis zur 14. Lage kommt nur noch auf der A-Saite zur Anwendung. Ohne Daumenaufsatz wären Oktavgriffe auf dem Violoncello für CellistInnen mit kleineren Händen nicht spielbar.

Das natürliche Flageolett entsteht durch Auflegen des Fingers auf die entsprechende Stelle der leeren Saite. Es spricht auf dem Violoncello besonders leicht an und wird bis zum 8. Teilton verwendet. Auf der A-Saite ist eine Verwendung bis zum 16. Teilton möglich.

Das künstliche Flageolett wird üblicherweise als Quartgriff ausgeführt.

Um eine Verbesserung der Klangfarbe zu erzielen, werden die hohen Lagen auf den tiefen Saiten vermieden. Die Artikulation wird heute durch einen energischen Fingeraufsatz herausgearbeitet (Percussion).

Bogenführung

Der Bogen wird mit allen Fingern der rechten Hand gehalten, und zwar am Frosch. Der Daumen und der Mittelfinger stehen sich dabei gegenüber. Vor allem mit dem Zeigefinger wird der Bogendruck reguliert. Das Handgelenk bewegt sich beim Spiel am meisten, der Arm und die Schulter bleiben sehr ruhig.

Der Bogen muß in seiner ganzen Länge einen rechten Winkel zur Saite bilden. Auf diese Weise ist es möglich, die klarste Tongebung zu erzielen.

Der Bogen ist am Frosch stärker als an der Spitze. Schnelle kurze Noten werden eher an der Spitze gespielt. Die Bogengeschwindigkeit wird auf den Bogendruck abgestimmt: Eine höhere Bogengeschwindigkeit mit höherem Bogendruck erzeugt einen stärkeren Klang.

Zwei Grundstricharten werden unterschieden:

Der Aufstrich, der Strich von der Spitze zum Frosch. Er steht in der Regel auf unbetonten Taktteilen (leichte Zeiten) und hat Crescendo-Tendenz.
Der Abstrich , der Strich vom Frosch zur Spitze. Er steht auf betontem Taktteil (Taktbeginn, Akzent).und hat eine Decrescendo-Tendenz.